We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Vilamoura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Marco de Canaveses
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Vilamoura”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel more than a dozen times since the 1990s, and always been pleased. This time was no exception. Its location is excellent, right in front of the Casino, 5 minutes walk from the beach and the marina, with views of the sea.
Our one bedroom apartment had a large sitting room with dining area and kitchenette, as well as the bedroom and bathroom. The sitting area has two single sofa beds (just remove the cushions to sleep), with simple wooden furniture and white covers. The kitchenette is small, but has most of the basics ( two ring electric cooker, kettle, toaster, microwave, iron, plus utensils/ plates for four people). It's an apart hotel, so you need to bring your own washing up liquid, sponge, and pegs for the small clothes line on the spacious balcony (or they can be bought at the small supermarket close by). They do provide soap, towels and toilet rolls. There isn't a hair dryer, but they will supply one if asked. The reception staff are friendly and efficient, 24 hours a day.
There are two pools, one for babies and a larger one (about 1.35m deep), which have both been renovated recently, and plenty of sun loungers and sunshades. There is a restaurant/ bar by the pool that serves excellent food at reasonable prices.
This is a great, simple place to stay by the sea, and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teefee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Gerente at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review, also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable holiday at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    215
    113
    26
    13
See reviews for
172
167
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Rooms are getting a bit tired but still well maintained staff in general are pleasant and helpfull the British based timeshare team headed by Emma Paterson are a great help with any issues that may arise no pressure was put on me to buy a timeshare (nice hotel-good location-pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canvey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad that you enjoyable your stay with us.
Thank you so much, on behalf of whole team and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.
Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great location,very friendly and helpful staff,rooms very clean and comfortable if a little dated. Pool area and snack bar very good.literally minutes from marina and fantastic beach. We had a great week of sun fun and golf ,going back very soon .
Try the Gaviota ( sea gull) beach bar at the far end of Quartiera beach for a meal or just a sundowner or two.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chh137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really glad that you have spent a perfect stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo
Thank you for your kind review, which we really appreciated.
Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Dom Pedro Portobelo.

kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We booked this hotel for a one night stay after wanting to get away for a few days from where we are staying.

This is the first time we have stayed in this hotel, having usually stayed in another hotel for my previous stays. We chose this hotel based on its location and also price for bed and breakfast which was 85EUR per room, which I found reasonable. The location is around 500m from the beach and the same from the marina.

The hotel has a free car park outside which I had no trouble parking in, but it was slightly lucky I found a spot as cars had started to build up in the middle of the car park lanes. The hotel offers parking in its basement for 15EUR a day should you need it.

The hotel is unassuming looking inside and out. The main reception is clean, airy and has everything you need. The lifts were pretty poor at the time of my stay, two were out of action one evening, out of 4 lifts. No big issue as I used the stairs, but we had 'nan' with us so she had to use another set of lifts further away from her room.

Pool area; clean, south facing so gets a lot of sun, up til around 5-6PM, lots of sunbeds, good bar with a healthy selection of drinks and cocktails. Bar prices are in line of a 'usual' hotel bar, 40EUR for 7 cocktails and a beer, although it does offer happy hour between 6-7PM.

Our room was very clean, the decor was a little dated but I'd take that over a dirty modern room.We had air conditioning, this took some tinkering but it was fine once it got going. The self catering appliances were pretty basic in my opinion, but I rarely stay SC so I wouldn't really feel qualified to say! We had to pay for our safe, 2.25EUR per day with a 10EUR deposit. The room includes PLENTY of storage, which I tried to feel with 2 days worth of clothes, to no avail (even with a young lady in tow). The bathroom was dated, but everything worked. The shower was hot and powerful, although I feel new shower heads would go a long way in improving the showering. The beds were ok, not the best, they came with all necessary covers.

To reiterate the self catering; our room contained two large wardrobes, two other cupboards, large sideboard, chester drawers, two sofa beds, two single beds, dining table and chairs, kitchen sink and hob combo, fridge, toaster, microwave, all crockery and cutlery.

The view from our room was very good considering where the hotel is located, we could see right through to the beach, with little in the way. I would recommend opting for a pool view room on a higher floor.

We had a good stay for the price, nothing really good, nothing really bad. A good option for a golf holiday or a few nights with family/couples.

Room Tip: Pool view on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lloydemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Actually it is not a modern hotel but is cleaned and well maintained. The apartments are spacious with a great view.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back, maybe for a longer stay.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at the above named hotel for one week commenceing the 5th June 2013.
hotel was clean and tidy, my room was exellent.Breakfast was great and the waitress was warm
and welcoming. Would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernardoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review and also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo.
We are glad that you spent an enjoyable holiday with us.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you for another great holiday.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Have just returned from this hotel, very clean but a little dated booked in half board but unfortunately the half board is a voucher for your meal for 8 euro's which does not cover a starter let alone a meal, anything over the 8 euro's you have to pay for, well sorry that is not half board. Don't bother to book half board its not worth it. I tried to take this up with the management but of course this was useless. But, I still enjoy the break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken time to post a review. We regret that you were not totally satisfied with a half board at our hotel, but would like to clarify that the half board at Dom Pedro Portobelo is a set menu, a la carte. However, our customers can always choose to take the half board in one of our other sister hotels, Dom Pedro Golf or Dom Pedro Marina, which is a rich buffet where you can eat everything without having to pay extra for it.
We are glad that you enjoyed the break, despite of this situation.
Thank you so much and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Having been stranded in Faro airport due to air traffic control strike and all flights cancelled, we came across this hotel when we searched the Internet to find somewhere to stay for the night. What a lovely place, reception staff were very helpful, printing our boarding passes when we rebooked flights, they were all very polite and attentive. The location is excellent with lovely view from the balcony. Would definitely return here for longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Owner at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad that you enjoyable your stay with us.
Thank you so much, on behalf of whole team and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.
Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Portobelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Portobelo

Property: Dom Pedro Portobelo
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H5, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Portobelo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Portobelo Apartment hotel & golf The hotel’s excellent location at the center of Vilamoura, facing the Casino and a short distance from the Marina, makes it easy to discover Vilamoura’s main attractions: shops, nightclubs and restaurants and bars with lovely terraces. Dom Pedro Portobelo hotel provides studios with kitchenette and spacious apartments with private balconies, most of them with a sea view. With an outdoor pool for adults and a separate wading pool for children, the hotel features a bar and a restaurant that serves Portuguese gastronomy. For golf enthusiasts, there is a Golf Desk to help you to book green fees, with special rates and conditions for our guests, as well as a courtesy shuttle bus to the 5 Dom Pedro Golf Collection golf courses in Vilamoura. On Vilamoura’s beach, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel, there is an exclusive area reserved with thatched umbrellas and loungers, as well as a beach restaurant and bar: The Búzios Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Portobelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Portobelo Quarteira
Dom Pedro Portobelo Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing