We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Hove
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent position!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have just returned from my second visit to the Dom Pedro Portobello in Vilamoura and once again had a fabulous stay!

The apartments are very well situated and its only a two minute walk to the beach and the Marina. Having said this, there is no noise from the Marina at night as the hotel is set back. The only draw back for staying here the first week in October is that the hotel is opposite the casino which hosts a TouringRally on the1st Sunday. 78 cars leaving at 3 minute intervals from 8.30 in the morning can be quite loud! They return from about 3.30pm onwards, so a good day to visit to beach!

We had a studio apartment which has twin beds and two large sofas. There is a small, well equipped, kitchenette and dining area as well in a very spacious room. The bathrooms do need refurbishing as they are very tired looking and there are no power points in the bathroom and no mirrors anywhere else in the apartment. However, having stayed here before, we took an extension cable with us for our hair dryers, so problem resolved! (We could have just taken a small mirror but being two girls, we needed a mirror ,the one in the bathroom, to see whilst drying our hair!) . Our friends had a one bedroom apartment and there is a mirror and a power point in the bedroom.

The hotel pool is excellent and the sun loungers are very comfortable. Pool towels can be obtained from reception for a small deposit. There is also a bar and restaurant by the pool and the menu is very good.

On our previous stay we had opted bed and breakfast but this time we forewent breakfast as the facilities for self catering were excellent. There is a small supermarket two minutes walk away which stocks every thing you need.

There are too many excellent restaurants around the Marina to mention, but favourites are Ostra D'Oura, A'Broa,the Catalana and The Mayflower. Ruiz is also good for cheap and cheerful. The hotel will advise of locations.

There are a lot of golfers at the resort so it means that the pool area and beaches are relatively empty during the day in October but the weather was fantastic so this meant relaxing days for us.

The nightlife is extremely good but nothing really gets going until 10.30/11pm. The best bars for music are Parky's at the far end of the Marina, where they have an Elvis Tribute evening and the food there is pretty good too, the Atlantic Bar, which is raised on a terrace above the Marina,together with The Irish Cabin. The Atlantic Bar has a solo singer and the Irish Cabin has very good band. Both of these bars get very busy but there is a very large outside terrace and bar as well.
The 19th Hole has a brilliant band playing there 5 nights a week and Karaoke 2 nights. This bar is especially good as its only a short walk from the hotel, on the Marina.

There are plenty of trips that can be taken if you want to sight see and they are very reasonable. There are a couple of tour offices just along the road from the hotel.

The Marina area of Vilamoura is quite compact so it is easy to walk everywhere and it's also very flat so everywhere is very accessible.

Just one request for the Dom Pedro.....a mirror in the apartment near a socket please and refurbish those bathrooms!

I will definitely be returning next year though as we had fabulous weather and a brilliant holiday

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a high room as excellent views ( do not ask for room 914 though as you are by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziewHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review and also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo.
We are glad that you spent an enjoyable holiday with us. We would just like to add a note regarding the mirror; works are ongoing and will be resolved soon.

Thank you very much on behalf of our team and look forward to welcoming you for another great holiday.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    217
    113
    26
    13
See reviews for
174
167
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This very tired and in desperate need of renovation. The furniture, fixtures & fittings are probably the same as when the hotel was originally built about 20 odd years ago, it is really caught in a time warp and the rooms are looking very shabby.
As previously commented by other reviews there is not a full length mirror, this really wouldn't be difficult to fix.
The headboard & dressing table was badly stained & marked, the lamps are secured to the surfaces with silicone, the underside of the toilet seat was badly damaged. Lighting in the bathroom is dingy, probably because the tiles are dull & no extraction (the bathroom is internal).
Pillows are poor quality, they fold in half when held over your arm.

It doesn't appear that the Dom Pedro Group have any design to renovate this hotel. It just looks like the bear minimum is undertaken.

On the plus side: the rooms are spacious with a large balcony, all staff are very friendly & helpful. It is really useful to have a little kitchen area, great for tea & toast in the morning, however you do have to juggle toaster, kettle, drainer.
Independent air conditioning in lounge & bedroom.

Well located for the marina and beach though.

We didn't use the restaurant so unable to comment.

There is a 5Euro charge per week for WiFi, however it is free at the sister hotel the Dom Pedro Golf just around the corner. Clearly the policies are not standard across the group.

Room Tip: High floor for views of the sea over the casino. I would say anything from level 4 & above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to post a review. We regret that you were not totally satisfied with your stay at our hotel, especially with apartment standard. We agree that the decoration of our apartments is not modern, but we are currently doing renovations in order to improve the apartments.

Regarding the Wi-Fi and to avoid misunderstandings we would like to clarify that the internet is paid in all the hotels in the group, the only difference is that, there is a free of charge computer in the bar of Dom Pedro Golf hotel, for the use of guests. At Dom Pedro Portobelo it does not exist.

We hope that, despite of this you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you very much on behalf of our team and look forward to welcoming back.

Kind regards

Rosa Custodio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just got back from a week in Vilamoura staying at Dom Pedro Portobelo. The hotel is in a good location for the Marina, beach and casino. Most rooms have a sea view but ask for a high floor room to make the most of it. We arrived at midnight and our key card was ready for us which was very efficient. We used the lifts which were old and rickety to our 7th floor room. When we walked in our first impressions were ok. Other reviews are correct about being dated but the bathroom was disgusting. The bottom of the bath was dirty with grime, the toilet was old. The floor tiles were also dirty and made me question if the bathroom had even been mopped while we were there. The tiles on the bathroom walls were something from the 1970's and the shower curtain had mould at the top. It was also quite dark even with both lights on. The "kitchen" was a twin hob and sink with a microwave. The fridge was unsteady and rocked every time the door was opened. The TV was old. On the plus side the room was spacious and had all amenities you would need for self catering. You will need to wash what you use or you will be charged 20 euro's if you dont. The pool area is this hotel's strength. It is spacious with plenty of beds. Quiet apart from the road that runs along side the hotel. The pool is spotless and has a consistent depth so not suitable for diving. We went to the restaurant once and it was reasonably priced but with just 1 waiter it took over 2 hours to eat a starter and main. This is our 3rd time to vilamoura in just over a year and have stayed at Vila Gale Ampalius and Tivoli Marina which were both far superior to this hotel. If you want service with a smile, a clean room and a bit of quality I would recommend elsewhere.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the views you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret that our hotel did not correspond to your expectation.
In fact it is not a recent hotel but in order to avoid misunderstandings we would like to clarify that the hotel is well maintained. We are constantly carrying out maintenance works and renovation works. Unfortunately, due to some factors, it was not possible to refresh the whole hotel yet.
We always try our best to satisfy our guests. Unfortunately, is not always possible to please all.

Thank you one again for your feedback

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Dom Pedro Portobelo is in a perfect location if your looking for a place to chillax with a gorgeous beach 5 minutes walk and a buzzing marina to wander around 5 minutes in the other direction?

Our apartment was very spacious. With every need in the kitchen area. Plenty of storage space. good service from the housekeeping and reception. Friendly staff in the bar area. We stayed over the last week and the area was very quiet. The apartment block is well insulated inside, only 2 nights were we woken up by happy people leaving the casino opposite, but not enough to worry about. In the evenings we walked around the marina, it was full of life. Great for cocktail looking over the water. Lots of choice for food. But if you stay out of the main marina arena, the prices are much cheaper. Recommend the 'Fishermans Shack' restaurant, in the shopping area underneath the Olympic Hotel. Excellent value for delicious food.

On the main road outside the hotel is a convenient bus stop plus taxi's.

We would recommend this aparthotel and definatley consider returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very glad that you have had such an enjoyable stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo and would like to thank you, on behalf of the whole team, for your kind and encouraging comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

spent a week in september at this hotel , very good, handy for beach 4 minutes walk, marina 4 minutes walk. brilliant views from 9th floor balcony . cleaned every day ,new towels if and when required and sheets changed three times ,friendly staff . this hotel a great location.
the apartment we were in was a bit old fashioned furniture wise but very clean.a bit cramped if you were cooking, though it had all the equiptment required ie. micro, toaster,kettle . also iron and board . only complaint no mirror for people who have hair to blow dry!
i would reccomend this apartment to anyone . well done to all the staff

Room Tip: ask for room on 9th floor if you dont mind lifts, room 914 you could see round from beach right roun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenboydelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Gerente at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very glad that you have spent an excellent time at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

We regret the lack of the mirror but it will be resolved in a near future.
Thank you so much, on behalf of whole team and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosforth, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just stayed at the Dom Pedro Villamoura and thought it was a lovely hotel. The apartments were very spacious, and the rooms clean. The furniture is a bit old, but that did not matter. The Bar man who ran the hotel restaurant and bar was very friendly and helpful.
There were some lovely restaurants nearby, especially in the plaza's behind the marina. We were concerned that we would not find enough vegetarian options as the speciality seems to be fish, however all the restaurants had a few vegetarian choices.
I would definitely go back and stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you have spent an excellent time at Dom Pedro Portobelo. We always do our best to make our guest stay confortable and pleasant.

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards

Rosa Custodio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have just got back after spending a week at the Dom Pedro and had a wonderful time. Our room was on the 3th floor, very nice and spacious. The hotel is in a great location and Vilamoura is beautiful and the people so friendly. We would recommend this hotel and would like to say a special thanks to Carla who made our breakfast every morning, what a hard working lovely lady. We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ser G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, which we really appreciated.
It is very gratifying for us to learn that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back, hopefully soon.


Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Portobelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Portobelo

Property: Dom Pedro Portobelo
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H5, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Portobelo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Portobelo Apartment hotel & golf The hotel’s excellent location at the center of Vilamoura, facing the Casino and a short distance from the Marina, makes it easy to discover Vilamoura’s main attractions: shops, nightclubs and restaurants and bars with lovely terraces. Dom Pedro Portobelo hotel provides studios with kitchenette and spacious apartments with private balconies, most of them with a sea view. With an outdoor pool for adults and a separate wading pool for children, the hotel features a bar and a restaurant that serves Portuguese gastronomy. For golf enthusiasts, there is a Golf Desk to help you to book green fees, with special rates and conditions for our guests, as well as a courtesy shuttle bus to the 5 Dom Pedro Golf Collection golf courses in Vilamoura. On Vilamoura’s beach, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel, there is an exclusive area reserved with thatched umbrellas and loungers, as well as a beach restaurant and bar: The Búzios Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Portobelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Portobelo Quarteira
Dom Pedro Portobelo Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing