We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Vilamoura
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not a 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Not a 4 star hotel. old furniture. noisy. good view from the balcony. big room with fridge. bad breakfast with orange juice from the cheapest supermarket.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    215
    109
    25
    13
See reviews for
167
167
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I have been to Vilamoura 3 time in the last year, this was my forth. I have stayed at the Hilton, Tivoli Vicoria and Crown Plaza, all excellent star hotels IMHO, and would stay in any of them again. However, when it came to group travel, economy was a factor. Not good with the previous three. We also wanted to be in the centre of the town. It was with some trepidation that I booked the DPP, as the reviews were so mixed. So here's my twopeneth.
1 - pro's - location is ideal for both marina and beach, minutes away and all the good eateries on your doorstep. I booked a studio for little old me, and got a one bedroomed apartment with a see view. Excellent service. Clean like you would not believe, all the rooms and public areas. Rooms are HUGE and generous balconies. Beds comfortable as were the sofa's to lounge on.
2- cons - and these are well outweighed by the pro's, the bathroom and rooms are a bit tired. You are not going to want to soak in the tub here. However, they were clean, and the shower HOT and STRONG. Breakfast, though lots of fruit and cereal, if you like your full english, you'll have to wander to the local cafes (worth it. if it is your thing.)
Overall, excellent value for money, excellent location if you want to be in the middle of things. I used the spa at the DP golf too - very, very good massage - highly recommended.
If you want 5 star luxury, you won't find it here, but then you are not paying for it. But if any of the previous reviews have put you off, consider your priorities. ticks boxes for clean and the views are excellent. Did not eat in the Pizzaria at the hotel, but in Vilamoura you are spoilt for choice on where to eat, so I would never pick a hotel on that. (Having said that the Victoria evening meals were out of this world.;)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Firstly, the good points – Vilamoura is just 30 minutes drive and 30 – 35 Euro taxi ride from Faro airport. The one bedroom apartment was spacious with plenty of storage space and was cleaned daily. The cleaner was particularly good, always arriving late morning after we had left. Fortunately we were able to use the facilities of the Portobelo’s sister hotels on either side, ‘The Marina’ and ‘The Golf’ whose facilities were far superior.

The Dom Pedro Portobelo website states ‘A recent refurbishment has been completed’ – I can only assume that their website hasn’t been ‘refurbished’ for 20 years unless their idea of a refurbishment is putting some new covers on the sofas!

Lighting in the corridors is so poor, even after putting the lights on, that you can’t see the slot in the door to place the key. The bathroom had chipped and marked brown tiles and the bath is stained from years of use. The furniture throughout is old, tired and cheap. However, the partial kitchen is rather bizarre. It takes up half a wall and has a folding door to hide it. However, there is nothing to stop the folding door from closing so you have to open the draw beneath the 2 ring hob if you want to use it – very safety conscious! They provide a dish drainer but no work space to put it on but, the funniest thing yet – a third of the wall is taken up by a wooden walk-in bar with tankards hanging above it – just what we needed!

When we arrived we were told that we didn’t have much of a sea view which was correct but that we had an excellent apartment, well away from the noise from the Casino. The noise was not a problem but their idea of an excellent apartment and mine differ considerably.

We loved Vilamoura. The people are friendly and the food is excellent (please see my separate restaurant reviews) but we will not stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed only 1 week but would have loved to stay 1 month. Staff very helpful, great location easy walk to wide range restaurants, supermarket, bus, marina, beach and the list goes on. A long way from Australia but worth every hour of the 27 hours travel. Thanks Dom Pedro, Villamoura

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robles138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The hotel was ok but not as good as the hotel we stayed in last year Hotel Gale ampulis, the hotel is need of some refrubishment the bath was really dirty...also my bigest compliant was NO MIRROR in the bedroom, only a mirror in the bathroom so really difficult to dry your hair so ladies take a travel mirror and and an extension lead...service was also quite poor didnt seem to be any staff and the music they paly in the breakfast/bar area sounds like a funeral is waiting to happen...its a great location pool is nice, breakfast 4/10...also the resort was really quite this year but obviuosly down to the resession....but had a great time love vilamoura.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowingwine52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona15
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

got back from this hotel last week. five of us travelled. we had the studio room and a one bedroom apt booked. rooms were huge, if its space your looking for then this is for you. rooms were kind of old fashioned without feeling too old fashioned. they'd nice couches in them, bigger than the norm single beds, eating area with small kitchenette. kitchen was small but had practically everything you would need it was great. girls had a one bed which again had plenty of room in it. hotel location wise supermarket is 1 min, marina is 2 mins, beach is 2 mins as well. great location. sunbeds at pool were comfortable as well. really can't fault this place as i like a large hotel room with plenty of space. breakfast was ok. had the usual fruit, cereals, pastries, yoghurts etc. make your own toast which is great as rolls/bread were all fresh. there was hot food scrambled egg, beans etc i don't normally eat that kind of stuff first thing but others seemed too eat it. we'd rooms on 5th floor so request them if your booking, you can't go wrong with this hotel c.30 euro per night. i would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I really enjoyed, and was served well. Breakfast was very good, room clean and ok shape. Location is really good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luuant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Portobelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Portobelo

Property: Dom Pedro Portobelo
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H5, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Portobelo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Portobelo Apartment hotel & golf The hotel’s excellent location at the center of Vilamoura, facing the Casino and a short distance from the Marina, makes it easy to discover Vilamoura’s main attractions: shops, nightclubs and restaurants and bars with lovely terraces. Dom Pedro Portobelo hotel provides studios with kitchenette and spacious apartments with private balconies, most of them with a sea view. With an outdoor pool for adults and a separate wading pool for children, the hotel features a bar and a restaurant that serves Portuguese gastronomy. For golf enthusiasts, there is a Golf Desk to help you to book green fees, with special rates and conditions for our guests, as well as a courtesy shuttle bus to the 5 Dom Pedro Golf Collection golf courses in Vilamoura. On Vilamoura’s beach, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel, there is an exclusive area reserved with thatched umbrellas and loungers, as well as a beach restaurant and bar: The Búzios Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Portobelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Portobelo Quarteira
Dom Pedro Portobelo Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing