We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very relaxing holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I am afraid I have to join the list complaining about lack of sun beds, towels on sun beds etc at this lovely hotel.
The bean bags on the grass are quite comfy once you get the knack of 'layering' them but if you want to follow the sun round it's a bit of a pain moving them. More sun beds on the grass would solve the problem and I hope the hotel takes notice.
Apart from this no complaints only compliments, especially the staff, all pleasant and helpful not a bit like described by someone else. Service and food were excellent. We stayed half board and the only thing missing was a piece of meat, turkey carvery style. There was a selection of fish, meat, chicken casseroles, risotto, and pasta. The salad table was very good and everything was beautifully presented.
We were glad we booked half board as it was very cool in the evening for the 10-15 min walk to the marina.
There were musicians in the lounge in the evening (only average), various TV screens with no volume, showing various sports- football, tennis, motor racing etc. the TV's in the rooms had a couple of English channels, news etc.
We had a lateral sea view room on 6th floor and it was fine. I wouldn't pay extra for the time we spent in there. The bed was huge and very comfortable.
My husband used the gym every day which was free.
This is a quiet hotel, not the usual package holiday hotel so if you want a good rest it is ideal and definitely a touch of class.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cityman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the lovely review.
We are very pleased to find out that we encountered your expectations.
Just would like to inform you that we have acquired more sunbeds.
We looking forward to welcome again at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    752
    252
    86
    50
See reviews for
526
1,122
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport,gwent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having just spent a week at the Crowne Plazza to say it is 5 Star is not true. The Hotel its self is very nice indeed the rooms and facilities are 5 Star. Where it lets itself down is the service and the staff (the ones at breakfast that is) the service was quite simply 1 star if that!! None of the staff had been trained in the art of how to smile and if you want to order a coffee as long as you don't mind the 20 minute wait we had every morning you should be ok. They should all take a leaf out of the mini bus driver Tiago who was always happy and jolly and nothing too much trouble. Pity he hasn't rubbed off on the others!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobNewport_gwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear bobNewport_gwent,

Thank you for writing us a review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you gave a 5 star rating on hotel room and facilities. However, I am sorry if the level of customer service received did not suit your standards. Rest assured, your comments will be reviewed by our hotel management and will be used to target opportunity areas to avoid same scenario in the future.

We hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

When approaching the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura it is easy to spot from the road. It is between 35-42 Euros in a taxi from Faro Airport. The check in was excellent and very quick. I was recognised as an IHG Rewards Member and offered my free drink or points. We were advised where the restaurants were, what time breakfast is served etc. The rooms were fabulous, we had a side seaview room which was still great. The beds were comfortable with adequate seating space. The clear glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom made us laugh but don't worry there is a screen that comes down. I read on here previously that there is no kettle in the rooms so we brought our own, when in fact there are kettles in the room however there are no cups but if you just ring reception or housekeeping and they will arrange for some to be sent up to the room (Do take your own teabags, coffee and sugar, you can purchase milk from the local shop over the road and store in the fridge in the room). The staff throughout the hotel are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. There are lots of reception staff and when it is busy they come down the line to ask how they can help you to save you waiting in line. The food at the hotel is fabulous. The breakfast has lots of choice plus there is champagne too. Lunch you can choose from the snack or main menu which has lots of choice from sandwiches, Pizza and salads etc. The dinner is buffet or a la carte with so much choice and different items each day, we loved it, we ate in the hotel 4 out of the 5 nights. I can't say enough about this hotel. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireT911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
It is always a pleasure to realize that our guest expectations were satisfied.
We can’t wait for another opportunity to have you again with us.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Right from arrival this is a great hotel. Staff on front door and reception are very welcoming and friendly. Reception is open, spacious and airy. Check in was quick and efficient and very helpful. We had a standard double room and it was excellent; well furnished, clean and plenty of room.

The bathroom is very good with a very good shower over the bath; Separate toilet and bidet behind glass panel and door . The glass window between bathroom and bedroom opens up space but you can lower the electric blind!

Breakfast was a pleasure with a fantastic variety of food. We really enjoyed everything about this hotel except one thing! As others have said there is a shortage of sun loungers at the pool. The beanbags on the grass area do not make up for this. It effectively reserves the pool area for those who bag the surrounding loungers. If you think people get up early to put out towels we were going into the lift one night as a woman existed with an arm full of towels heading out to bag her spot. It was 10.00pm at night! For those of us not willing to join in this trial we never got to sit around the pool in a whole week. But that's the only complaint though the hotel really need to fix it. Otherwise brilliant hotel and Villamoura is an excellent sun holiday location.

The rooms are well equipped we had a kettle and Nespresso machine, so we brought our own Nespresso pods, the is a fridge, safe, iron and board and a standard hotel hair drier in the bathroom. Our room was a side view of the sea and facing Quarteira.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DannyBoyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Danny,
It is a pleasure the read your kind comments.
For the hotel team is a reward to know that we meet our guest expectations.
Would like to inform you that the hotel has already acquired more sunbeds.
Looking forward to have you again with us.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtr manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just back from a 5 night break and loved everything about the hotel and location. Lounge and pool area are fantastic. The perfectionists out there will moan about lack of sun beds and bean bags but the glorious beach is 2 mins away, yes it's a few euros to hire a bed but so what the location is priceless! Also the pool attendant removes any towels on beds that haven't been occupied for an hour so it is managed! I've also read complaints about the staff, let me tell you they are fantastic, apart from an old chap in the restaurant who's like Harry Enfield's old git. We ended up laughing at his uncanny ability to ignore people but don't worry there are lots of great staff who make up for him. We booked only breakfast but had our evening meal there 1st night and the food was fabulous. The Marina is a short stroll away with great bars and restaurants and there are a couple of nice little beach bars that serve great food if you want lunch on the beach. This hotel is probably not a 5 * but in my opinion very close. We are definitely returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking your time to showing us your appreciation for our hotel and service.
Your comments will certainly motivate our team to keep up the good work.
Looking forward to have you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from a fantastic 7 night stay in this glorious hotel, fantastic hotel, perfect location fabulous staff and great food, only fault was that there was not enough sun loungers by the pool so guests were seen reserving sun loungers at 06.30 and there is also not enough of the red bean bags in the garden although we were told they was supposed to be more being delivered soon.
The beach is only 50 yards away so you can hire a couple of sun beds and a straw sun shade on the beach for around €16 a day.
However this will not stop us returning later in the year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view some lateral, superior and delux rooms look identical apart from the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Steve S,
Thank you so much for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to read that you will be returning later this year.
Also would like to inform you that we have acquired more sunbeds.
We at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura are looking forward to welcome later this year.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 5 night break. Hotel is great and well situated, lovely rooms, spotless and good breakfast. Only draw back is the sun bed situation. Couldn't get a sun bed for love nor money !! About 50 when you have an 11 storey huge hotel. They have a grass area which could accommodate plenty of beds much like the tivoli which is very close by. Beach is very close and lovely and 16 euros to hire beds for the day. Other than that great all round

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank petersclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Peter,
Thank you for taking your time and gives us the feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Would like to inform you that the hotel has already acquire more sunbeds in order to meet all requests.
Could we have another opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,795 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing