We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dom pedro sunbed challenge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dom pedro sunbed challenge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have recently returned from Portugal staying at the Dom Pedro marina hotel at vilamoura marina, I had read reviews on trip advisor and all sounded good so we booked 7 days to relax in the sun
We normally do villas or self catering but thought it would be a nice change to have a nice breakfast made for us in the morning.
I like to be fair so I will mention the positive points first, the hotel is situated a couple of minutes walk from all the bars and restaurants of the marina, a lovely place to sit and have a snack and watch the boats coming and going. The hotel itself was clean and tidy and most of the staff was very friendly, we paid extra to get a marina/sea view room.
Unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positive.
We found the rooms small but adequate, a small mini bar was in the room so we were able to cool water, No tea making facilities are offered or indeed allowed in the room, and there were on 2 plug sockets, both of which were being used by the TV and a lamp...
We were constantly kept awake by the music from the bars which went on till 3-4am every morning and the drunken shouting of club goes as they emptied out at about 6.30 am
Don’t even try to get a sun bed after 9.00 am, as they are all reserved with the customary towel. Even though on the first day we were presented by the management with a letter stating that towels do not denote ownership of the bed and that they have employed a pool man to remove any such offending items, I watched and filmed on many occasions the same man lay out towels for people and then happily watch them disappear for the day, Poor show don pedro!
Breakfast, when you did not have to queue, was reasonable, with a selection of hot and cold buffet style food, with coffee and fruit juices, finding a seat was however another matter!.
A word of advice, the hotel is surrounded by large trees and bushes, so you need to be in a room above the 3rd floor to get any view of the marina or sea.
Be prepared to spend your money at the restaurants in the area with a cover charge of 2-3 euro per person, and average beer prices at 4 euro.
I feel like I need a holliday!

Room Tip: if you book , ask for a room above the third floor above the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

We were truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not in keeping with your expectations although you find the Hotel clean and the staff friendly.

We hope that you can visit us again so we have the opportunity to change your opinion and you can enjoy your holidays.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    432
    197
    36
    17
See reviews for
201
521
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed int he Dom Pedro in June and had the most fantastic stay, room exceptional, reception staff excellent. Food was lovely, variety plenty. The area around the marina was fabulous. The whole stay was brillian from start to finish, and we are planning to return in the very near future and have reccomended this hotel and area to numerous people.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Marina and for the time spent sharing your experience.

We were delighted to know that you had a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for your lovely comments and for recommending Dom Pedro Marina.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel situated within a few minutes walk of the gorgeous marina and the beach. Our room was a really good size with nice bathroom and small balcony. The buffet breakfast was lovely and you could sit outside if you wanted to. The evening meal was also buffet but the choice was good each evening. The soup was amazing every evening and the main is a choice of fish, meat and pasta. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were well cleaned every day.
The marina area is lovely to stroll around with loads of different bars to sit in and shops to visit although these are quite expensive.
The beach areas are lovely and the weather was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandRTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments.

We were delighted to know that you had an amazing stay with us.

It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our Hotel, staff and service. That is our daily’s mission. On behalf of the whole team, a big thank you!

It will be a pleasure to have you as our guest again at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast England
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We arrived at 11:00am and the room wasn't ready (we'd already waited a while as there was only one person on reception) When asked when it would be ready we were told "not sure, come back about 14:00 and we'll check then" Not the best start. However, after a stroll around the marina we returned to pick up our room keys and were helped by a very polite "bell hop" who showed us to the room and explained all of the amenities. We also recieved a letter from the management which stated that " it is not permitted to reserve sunbeds with the towels, any so reserved will be removed" This alieviated one of my concerns raised by previous trip advisor reviews and confirmed the stance of the management which was also noted in a previous review. We ate out in the town the first evening at Miguels (see my review) Great place.
Next morning we went down to breakfast at 09:20 (served from 07:30 - 10:00) had to queue for a while and were directed to a table at the far end of the restuarant despite asking to sit out on the terrace, the waiter was off-hand and did not take any notice of our requests. The hot food was inedible and the cold buffet was rather disappointing, though adequate (tinned fruit in Portugal?) We went to breakfast at 8:30 from then on and it was a more pleasant experience with a choice of tables (outside too!) The dining area cannot cope with the number of guests being too small and poorly laid out.
I must say everywhere was very clean and the majority of staff were polite and friendly. Our room overlooked the sea and the pool area and the balcony, though very small was adequate and great for a glass of wine before going out for dinner. The down side of this location is that the hotel opposite runs beach parties most nights which means up to about 2-3 in the morning there is loud music and then, from 3 until 7 in the morning we were plagued by noisy crowds of revelleers going home, shouting, screaming and clapping all serenaded by car horns being sounded. On our last morning ambulances were called and there was even more noise (I feel I should point out that the revellers were not English but I believe Portuguese, from the language I could plainly hear!)
We found it impossible to sleep most nights as the door to the balcony provided little or no sound proofing so we spent our afternoons catching up on sleep!
Finally, remember the towels on sunbeds issue.... The rules are completely ignored and in fact, the hotel's pool attendant actually helped people put the beds out and place their towels before waving them good bye for the morning, ridiculous (see photo's appended)

Positives:
Well placed for the Marina and the local bus stop for Faro and the rest of the Algarve
Clean and tidy and the majority of staff were helpful and friendly
Near the beach
The supply of towels for use by the pool is a good resource

Negatives:
Average room, smallish for a 4* hotel
Below average breakfast for a 4* hotel
The incredible amount of noise on the beach side of the hotel making sleep a luxury
Sunbeds being reserved by towels
Plus the old chestnuts of charges for Wi-Fi in the room and for the use of the safe (2.25 Euro per day plus 10 euro deposit)

Summary, a disappointing stay and one I will not be repeating

Room Tip: Try a room at the back of the Hotel it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veteran_traveller041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I was truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not in keeping with your expectations although you find the Hotel clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I will make sure that the team is aware of your compliments.

Just like to point out that the check-in time it 's from 02 p.m., and our breakfast is a rich buffet with hot and cold food and I really regret that you were not satisfied with it.

We have taken a good note of your comments and I am confident that upon a next occasion we will be able to achieve all your expectations.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

we stayed at the Dom Pedro marina in july for a week, the staff were excellent, so friendly and helpful, the food was lovely and plenty of it, the pool area is small but clean and relaxing, rooms are clean well maintained and big enough. the beach and fabulous marina is a 2 minute walk away with fantastic restaurants, the only point i would make is it would be an advantage if there were a kettle in the rooms, and some more pool beds, as they all seemed to be taken by 8am!! but i certainly would go back and would recomend the Hotel to anyone, so a big thank you to the staff at Dom Pedro for making our week so relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: ask for a high room to have lovley views of marina or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that your experience with us was amazing. On behalf of the whole team, a big thank you for your lovely comments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Alexandra Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned from this hotel after spending 5 nights there with my two adult daughters and 6 month old Grandson. We stayed in a fabulous junior suite with glorious views of the beach and marina. The suite was clean and spacious. The breakfast was ok but the set up of the food area was a little restricting when busy. The staff were all friendly and lovely with my grandson, however we had one major sticking point/complaint. We were on the 7th floor and for the 3 middle nights of our holiday we endured horrendous disturbance from the penthouse above. Their first night they played music so loudly it was as though we were inside a nightclub, this went on until 2am. The receptionist sent the porter up to ask the guests to turn the music down, this was approximately midnight and was to no avail. I spoke to the reception the next day and was told 'oh, that would be the penthouse - the people spend a lot of money and think that they can do what they want' To say I was furious is an understatement. We are not rich, we saved hard for our 5 days break which was much needed, and three of those nights were adversely affected by the 'rich party young adults' very disappointing. I realise its hard for the staff to deal with these people but we deserved as much respect and the response left a bitter taste I'm afraid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Marina and for the time spent sharing your recent experience.
We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the suite and friendliness of the staff.
We really regret for the inconvenience but I can assure that this unpleasant experience doesn’t reflect our usual standards and our daily mission to serve our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies.
We will take in consideration your suggestions and we will look in to it very carefully, it’s always very important to us to have guest’s feedback.
We are confident that in a next occasion we will be able to exceed all of your expectations.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we really hope this unfortunate incident will not be the reason for us to have you as our guests in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Travelled 23rd June and stayed here for two weeks. Its our third time at this hotel. The staff remembered us and made us feel at home straight away, really friendly and helpful. They really are nice people. As for other comments re the towels, yes it is true people do get up at 7am and put towels on the chairs for the day whether they use the pool area or not, this I am afraid is holiday makers for you and many people think if you cant beat them join them, you get this is many places. The hotel is clean, warm and friendly. Breakfast is very good compared to other hotels we have stayed in and for the money you pay it is excellent. The rooms are very clean. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel, helpful and friendly staff, good location and relaxation then this is the hotel to stay. Would we go back for a fourth time ... Yes. We would strongly recommend this hotel on a B/B basis.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0and
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for keep choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel and for sharing your kind opinions regarding your recent stay with us.

Your compliments to our staff and services are very welcome. On behalf of the whole team, thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the fourth time.

It’s always a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Yours sincerely

Alexandra Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Property: Dom Pedro Marina
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing