We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and location”
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and location”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a great hotel, well worth the money and spot on for 4 star. I will keep this review factual with info I would find helpful in choosing Dom Pedro and Vilamoura itself.

Dom Pedro Location:
25 mins in taxi from airport
1 min walk to Marina 
1 min walk to beach.

Good points:
Location next to marina
Staff - excellent service and polite
Room cleaned daily - Very efficient air con
Bathroom - refreshingly clean and modern
Breakfast - good variety, could always find a table, never ran out of anything
For later departures they have luggage room and shower room for use
Free wifi in lobby (not in rooms)

Bad points:
No iron available - take your own
Pool was clean and inviting but quite small for amount of guest
Not enough sun beds for amount of guests
Sun beds were 'taken' with towels by 7.30am
Bed had hard mattress

Marina:
Fantastic - huge, loads to see and packed with restaurants, only a few bars.
If you want to listen to live music and late drinks I recommend 19th Hole bar, in-house live band 'Swithas' does not get better than these guys. Great night out. Drinks are £4.50 for spirit and mixer.
Endless restaurants at the marina, good steaks and seafood especially. This is not a cheap night out, average main meal £15-25 and wine £17 bottle. Great setting and worth it.

Beach:
Beach is just 1 min walk, beautiful long sandy beach as with all beaches in the Algarve. Very clean, sun beds available but be aware they are very expensive to hire. Cafe/Bar is pricey but is there if you require it. Very clean and modern with a nautical feel.

Top tip:
Dom Pedro Marina is part of Dom Pedro chain, where you can use the other hotels facilities, there are 3 hotels within 2 mins walk of each other. Because the DP Marina had small pool and not enough beds, we walked to DP Golf resort each day after breakfast, it is 4/5 star and fabulous! Fantastic large pool + childrens pool, loads of sun beds available, lovely breeze from beach, beautiful garden setting. Be aware drinks are expensive at £2.50 for coke and around £3 for small coffee. But this is the same at all hotels here.

I will definitely return to Vilamoura and would certainly try to get in to the Dom Pedro again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fleurgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to know that your experience in Vilamoura was amazing.

Your description from our staff and services is excellent and we have no doubt that this review will be a huge help for all the travelers around the world.

The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes and keep with your expectations. We will take in consideration your suggestions and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We remain now and always at your service.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    498
    215
    37
    18
See reviews for
238
595
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We have just returned from another fantastic holiday in Vilamoura staying at the Dom Pedro Marina. We have stayed at a number of hotels in Vilamoura but this time decided to try the Dom Pedro Marina and have to say this is our favourite. As some of the other reviews mention this isn't the most modern hotel in Vilamoura but I much prefer the comfortable, friendly, Portuguese character of this hotel to the clincial feel of the more modern hotels.
The lobby, restaurant and pool area are spotless, as are the roms, which are spacious with an excellent maid service on a daily basis. They also have very comfy beds :)
The restaurant is lovely with seating both inside and outside by the pool. There is plenty of choice for breakfast - lovely breads and pastries, meats and cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, cereal and yes, bacon and eggs for those Brits who can't cope without a fried breakfast!! Yeah the bacon isn't brilliant but have to say it's what I'd expect from a foriegn hotel and definitely isn't worth complaining about like some of the other reviews.
The location is perfect - 2 minutes walk in one direction and you're at the beach where you must visit the Buzios Beach Club (owned by Dom Pedro) for a gorgeous lunch!! 2 minutes in the other direction and you're at the marina which is full of lovely restaurants. They are not the cheapest but I think in most you get what you pay for and all the meals we had during our stay were fantastic. You must try Ostra D'Oura, up the side street by Old Navy Bar, opposite the Irish Bar it's amazing!!
Another bonus for us was on arrival, at around midday we were greated by very friendly reception staf and informed our room was available immediately. So by 1.30pm we were unpacked, changed and enjoying our first lunch in the marina.
I definitely recommend this hotel and I have already booked my holiday for next June, which is also my honeymoon, back at the Dom Pedro Marina.
Already countying down the months and can't wait to be back there! x

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vickycarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time spent sharing your excellent experience.

We were delighted to know that you had an amazing stay at Dom Pedro Marina.

Your description from our Hotel, services and staff is excellent. On behalf of the whole team, thank you for your lovely comments.

We look forward to have you again with us next June.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I'm currently staying at the Dom pedro Marina. We go home in a couple of days. The hotel claims to be 4 star and I can confirm that it's nowhere near 4 star. A few things you need to be careful of...

1 - there are not enough sun loungers for guests and when raised with the hotel the response was 'if they're taken, they're taken'

2 - breakfast is extremely poor and again not enough room for guests resulting in a cattle Market type atmosphere and long queues while you wait for a table and very poor selection of breakfast food

3 - the rooms, while clean, are very dated. I haven't had to thump a tv to get sound since I was a little girl. The shower is over an incredibly narrow bath - so narrow in fact that it's practically impossible to stand i in without putting one foot in front of the other!

4 - BEWARE OF THE GUEST SERVICES 'WELCOME MEETING' you may get a call from a sprightly guest services person inviting you to a 'welcome meeting' to give you information on vilamoura etc... THIS IS A SCAM TO ENTICE YOU INTO BUYING TIMESHARE. My husband and I foolishly believed the welcome meeting deception and went along. We were still there over 2 hours later while they showed us the 'amazing' accommodation we could expect if we signed up!! Again extremely dated. Having stayed in 4 and 5 star accommodation around the world needless to say we were not impressed!!

Having said that the pool itself is quite nice (if you can find the pool boy to get a towel) and vilamoura itself is absolutely beautiful. We'd definately come back to this resort but would not stay with Dom pedro Marina.

Having

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWBELFAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I was truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not in keeping with your expectations.
The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes to prevent such guest dissatisfaction. However, I would like to assure you that this unbelievable and unpleasant experience doesn’t reflect our usual standards and our daily mission to serve our guests.

We will take in consideration your suggestions and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

Please accept our best regards.
Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Have just returned from two glourious weeks. The Dom Pedro Marina is a lovely hotel, all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and plenty of sunbathing chairs around the pool. We stayed on half board, the breakfast was fine with plenty of choice, the evening meal was just ok starters of salads fine, puddings fine lots to choice from the only thing was the mains were luke warm but it was good value for the money you pay. We found ourselfs eating out most evenings but the prices are reasonable. We have absoutely no complaints about the hotel at all and was very happy with everything, so much so that we are thinking of returning again next year, hotel prices are good too.
Thank you to all staff who were wonderful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0and
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that you had an amazing stay at Dom Pedro Marina.

It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our Hotel, staff and service.

I will make sure that our staff receives your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We girls in our twenties stayed at this hotel for our girls holiday.

We were delighted with how clean the hotel was and the accommodation staff were excellent.
Bedrooms were a lovely size, very airy and provided air conditioning, ample wardrobe space, spacious bathrooms and great view from balcony, as we were on the 4th floor- we were delighted with the bedrooms.
The pool and out-door dining areas are very relaxed and the food lovely. Great variety for breakfast and two menus offered for lunch-upmarket or affordable, both equally as nice.
Location of the hotel is ideal with every amenity a five minute walk away-if even that!
A great perk the hotel offers is free internet service which comes in very handy.

We found the restaurant staff were fine, sometimes we felt service was too slow. When we would be seated and ignored by some members of staff. However, the older restaurant staff, one man in particular who appeared to be the restaurant manager (we have forgotten his name :( ) were excellent, charming and very attentive. On our arrival we did find ourselves again ignored by reception. One member of staff remained on the telephone for quite some time without acknowledging our presence, which after a long journey is extremely irritating. Reception staff in the back rooms occasionally popped out to the front but would also ignore us and potter back into the office, which after twenty minutes, we were not impressed. However, throughout the week we found reception helpful and friendly so we forgave them.

We would absolutely return to Dom Pedro Marina and also consider their partner hotels in other locations as we were pleasantly impressed with our stay.

TIPS:
There are three great restaurants in the area of Vilamoura which we highly recommend;
Dom Miguel Restaurant- you will find this opposite McDonalds, have the John Dory!! Staff are incredibly funny and friendly.
Mayflower- On the marina prom, was AMAZING! Pricier than others but our mouths are watering as we remember the Fillet Steak with Fois Gras and Chef's special sauce.
Yi Chi (i think thats the name) chinese restaurant; also on the marina prom it has water features along the front of the restaurant, you cant miss it. very well priced and great delicious portions to be enjoyed.
Hope this helps, wish we were there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the time spent sharing your excellent experience.

Your description from our Hotel, staff and services is excellent. On behalf of the whole team, thank you for your lovely comments.

We look forward to have you again in Dom Pedro Marina.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed in the Dom Pedro for a second time in the time of 8 months, great pool quite area people all nice staff very helpful, close to beach, casino and English bar will be returning in October to watch the golf in viamoura. It's clean and friendly

Room Tip: Ask for a double room with sea view but all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraybo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We were delighted to know that you had an amazing stay at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our staff and service. I will make sure that our staff receives your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back this coming November.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

stayed 16/6 - 30/6, enjoyed our stay mostly, with pleasant pool area and great central
location. Room 601 was very nice with nice view. Overall a nice relaxing hotel and enjoyed not having usual rugby scrums at meals. Booked half board and food was good
quality but, very limited choice. 1 fish, 1meat 1pasta every night. Also food was mainly
lukewarm and had to complain. Pricey safe charge at 41.50 euros for 2 weeks. Staff very
efficient and friendly. Tiles throughout which were very noisy late at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind opinions regarding your recent stay with us.

We are really pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes and keep with your expectations.

We will take in consideration your suggestions and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#15 of 36 in Vilamoura
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,651 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Property: Dom Pedro Marina
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing