We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must visit.”
Review of Oliveira Dourada

Oliveira Dourada
Ranked #9 of 212 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$32
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Location: GPS: Latitude-37 ° 06 '44.84 Nlongitude - 8 º 06' 49.81 W Come meet some of our specialties: shrimp in pumpkin w / grated cheese, lamb and tangine Rooster field, muamba, cataplana croaker. We have an offer for you!
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I live near this restaurant but have never been in until last night. It was my birthday and I wanted to try something different. I was not disappointed. I had read the reviews on Tripadvisor, and it sounded very impressive. The only thing you order is your main course. The starter is served when you sit down and was such a change to the normal Portuguese starter. For my main I had Lamb Tajine and my husband had Chicken in Pineapple and coconut. Wonderful!!!! Then to finish off a lovely little dessert, which vary in taste and colour. With water supplied, drink each, the final bill was 43€. Well worth getting away from the tourist areas and trying this. Not much to look at from outside, apart from a few goats, but a gem inside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zilda J, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely comment.
It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Come back again and thank you.
best regards
Zilda and Zé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 261 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visited the restaurant for my wife's birthday and they could not do enough for us. The quality of food was superb and was real value for money. The nicest restaurant we have visited for a long time in terms of quality and service. Thoroughly recommend.

Thank Ringer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zilda J, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely comment.
It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Come back again and thank you.
best regards
Zilda and Zé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A wee bit out from the marina so taxi or car needed.
Different food experience, only the main is chosen, so starters and sweet are surprises. Small plates of variety of starters, all very tasty, husband enjoyed the lamb tangine and myself a Brazilian dish of prawns in a pumpkin and cheese sauce, served in a pot pumpkin. The sweet was a fruit creamy layer with a jelly , all beautiful . Both had some house wine and water. Very good value at €45

1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zilda J, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely comment.
It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Come back again and thank you.
best regards
Zilda and Zé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you are looking for fusion food this place is for you. Short menu, it means that all the food is freshly cooked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antonio_Gia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliveira D, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely comment.
It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Come back again and thank you.
best regards
Zilda and Zé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A 15 to 20 minute drive from the centre of Villamoura, Oliveira Dourada is contained in what feels like a friend's house in the quiet serenity of the countryside. Decorated creatively and softly lit by candles, it was a unique dining experience. We arrived on a Tuesday night only to be told that they were fully booked - so remember to book in advance. We made a reservation for the following night and before we left, the chef and owner José gave us a menu to take with us and marked off which menu items would be available. He mentioned that if we wanted to have something else listed on the menu to ring him in the morning and that he would go and get it for us. Many of the items were influenced by the cooking of former Portuguese colonies in Africa which made for an interesting and welcome change. Having experienced the relaxed atmosphere of the restaurant and how personable and passionate José was about his menu and the sourcing of his ingredients, we knew we would be in for a real treat. When we arrived for our reservation, José appeared at our table and talked us slowly through the menu and paid great attention to the details of his dishes. We decided on the Cataplanas and were advised that one order of this dish would be sufficient for us both as a main course. We asked to see a wine menu and were informed that there was a single choice for both red and white. We chose a bottle of the white and were very impressed. You can agree to spend a small sum of money on a selection of starters which are chosen at José's discretion - the variety and quality of these delicious little bites which were delivered consistently to our table was excellent with the surprise element making the experience all the more enjoyable. Our main course was indeed enough for us both and like the starters before it, it was also excellent and lovingly prepared with the freshest of ingredients. Dessert was complementary and consisted of fresh fruit and a lemon scented whipped cream - it was heavenly. We were kindly offered a digestif by José and as the evening had by then winded down for the staff, we had a lovely chat with him and his partner. It was a truly memorable experience and everything we would have wanted for a special evening meal - great food served at a reasonable price by friendly and passionate people in beautiful and relaxed surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ltkgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliveira D, Proprietário at Oliveira Dourada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Hi Grace,

Thank you for your lovely comment.
It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Come back again and thank you.
Best regards
Zilda and Zé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliveira Dourada also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Oliveira Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing