We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a perfect location”
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value in a perfect location”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed here recently on a girls weekend away. We got a great deal on hotels.com and on arrival they upgraded us to a suite. The hotel is located 2 mins walk from the Marina and the beach.

The staff are friendly but the maids are very pushy. They insisted on barging in and cleaning our room despite the fact that we had the do not disturb sign on the door!

The breakfast buffet offered a great selection of hot and cold foods from eggs and bacon to fresh fruit and lots of different breads.

The rooms all have minibars and small balconies, but wifi is only available in the hotel's lobby.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Dom Pedro Marina and for sharing your kind opinions.
We were so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We assure you all your comments have received our fullest attention and sincerely hope to welcome you again.
Yours faithfully,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    480
    205
    37
    17
See reviews for
225
569
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We chose this Hotel as it was recommended by the tour operator for a nice relaxing short break on a budget. The Hotel was very nice and pleasent and very quiet which is what we wanted for a nice 7 day break, so first impressions were good. We decided to go Half board so we wouldnt have to worry about finding money for the breakfast & evening meals, and its lucky we did! The prices were rediculous. For example they charged £2.50 (2.50 euros which is now pretty much the same value) for a can of coke and £4.00 for a bread roll and butter!!! We couldn't believe it as the local supermarket were selling a can of coke a minutes walk away for 55 cents. Unfortunatley everywhere was pretty much the same so make sure even if you do go half board then you take plenty of Euros with you as the local hotels and Marina restaraunts were a Rip off. Do try a restaraunt calling Misour Frango's or Mr Chicken as this was 5 minutes walk from the hotel but done really nice piri piri chicken and these prices wernt so bad! Hense it was busy. The hotel Rooms were ok, clean but very basic but our room had a distinct smell of sewage coming from the sink in the toilet which was unpleasent so we had to shut the door at all times and keep the windows open as was horrific. As we went half board the food was ok for the first few days in the restaraunt however the menu was limited and u get a different menu being half board than the normal menu. This also didnt change at all so u was very limited to the same food which was average and not that good. Staff generally friendly however Restaraunt Manager (older fella in red coat) is obrupt and rude and u feel less important if you are half board. Plus had a common thing about shouting at his staff in the retaraunt while people were eaten in Portugease. Evening entertainment was very limited as had a tv in the corner with the local sport on and some Big footy games which wasnt to bad but all in portugease. However a guy came and played a keyboard for about an hour and that was about it. We couldnt even drink much as a beer or glass of wine was 6 euros and a coffee was 5 euros = rip off. The Marina was beautiful and lovely Boats. Very calm and quiet but with some good bars. Overall we had a nice break in the Sun but we will not be coming back here in a hurry and after 4 days we wanted to come home.

Room Tip: Visit Sinour Frango's restaraunt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not in keeping with your expectations. We were surprised about the smell in your room and the restaurant manager’s attitude and would like to apologize for this. We will try to find out what really happened and will make sure that this won’t happen again. The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes to prevent such guest dissatisfaction. However, I would like to assure you that this unbelievable and unpleasant experience doesn’t reflect our usual standards and our daily mission to serve our guests. In the meanwhile I have shared already all the negative points mentioned with our leadership team to understand what went wrong.
Please accept our best regards.
Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Overall happy with the hotel. Fairly spacious room with balcony. Would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in room. Good breakfast, lots of choice but had to queue. Staff friendly, good location for the marina as it's just opposite.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review and comments.
We were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our staff and service. That is our daily’s mission.

We will take in consideration your suggestion and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We moved to this hotel from another, because the other was booked for us and we hated its showhousep pretentiousness. And it is so nice to wake up and see immediately that you are actually in Portugal and not some indescript characterless clinic of a hotel. The room is comfortable and has a nice views over the marina and beyond (5th floor). Rooms are easy (and logical) to find (unlike the other hotel), comfortable with nice local character without going OTT.
We liked the Portuguese character of the place; the reception staff was polite, helpful and served us with a smile always.
The service staff was also friendly and obliging. English is spoken by most members of staff. The bar staff was attentive but not intrusive and would gladly involved you in conversation (mostly English heard) if you wish.
The hotel has all required amenities, nice "informal" welcoming pool (which unfortunately we couldn't use because of the cold and rain). The ground floor was well laid out and there are plenty of quiet corners in the lounge/bar area where you could sit and enjoy a quiet conversation if you wish. I also enjoyed the WiFi facility in this area, although I wish it could have been available in our room. Nice choice of light classical or Latin music is piped throughout the day and in the evening a keyboard musician entertains you to light music.
Breakfast is plentiful; your used plates and cutlery are quickly cleared and typically a new set is in place by the time you return to your table with your next course. There is a rich variety of cereal, whole nuts, cheeses, hams (including local varieties), and full English breakfast is also available (minus the fried bread).
My only gripe (slight one though) would be that the bacon was overcooked, and I think they could improve on this. Being streaky (not back) bacon, it was typically cooked to the point of being tough and chewy, whereas it could have been "frazzled" for crispness or less-cooked for tenderness. Or it could be both. The kitchen was also careful enough to include egg suitable for lacto-vegetarians. Also think perhaps that plain soft fried egg would have been welcomed.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and have no hesitation in recommending it to anybody who wants a good hotel with a bit of the local character, great views and courteous service from all staff.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with -06 have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flixton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were delighted that your experience in Vilamoura was amazing.

Your description from our staff and services is excellent and we have no doubt that this review will be a huge help for all the travelers around the world.

The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes and keep with your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We remain now and always at your service.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I have been to Dom Pedro Marina for the last ten years for at least a week each time and have never left feeling, 'it could have been better'. The hotel is one of the older ones, but is comfortable in its size, and the fact it is not over-run with children and kiddies clubs is attractive. The staff have always been attentive but not intrusive. A medical emergency that could have been a nasty experience, was dealt with by the reception staff admirably, their help in getting me to a specialist could not be faulted. I have read the negative comments on this site about DPM, but can honestly say, we have always enjoyed our stay. The breakfast is a huge variety, similar each day, but enough for most people to choose from and it is possible to ask for something different to be cooked if you wish. I intend returning again this September.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JunieGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback from your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to know that you had an enjoyable time at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel and that the service and our staff exceeded your expectations.

Please accept our best regards and we look forward to welcoming you back in September.

We remain now and always at your service.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

we stayed here for one week. hotel was very clean. rooms were very clean,mini bar in room also. location is great as only a few minutes walk from Marina.as we had a hire car, hotel was no more then 10 minutes drive from the golf courses we played. the hotel however does arrange a shuttle bus if required. the restaurant was very clean and easily laid out. breakfast was a choice of hot or cold foods, cereal, toast etc. tea, coffee and juice was readily available. evening meal was delicious and a great choice of food. pool area was very clean and tidy. pool looked to be very clean although i the didn't use it as a bit too chilly.
only down side that i can say is that they are doing a lot of work to the pavements and road outside the hotel at the present time. although this is an inconvenience when you want to leave the hotel it will not spoil your holiday. you can hear some noise if sat by the pool but none if in your room. they don't start work too early or finish too late. the hotel does have on site parking but limited spaces. a great restaurant in the marina is restaurant mariscada. they offer a great menu with plenty of choice for everyone. excellent customer service. highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumovone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We have been visiting Vilamoura twice a year for the last 5 years. We have stayed at most of the Vilamoura hotels, this is one of the better ones, staff were great and could not do enough to make our stay brill. Location could not be better a 5 minute walk gets you to almost anywhere around the Marina. Group of 12 golfers from all walks of life and of different ages all said they would return for the next trip. Please do not let the negative reviews put you of the Dom Pedro Marina, try it and you will enjoy it !!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richyrich029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,598 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Property: Dom Pedro Marina
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing