We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position service needs improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent position service needs improving”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Recently stayed here for 5 nights with my sister and can highly recommend the Crowne Plaza. The location is what makes this hotel stand out - next to the beach and the Marina.
Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the champagne was a welcome addition! Our room was enormous and the glass bathroom was fantastic. However, service in the bar area was poor and we quite often had to wait for ages to get a drink.
I had read all the horror stories about reserving sun beds at 6am. We put our towels down next to the pool at 8.30ish before going to breakfast and never had a problem! Yes all the beds around the pool were taken by 10am but this happens in every other popular hotel across the world!! You can't expect to arrive at the pool after 10am anywhere and get a bed!! There were lots of other beds available on the grass area as well. The only other suggestion I would give to improve the hotel is to sort the music out in the pool bar area. It was so depressing and sometimes the same song appeared to go on for hours!! Could we have some summer feel good songs?
Apart from this I would definitely recommend the hotel and will no doubt visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review posted on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that your stay with us encountered your expectations apart from the issues mentioned that need some improvement. We do take our guests suggestions very seriously.
We at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura are looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    779
    264
    88
    52
See reviews for
542
1,192
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having visited Vilamoura over 15 times in the last 15 years and always stayed in the same hotel, I was anxious about changing to the Crowne Plaza.

Prior to our visit I was sure, after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, that I was going to struggle to find somewhere to sit around the pool/garden unless I got up at 6.30am, find it difficult to get a cup of coffee at breakfast (and not enjoy the food) and be dealt with by disinterested employees.

Well I can report that I had breakfast at 9am every morning, with coffee/tea served by very obliging staff and being spoilt for choice with so much food on offer. At 10am I easily found a 'fat boy' to sit on (and I have to say they are very comfortable).

The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are a real pleasure to stay in. Despite being opposite the Casino and a 'pop up' Super Bock event in the Casino grounds, we were never disturbed at night (the lack of sleep through noise at night, was what prompted our change of hotel in the first place).

A really lovely holiday, in a wonderful hotel - I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A27dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you on behalf of all Crowne Plaza Vilamoura team for taking your time and gives us such enthusiastic review regarding your stay at our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you back again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I returned from this hotel last week, having spent a week. Great service and location. This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel, staff are great and I would recommend this as the best hotel if you want to be in walking distance to beach and bars ect. They have inproved the sun bed area and had more staff on hand for drinks ect this year.

I will return again to this hotel as I think its the best in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 7th floor or above as they have great views, I would recommend a no marina vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Adam,
First would like to thank for your preference as you state this was your third time with us.
Our guests opinions and suggestions are very importante for us.
May we continue having your preference.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a week at the CP Vilamoura with my husband. Excellent receptionist on check-in. Had a partial sea view room with balcony which was lovely & spacious. The location is great, by the beach and a few minutes walk from the restaurants in the marina. The food quality was very good and a nice selection. However, there were a few areas which need improving:
- Service - in a word, awful. It's not that the staff aren't working hard, it's that they have no direction. Breakfast is chaos, not once did we get offered a drink, we had to chase down a staff member every time. In the bar we wondered how long we could sit before we were served, as it turns out, a full hour, despite numerous staff members walking past. No anticipation of customer needs, no initiative, and no pleasantries.
- Pool - Didn't get near it all week due to the amount of guests prepared to get up at 6am to "reserve" sun loungers with towels. The pool staff didn't make any effort to keep an eye on this and even admitted that quite often the sun beds were just abandoned but towels left behind. There are plenty of beds on the grass area but it would be nice if the staff made a bit more effort to make things fair.
All in all, the service really lets this hotel down, so despite it being a good location I wouldn't return until this was addressed. Some leadership is desperately required in F&B.

Room Tip: Partial sea view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Better_than_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Better_than_home,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back today after spending 11 nights here. Rooms excellent and very clean and modern. Had a balcony with side sea view and a view of the outside eating area. All staff were very friendly and hardworking. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank cclamaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for such kind review regarding our hotel facilities, staff and services.
I am glad to read that we met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I returned from this hotel around a month ago- we stayed from the 17th - 24th July as a family group of 6.
We travelled with 3 people who had already visited Vilamoura but stayed in a different hotel, and we visited again this year to celebrate a 25th wedding anniversary.
The hotel itself is spotless. The rooms are beautiful, plenty of storage for clothes etc, very comfortable beds with thick mattresses, large flat screen tvs with multiple channels and an amazing glass bathroom. The balcony is also large with a big comfy chair.
The location is very good, only a few minutes walk from the marina and across the road from the beach.
Pool area is beautiful, slightly lacking in sunbeds but over crowding would spoil the effect of exclusivity the hotel work hard to maintain. We managed to get 6 sunbeds together every day bar one, and then there are lots of fat boys on the grass as a second option. I think it is obvious by first looks that you cannot walk to the pool at midday and expect to find a sunbed easily. I can see how this may disappoint some people, but there are other options.
The food in a morning is brilliant (my favourite were the freshly made omelettes, and the champagne of course!). The food at night was okay, however if I was to return I would definitely stay B&B as there are so many amazing options of restaurants around the marina that it seems a waste to eat in the hotel.
Staff were very helpful and polite at all times, they have immaculate uniforms and work very hard to ensure everything is of the highest standard.
Overall I would definitely return to this hotel, just on a B&B board basis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hatty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Hatty C,
Thank you so much for such kind review regarding our hotel, services and staff.
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I was 2 nights in thos hotel and i enjoy the spa!

Spa its realy good and very peaceful!

The dinner in the restaurant its ok!

The beach its realy near!

The gardens are so beautifull.

Big thank you for the staff, they are realy friendly and professionals.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rmcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to find out that our team effort is rewarded by our guest comments.
We will keep the good work in order to improve our service standards.
Looking forward to have you once more at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,043 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,186 reviews
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing