We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find !”
Review of Restaurante Ancora

Restaurante Ancora
Ranked #105 of 193 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great find !”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Thanks to Roberto from the bar nearby we were recommended this hidden gem. We were looked after in great style by the family who own and run this restaurant the food was great and the service excellent. Ate here twice finding the food to be fresh and home made with some nice veg always a change when you are away as choice is often poor. Chose to eat here for my wife`s birthday as they had made us feel so welcome on our first visit again a perfect evening both for food and company. The meal ended with birthday cake and as ever a couple of bottles being left on the table for us to help ourselves a nice touch. The restaurant is modern and fresh and certainly one we shall return to when in Vilamoura look it up and give it a try if the food and the welcome are as good as we got I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawson1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    40
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

A nice restaurant just away from the Marina that offers good 'local' food. Two good sized pork steaks cooked to perfection and covered with mushrooms and bacon with a decent portion of chips was excellent. My daughter's salmon fillet was huge!! Extra vegetables came with the meals which were hardly touched. A nice touch was the on the house port for after the meal. No choice of Wine but the House White was was fine. Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Authentic Portugese Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Visited this gem of a restaurant last week (24.10.13) - a fantastic place to eat. One might easily miss it as it's off the marina area just on the fringes of the restaurant 'district'. It would appear to be a family run affair. We we're served by the senior member who actually made it more authentic for us (he reminded me of the American actor Ed Asner).
I ordered the 'Steak on a Stone' which was cooked in front of you and was accompanied by what seemed like an endless accompaniment of vegetables, salads and other sides. When I managed to finish the waiter returned and asked if is like more steak - I couldn't believe it !!!!!
My wife had a similarly fantastic fish kebab -actually a fish 'shish' kebab. Plentifully packed with all mixtures of fish which hung vertically from hanger fixed to a wooden board. It had the same amount of sides as above together with rice.
All of the above was extremely tasty and nicely finished off with a rather large wine glass filled with a complimentary port.
In summation this place is well worth a visit and the total bill came to just under €50 which I forgot to mention included a complimentary beer and glass if wine and local entreés of breads/sardine patê/cheese/olives/garlic infused carrots
A must visit when in Vilamoura over all the other tacky bling eateries
Date of review - 28.10.13

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spfeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great fun and 'local'!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a fun night here. The service was a little slow to start with but as they were rushed off their feet and we had no reservation we accepted this. They 'squeezed us in' and we were pleased that they did. The food was very enjoyable and the atmosphere fun. Good service and plenty of 'gratis' port after the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A guarantee of an excellent value for money meal”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

WE visit Eduardo at the Ancora on several occasions when we are in Vilamoura. The food is always cooked to your liking by Eduardo,s wife. The atmosphere is excellent, and there is always a glass of port to round off the meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Ancora also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Restaurante Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing