We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Board is not half board”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Canvey Island Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Half Board is not half board”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Have just returned from this hotel, very clean but a little dated booked in half board but unfortunately the half board is a voucher for your meal for 8 euro's which does not cover a starter let alone a meal, anything over the 8 euro's you have to pay for, well sorry that is not half board. Don't bother to book half board its not worth it. I tried to take this up with the management but of course this was useless. But, I still enjoy the break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken time to post a review. We regret that you were not totally satisfied with a half board at our hotel, but would like to clarify that the half board at Dom Pedro Portobelo is a set menu, a la carte. However, our customers can always choose to take the half board in one of our other sister hotels, Dom Pedro Golf or Dom Pedro Marina, which is a rich buffet where you can eat everything without having to pay extra for it.
We are glad that you enjoyed the break, despite of this situation.
Thank you so much and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    189
    93
    25
    13
See reviews for
135
157
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Having been stranded in Faro airport due to air traffic control strike and all flights cancelled, we came across this hotel when we searched the Internet to find somewhere to stay for the night. What a lovely place, reception staff were very helpful, printing our boarding passes when we rebooked flights, they were all very polite and attentive. The location is excellent with lovely view from the balcony. Would definitely return here for longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Owner at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad that you enjoyable your stay with us.
Thank you so much, on behalf of whole team and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.
Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

stayed for one week end of may 13,great value for money close to the marina and beach,very big apartment with everything we needed,sun on balcony every morning,lovely when having a coffee to start the day.The other resort of quarteira is only about 15 to 20 minutes walk away so you have two resorts in one.would go back again for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mkenny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review and also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo.
We are glad that you spent an enjoyable holiday with us.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you for another great holiday.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent 5 nights in a one bedroomed apartment in Dom Pedro Portobelo and enjoyed it very much. The apartment faced the beach and had a very large balcon and spacious living and kitchen area. The bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped. The complex is a two minute walk from the beach and 3 minutes from the marina. Our apartment was serviced daily and towels changed. It's a lovely place to say and you can avail of bed and breakfast if you wish.

Room Tip: Very quiet generally on all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethireland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear guest,
We are very glad that you have spent an excellent time at Dom Pedro Portobelo.
Thank you so much for your kind comments and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custodio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great hotel - well equipped and good value for money.
The rooms are spacious and kitchen area is really well equipped.
The studios are ideal for 2 people and the one bedroom apartment easily spacious enough for 4.
Great pool area and this hotel is a stones throw from the Marina.

Room Tip: Most rooms have pool view with good balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Gerente at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you have spent an excellent time at Dom Pedro Portobelo. We always do our best to make our guest stay confortable and pleasant.

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards

Rosa Custodio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed with my daughter for 3 nights last week. (May 2013). This is the 3rd Dom Pedro hotel in Villamoura I've stayed in. Just booked this one to compare with the others. They are all within a stones throw of each other and all very much of a muchness. Location is good, really close to the Marina and beach
Although spotlessly clean, the bedroom furniture is a bit drab and very second hand looking. Rooms look to be newly painted, beds are very comfortable, shower, although in the bath was good pressure and temperature control.
Hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool with plenty of loungers. There is a games room with a pool table, air football and a couple of electronic machines.
We didn't try the Restaurant, as there are loads of places within a short walk, but I did have a wee nightcap, the last night in the very pleasant bar.
Most things are fairly expensive, but that's no reflection on the Dom Pedro, I think it's just the Villamoura area.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 777Bogeyman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really glad that you have spent a perfect stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo
Thank you for your kind review, which we really appreciated.
Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Dom Pedro Portobelo.

kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Warwickshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Having just returned from our first visit to Vilamoura and the Dom Pedro Portobello Hotel, we would say the rooms are clean and spacious (we stopped in a 1 bedroom apartment), but the decor, kitchen n bathroom could not be considered as modern. Although, I would add the shower was quite powerfull and not the usual drip drip in some hotels and the kitchen had all the usual utensils, toaster, kettle, microwave, electric hob.
The pool area is large with plenty of sunbeds, but a little short on shade, as only 6 umbrellas available and a few trees.
However, the location is superb as there is only a 5 mins stroll to either the beach, marina or casino.
A word of warning though, the service team in reception that offer you a welcome pack are a time share team (sorry I mean vacation club!)

Room Tip: A higher room, floors 7,8 or 9 give a better view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJL1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really grateful for your kind feedback and are glad that you have spent an enjoyable and relaxing time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back for another relaxing stay with at Dom pedro Portobelo.
Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,970 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Portobelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Portobelo

Property: Dom Pedro Portobelo
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H5, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Portobelo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Portobelo Apartment hotel & golf The hotel’s excellent location at the center of Vilamoura, facing the Casino and a short distance from the Marina, makes it easy to discover Vilamoura’s main attractions: shops, nightclubs and restaurants and bars with lovely terraces. Dom Pedro Portobelo hotel provides studios with kitchenette and spacious apartments with private balconies, most of them with a sea view. With an outdoor pool for adults and a separate wading pool for children, the hotel features a bar and a restaurant that serves Portuguese gastronomy. For golf enthusiasts, there is a Golf Desk to help you to book green fees, with special rates and conditions for our guests, as well as a courtesy shuttle bus to the 5 Dom Pedro Golf Collection golf courses in Vilamoura. On Vilamoura’s beach, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel, there is an exclusive area reserved with thatched umbrellas and loungers, as well as a beach restaurant and bar: The Búzios Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Portobelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Portobelo Quarteira
Dom Pedro Portobelo Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing