We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel but a few issues...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel staff were very good apart from the older front desk lady who appeared to judge us on arrival as we are a young couple with a 1 yr old - all the other staff made the stay worthwhile for the little one so thanks!!

We stayed B&B which was great as there are so many places to eat in the marina and also the sidestreets behind the marina are worth a visit for more 'traditional' Portuguese food. Having been in the restaurant for one meal we were glad we only stayed B&B as it wasn't to the standard that we've experienced in other 5*'s.

The rooms were ok but quite a few things need to be addressed if all rooms are like ours. If it's a 1 off then granted but I doubt it.

- The floor underneath the bed didn't seem to have been swept since Christmas!
- The balcony wasn't swept for the entire 2 wk stay.
- Anything that was left by the side of the bin (empty water bottles etc) weren't taken by the cleaners, only the waste actually inside the tiny bin.
- Drinking glasses weren't cleaned/replaced, simply overturned on the coasters.
- The bed sheets must only have been changed 3 times in 2 wks.

After arriving at about 7pm and having requested a cot for the 1 yr old, we got to the room with no cot so he couldn't go to bed. We eventually (after 3 further requests to the same sour faced lady who checked us in) were given a cot at about 10.30pm. Not a great start with a tired little man!

Pool towels are left on sunbeds by guests who only turn up at 11.30am. Very infuriating as the same calibre of ignorant, oversized and obnoxious guests do this day after day. Please, please if u see towels still there at 11am remove 2 of them, this is actually hotel policy and it works :-)

Overall, the hotel should be classed as 4* at best. The things we experienced shouldn't happen at a 5* hotel that is part of a well established world renowned chain of hotels. Not somewhere we would return to in a hurry.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CraigClareFinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Craig,
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions.
Our guests suggestions are taking very seriously and we are aware that there is still room for improvements. Please do rests assure that we will make every effort to constantly improve our services and standards.
May we have another change to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura in order to show you the improvements made.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,575 - 1,581 of 2,524 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Spend 2 nights there , very nice location , the breakfast was really good , the hotel is very nice ,the pool is beautifull, pity the internet is not free in the rooms , now a days i think internet should be free

Room Tip: Very nice location , and good hotel, worth staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASamad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure the read your kind comments.
For the hotel team is a reward to know that we meet our guest expectations.
Would also like to thank for your suggestion.
Looking forward to have you again with us.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I travelled with some friends on a short golfing break. Overall I was impressed by this hotel. Check in was efficient and friendly and for a small additional cost three of our party upgraded our accomodation. Luggage was delivered to our rooms very quickly. Only ate breakfast at the hotel but found this to be more than sufficient. Good choice of fresh fruit, cheeses and cold meats. Hot breakfast was also available. Bar prices were on the high side although a reasonable bottle of red was around 25 euros. I would definetely base myself at this hotel on future visits to the Algarve.

Room Tip: Pay the small additional cost for a larger room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Peter,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
It is always a pleasure to realize that our guest expectations were satisfied.
We can’t wait for another opportunity to have you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just returned from a six night stay at this so called five star hotel. It's hardly a five star hotel.
The room was clean however there was not coffee machine. Had to request a child robe.

The staff at the spa was really unprofessional. When we went down to use the heated pool we were initially told that we would received one free session with our stay but were immidiately told by another staff member that it was ten euros per person and the other girl had made a mistake. I didn't mind paying the ten euros at all, it's just the way it all went down that made us really uncomfortable.

The staff at the check in area was also obnoxius. in particular Paula.
One morning I went to asked if I could extend my stay and she snapped at me.

I will not be returning.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank pinksugar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,
There must have been a misunderstanding regarding the use of the spa facilities as mentioned and I am sorry that that issue had made you feel really uncomfortable.
Regarding the coffee machine you could have ask the reception for one as all rooms should have one available.
May we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Returned from this hotel last week having spent a week there with my husband and 2 year old. Some of the previous reviews had made me anxious that the hotel might disappoint but thankfully it actually exceeded my expectations. Regarding previous complaints, yes there is one (very comfy) chair on the fab balcony but bring out another one from the room. Yes theres no tea/coffee in the room but not everyone wants it and just ask! Yes very few hangers 8 I think but again just ask! As for coffee at breakfast you can ask the very pleasant staff for a lovely americano or cappuccino.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip the pool area was fabulous, indoor spa amazing, room spotless and modern very comfy bed, breakfast excellent and location very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking your time and gives us such enthusiactic feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
It is really gratifying to receive our guest’s recognition.
I am really glad to read that your experience at the hotel exceed your expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you and your family back again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

just back a few days from a so called 5star hotel.already paid for better room,when shown room it was like cheap motel room ,said we could upgrade to sea view which is much better.cost of 300 erous, no choice realy,food cold ,pay extra for use of indoor pool.did get a kind of kettle in room had to ask for cups and pay extra again for milk ,suger and 2 tea bags.most people went out to local bars in evening .smoking allowed in bar area.where children.waste of 10 days and money.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Stephen,
I am really disappointed to read that your holidays were a waste.
I would like to clarify the following:
This is the first time that our rooms are compared to ‘cheap motel room’ – which we don’t understand;
There are smoking and non smoking areas in the bar;
And the use of the spa facilities has a €10 daily fee per person to use the spa pool, jacuzzi, hammam and sauna.
We are aware that we still have a long way to achieve the highest standards and be certain that we will do everything we can in order to achieve those objectives.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

After reading the reviews we were anxious about the hotel but got a great dinner, bed & breakfast deal at £85 per night for 2 people on TravelRepublic. We arrived early at 11.00am and our room wasn't ready so we went out for a coffee and returned to be given a great room on the 8th floor. The room was spotless and the bathroom was separated by a glass wall but we could pull down a blind for privacy.
Pros of this hotel:
Great location, 10 minute walk to marina along coast
Very friendly, helpful, hardworking staff
Great choice of food for evening dinner
Large pool with sunbeds and a grassy area with beanbags
Mini-fridge available in room for water
4 apple computers in lobby for customer use with free internet or free wifi in lobby
Reasonable prices for drinks in restaurant: 4 Euro for large bottle of sparking water, 3.50 Euro for glass of wine.
Not so good:
No bathroom toiletries except for handsoap/shampoo - luckily I brought some good toiletries as I had read the reviews
Asked barman for wine glasses for bedroom but were only allowed plastic cups!
I think this hotel suited us perfectly as we had a good price for dinner, bed & breakfast. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoBelfast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,
It is very rewarding to receive our guests recognition.
Thank you so much for taking your time and write your review regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £73 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing