We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Toro

Don Toro
Ranked #47 of 187 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
febe3
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tried this restaurantant as we were holidaying in Vilamoura and they had a special offer on , and daughter and hubby love steak. the waitress we had was lovely, attentive, polite and efficient. However, the food was average and not over large portions. My main complaint is the cooking of the food, hubby asked for it to be medium well done and it was quite blue, and RAW in the middle and parts of my chicken were un cooked! Luckily I realised so didn't eat it.
The chef needs to spend a little more time on cooking times..so be warned, ask for it to be properly cooked. It was cheap and cheerful but not for us again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank febe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    69
    22
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Highly recommended - steaks are really tasty and cooked perfectly. The cheesecake is a must at the end of your meal although my son would argue that the brownie is the best thing! Good service & very reasonably priced!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chickonhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

First steak restaurant at our end of the Marina and menu looked good value . We arrived early evening with only two other tables occupied . Didnt fancy the starters so just ordered mains. Hubbys steak was juicy and tender but my garlic prawn salad was just ok ,no hint of garlic. Restaurant was filling up now and had only two people serving . We waited 20 minute hoping for dessert and coffee but just couldnt get served. Eventually just got our bill and walked down to Marina for coffee instead. So reasonable food but poor service , wouldnt go back .

Helpful?
Thank mooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

For an Argentinian Steak House near the Marina, I was surprised by the relatively low prices. However, the steaks we had were excellent and the service was spot on. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank HolbrookeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

One of the few buzzing restaurants in the Marina, which is why we initially picked Don Toro to eat in.
We took the last table and orderedour wine and food I started with a home made soup €2.90 which was delicious and then followed up with their €10 steak meal, and good quality meat too so I was very happy.
I think the happy atmosphere in the restaurant made everyone quite chatty so it was a lovely evening and the staff were very good at getting the food out to us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Design4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Toro also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Don Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing