We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fat Boys”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fat Boys”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel last September and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, the room, the restaurant the staff excellent and the location brilliant. We are now looking to a return next summer but we have an issue with the Pool and the Fat Boys. As many blogs have said all sunbeds were draped with towels by 8am and the only option was the 'Fatboys' on the field behind the pool area, the problem was that they were saturated every morning - it didn't rain at all during our holiday - and it took several hours to dry them out EVERY morning. Apparently the sprinklers were on early every morning to water the grass. It didn't take rocket science to sort this out, but all complaints were made to no avail.This problem and the shortage of sunbeds around the pool area is a deal braker for us need to be sorted for the summer.

Maybe the General Manager can reply to this blog and reassure everyone who had the problems

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rolyatevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to post your review.
I am really glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday.
All the comments that we received are very important for us and do help us to develop our service standards.
The issue regarding the sunbeds and the fat boys is being discussed internally in order to find a better solution for next high season.
Could we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    785
    264
    88
    52
See reviews for
549
1,195
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel located right on the beach. Rooms were great with plenty of space and a good sized balcony. Lovely bathroom but beware the glass walls all around, there is a blind to put down on the shower window!
We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was really good quality buffet-style with plenty of choice. Definitely a meal to look forward to! The pool area was lovely but as we stayed in Dec we didn't venture in..even tho the weather was sunny for our entire stay!
The harbour area is in easy walking distance...about 10/15 mins..where there is a good selection of bars and restaurants. Although a lot (more than half) were closed during our stay and seemed to shut for Dec/Jan. There is a casino next door but with a €5 min bet when we called in we didn't stay long!
I would definitely stay in this relaxing hotel again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Helen D,
Thank you very much for taking your time to post your review.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay with us and that you are thinking to come back again.
Looking foward to welcome you once more at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stylish- the stand out feature was that the bathrooms/showers have a glass wall connecting to the bedroom. I suppose this is attractive for loved up couples!!! (There is a blind if you wish for some privacy).
Good sized pool. Plenty of pool-side beds and a grass area of bean-bags/ towels to sunbathe on. 1 min walk to the beach. BY the casino, and a 3-4 min walk to the beautiful marina.
Only thing I didn't like is that there wasn't a traditional mini-bar in the room. There was a empty fridge... but you needed to order a snack/drink selection of items.

Would definitely stay here again. Pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank live4u4ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to post your review.
All the comments that we received are very important for us and do help us to develop our service standards.
The issue regarding the mini bar is being discussed internally in order to improve our services.
Looking forward to receive your visit again at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for one night mid of Feb,The room over looked the casino and sea.
We were upgraded as my hubby stays in these hotels alot with his work in the UK.
The room was clean also quiet.The bathroom with the glass wall looking into the bedroom was differant untill we found the blind.
The breakfast is the same in all crown plaza hotels every thing you need for the start of the day.
When we left, The Hotel phoned us we had only left flight tickets, euros ,sterling etc in the safe,
Every thing was at the front desk waiting for us.
A BIG THANK YOU to you and your staff,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duckpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for taking your time and share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Also I glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned I can honestly say no complaints at all just the opposite , we was met by Jonathan the porter who took our cases from the coach straight to room , we got upgraded to a junior suit free of charge, Jonathan showed us all the amenities in room and the electric shower curtain , we had the romantic package deal as it was my husband 50th birthday n not disappointed flowers, champagne, fruit and chocolate dip, meal in room with more flowers and a lovely red wine , made him a birthday cake which was pre ordered , location is 15 mins at most to harbour thats a slow walk, would we go back most definitely loved it so much

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank alison o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Alison,
Thank you so much for taking your time and gives us such kind feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
It is really gratifying to receive our guest’s recognition.
Looking forward to welcome you back again at our hotel soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus0007
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

when we arrived we were greeted by doorman who collected our cases and met us at our room with them, the room was gorg, staff were all friendly each and every one, food was plenty and tastefull, surroundings also pleasant, this was a treat for my 50th birthday and from start to finish lived up to my expectations, I would deff recommend this hotel to tohers and will deff be returning in the near future, 5* rating to everything and everyone we had a fantastic time, 1st time I could have stayed longer normally cant wait to return home, thankyou to each and everyone of you who made our holiday complete xx :-)

Room Tip: I think all rooms are superior beds very comfy and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidays0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,
It is indeed really rewarding to read such enthustiastic review.
I glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Firstly, I must emphasise how beautiful the rooms are in this hotel. They are of a very high spec, well maintained and incredibly clean. We had room number 423. It had views over Quarteira beach and was labelled 'superior.' Beds were very comfortable - usual hotel complaint pillows not to my liking but as I said a common complaint and not an issue. We also visited the spa twice. This is at a cost of 10euros per person, per day. For us, it was a wonderful experience and incredibly relaxing.

We stayed from the 16th - 21st of Feburary, the weather was just stunning which allowed us to explore Vilamoura on foot. The hotel is in a beautiful position, ten minutes to the marina and ten minutes in the opposite direction to Quarteira. A vastly different resort.

We stayed on a half board basis. We noticed on the first two nights at dinner, the staff were pretty unfriendly. However the following two nights we had Neuza and her team of very friendly waitresses and waiters. She made us feel very special and welcome. The breakfast and evening meal were very good with a wonderful selection of foods to try. There really was something for everyone. Due to the time of year, the restaurant was very quiet, it definitely lacked atmosphere. I think it could be a very different story during high season!

Our main gripes concerned our check out. Forty eight hours before checkout we visited reception. We asked whether we could have our breakfast to take with us on our check out as our flight was early in the morning. We were informed they offered no such option. A five star hotel - not able to put some bread and jam in a bag?! Very odd. A service offered by most hotels. We were informed we could order room service and eat at five am in the room - and at a price. No thank you! A real shame. We also asked for a wake up call at 5am, we gave the date and confirmed the time. The lady on reception repeated all. Perfect! On our penultimate morning, our phone went at 5am. We woke up with a shock and replaced the handset attempting to go back to sleep. Fifteen minutes later reception called to check we were awake. We informed them the call was booked for the following morning, the 21st! We then could not get back to sleep. At breakfast, I noticed the lady was still on reception. I asked her about the wake up call as I was concerned it wouldn't be booked for Friday morning due to the incorrect one. The lady said yes it is. I asked what went wrong. Without apology, I was told 'perhaps you booked the wrong wake up call on the tv.' Why would I do such a thing?! Very odd, being made to feel like I was in the wrong! To add insult to injury our wake up call on our check out morning was ten minutes late! It really ruined the end of our holiday and left us with a bitter taste of what the hotel was really like. There seemed to be a lack of customer focused service.

As I said earlier, a wonderful hotel in a beautiful position with great food choices however, if you want to be treated like you're really valued this hotel might not be the one! Having stayed in the Tivoli Marina prior to this stay, it is more likely we would return there.

Thanks for a great stay but please learn from the wake up call saga!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMAW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and give us the feedback of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
I glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services apart from the situation with the wake up call witch I would like to apolozine.
May we have another opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,054 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,193 reviews
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing