We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of attention would make it excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just returned from our 1 week stay in this hotel in Vilamoura. Generally, our stay in the hotel was excellent and relaxing. The facilities and services of the hotel are excellent, the staff is kind and helpful to the extreme. Everything is given so that this hotel could be the best of its kind.
BUT. There are very little, annoying details that could be solved with a little bit of attention (most of them would not cost a cent).
1. The check-in was very quick in spite of our early arrival. There are no general information about the hotel facilities available in the room but on the TV. However, the remote control for the TV was not working since the battery was low. Checking the functioning of the remote control could be introduced into the cleaning protocol. I had to ask at the reception for the changing of the batteries and it took them for 2 days.
2. We are the type of people who like to look around and go for excursions. Most of the organized excursions starts at a very early hour, before the breakfast would be available. The hotel staff could not solve to provide us with the breakfast (either opening earlier or making a pack), only room service was recommended (but this is available only within the same period when normal breakfast, so did not mean a solution).During the excursions we experienced that guests from other hotels in Vilamoura could have breakfast packs.
3. Indeed, there are computers with internet in the lobby for public use. It would be practical if the default language would be set to English or any commonly spoken language other than Portuguese.
4. Enough mention has already been made to the sunbeds around the pool area, useless to repeat, no willingness is shown to find a solution. However, bean bags are not necessarily a 5-star solution...especially not for elderly people.

Despite the long list, I have to repeat these were only small things that have very little influence on our overall assessment. These are just elements that could make this hotel a real 5-star.

Room Tip: If you go for excursion, take care of your breakfast in advance.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriella I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Gabriella I,
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for having taken the time to gives us your comments and suggestions, which will most certainly help us in continuously improve guest experience.
We at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura-Algarve look forward to welcome you back,
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Crowne Plaza Vilamoura on the Algarve is an absolutely beautiful resort style hotel. The lobby is warm and welcoming. There are plenty of couches to lounge around and people watch. The staff and service are great and the location is perfect. The resort is right on the beach. There is a relaxing pool and bar area to get some extra sun. On weekend nights, they have a live singer with a live band. The hotel bar is lively with a young crowd on the weekends.

The rooms are quite lovely. They are lined with beautiful hardwood floors with beach view balconies. You really can't get any better than this. The service is excellent. They provide complimentary cots if you need an extra bed. The rooms have irons and plenty of outlets. The maid service leaves you a couple bottles of water every morning...it's the little things that count!

The restaurant has decent food and the breakfast buffet is excellent. They have an abundance of fresh fruit, eggs, beans, bacon etc. I do wish they would mix it up a little bit because you can get tired of eating the same food everyday if you are staying for a week.

Overall, I had a phenomenal experience at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kikip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for such enthusiastic review regarding your experience at our hotel.
It is really rewarding to read that you had a phenomenal experience at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura we do hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just back from a few days at the Crowne.......just a few things...the people working at the hotel apart from the people on reception really didn't seem to enjoy working there...staff on breakfast were particularly grumpy! Why was it so hard to get a cup of coffee! Also just a suggestion...how about having some juice fruit and coffee for the early risers...self service of course! Other than that...really clean nice hotel.....and lovely bedrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Mary W,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you liked the room accommodations you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I am currently staying in the crowne plaza and am very annoyed to learn that , on top of the charge for the week we have to pay €10 a day to use the indoor pool. I'm pregnant and like to swim regularly and cannot believe that if myself and my husband want to use the indoor pool the total charge on top of what we are already paying is €140 for the week. We travel a lot and have never encountered this extra charge to use a facility that should be included in the already substantial price. If I had not paid up front for the week I'd be checking out.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Karen C,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review of our property. I regret you were unhappy with the restrictions on the use of our pool facility. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you and we hope you give us a chance to host you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

just got back this evening from spending a very relaxing 7 days at this hotel. as previous reviewers have said lovely bedrooms very spacious and clean, not sure about being able to sit on the toilet and have a sea view! we had upgraded to a superior room where the bathroom has a glass wall. Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and having had 7 breakfasts we have not yet had a hot cup of coffee or tea, the staff are very slow to refill the empty breakfast dishes i.e. eggs, bacon, bread and this was at 7.30am! Although the staff in the dining room were friendly the more mature members of staff had little or no interest in customer service. Lovely pool area again very clean, however there was a major problem with towels being put on beds very early in the morning and no one actually using them until late afternoon or not at all. Perhaps an idea that if they are not in use by 11.00am the towels should be removed. They must have problems in the summer as the giant bean bag alternatives are not suitable for everybody. There was also a lack of information regarding the hotel itself, what was on offer, local amenities etc. normally you are overrun with leaflets but there was no information in the room or in reception at all. Despite some negative feedback we would return to this hotel as the location is excellent and the hotel itself very clean.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor, high enough to have a good view with a lovely sunny balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorcas237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review posted on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that your stay with us encountered your expectations apart from the issues mentioned that need some improvement. I am really glad to read that you would like to return to our hotel.
We at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura are looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just back from vilamoura for fith time best hotel, clean,staff great,rooms great try it you will love it.near to marina, close to bars and every type of eating place.will be going again very soon.wilf of pontefract

Room Tip: double deluxe facing quateria great
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Susan H,
Thank you so much for taking your time and gives us such great feedback regarding the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our second visit to Vilamoura, but our 1st to this hotel. The Crowne Plaza is a great base hotel with good facilities and for different mixes of groups and individuals. We had a nice suite on the 11th floor overlooking the sea and the marina area. It is a short walk to the marina (5 mins) which is well lit in the evenings to make you feel safe. In addition it is a 10 min walk to Quarteira on the other side. We stayed B&B, where there was a good selection each morning with good service. We didn't have any other meal there due to plethora of eateries at the marina - all the best are behind the marina frontage. The room was clean, services each day and had two bathrooms. The staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful.
The only downside is the pool area where the hotel need to be disciplined about individuals reserving sunbeds and leaving the empty for hours. They should introduce a non-reservation policy like lots of other hotels do..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for posting your review about your experience at our hotel.
I am really glad to know that we met your expectations and thank you also for your suggestion.
Looking forward to have you back soon at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,616 reviews
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £82 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing