We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent attention to detail at Dom Pedro Marina”
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent attention to detail at Dom Pedro Marina”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dom Pedro Marina and would return. A Very personable hotel situated in an excellent location within 5 minutes walk to the Marina where you will find shops,bars and restaurants. We stayed on floor 3 with a marina view which was ideal for us as the sun stayed on the balcony until 8pm at night. The room itself was very basic but extremely clean with towels and bedding being changed everyday if you decided you wanted to. In the room there was a mini bar, fridge, hair dryer and TV. We were bed and breakfast which was great as we enjoy our evening meals around the Marina where you could eat out for two for 50e including a few drinks. Around the Marina it is a little bit more expensive to eat out but well worth it.We enjoyed Figo's bar in the day, Nosolo italia (Always busy), ZU YI Chinese and a Thai opposite McDonald's. You could find cheaper places to eat off the beaten track. Our breakfast was nice with a variety to chose from fruit , cereal, pastries or hot food bacon, eggs, sausage, mushrooms, beans etc. Around the pool area it was again very clean with towels and sun loungers provided for you. We never had to wait for a sun lounger but saying that it does get busy around the pool but not hectic and you should always be able to get a sun lounger. The grounds are well maintained and unique with plenty of space to relax. Even though kids are allowed at this hotel you wouldn't even know that they are there!

Room Tip: Go for high floor room. Excellent lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jas1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Marina and for the time spent sharing your recent experience.

We were delighted to know that you had an excellent stay with us and thank you very much for your lovely comments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    496
    214
    37
    18
See reviews for
236
594
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The hotel is ideally situated to the marina where the shops and restaurants are - its walking distance.
When we arrived at the hotel we were upgraded to the presidential suite - the room was really nice with its own jacuzzi on the terrace which overlooked the marina and what a beautiful view.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Vilamoura is a beautiful place and I would like to go there again.
I would certainly recommend hotel to family / friends.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments.

We were delighted to know that you had an amazing stay with us.

It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our Hotel, staff and service. That is our daily’s mission. On behalf of the whole team, a big thank you!

It will be a pleasure to have you as our guest again at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very courteous and helpful. The hotel has a nice view over the beach and the gardens and pool are very pleasant to sit out in. We did not find the traffic noise by the pool to be obtrusive and there were plenty of loungers. For us the major minus was the food. The breakfast was OK quality wise but choice was limited. Dinner was well cooked but rather plain and unadventurous and choice was again limited. The salad buffet starter could have fitted on our breakfast table and the main course was a choice of two unless you went for the a la carte menu not included in our package.This of course may suit many but it was not for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Dom Pedro Marina and for your feedback regarding your stay.

We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel and our helpful staff. But we really regret that you were not satisfied with your meals.

We hope that you can visit us again so we have the opportunity to change your opinion and you can enjoy entirely your holidays.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at the Dom Pedro Marina hotel for 10 nights in late July 2012 staying in a Senior Suite on the fifth floor as a family of four.
Location / Resort: The Dom Pedro Marina is situated right on Vilamoura marina so ideal for immediate access to both the beach and the marina facilities. Whilst a pleasant area to walk around, we found Vilamoura to be a little manufactured for our own taste with the marina being very much wall to wall restaurants of all cuisines (chinese, indian etc rather than traditional portuguese!) with very little in terms of traditional shops and portuguese heritage. We were also surprised to see within the marina area and vicinity a sex shop and lap dancing clubs. Whilst travelling on excursions, we saw much more of the traditional Algarve we had expected. There does appear to be a number of all night clubs close to this and other hotels and whilst we only on occasion heard noise from this (due to I believe the room size and location we were in) from speaking to other guests this was a definite concern being raised and this noise appeared to be coming from Portuguese revellers rather than other holidaymakers. Similarly to other reviewers, we also saw the two portuguese men sleeping in the middle of the street at 7am whilst waiting for an excursion pick up which is not a good advert for the resort whatsoever. Whilst waiting for a separate excursion pick up, we also saw groups of revellers as late as 7:45 waiting for taxis clearly the worse for wear, reeking of alcohol and having vomited. Whilst this is outside the immediate control of the hotel, the Vilamoura authorities/police need to take action to eliminate this.
Accommodation: We researched the hotel room facilities ahead of travelling and booked a senior suite as we wanted to ensure that we had a good size room with beds for our teenage children as well as us rather than a sofa bed which some other rooms had. The Senior Suite had 2 separate bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a very large sun deck with sea view, side balcony and ample living/dining, wardrobe and storage space. Overall, I would highly recommend these rooms and whilst there are only 16 of these in the hotel, the much larger room and facilities provided really make the stay more enjoyable and I suspect protected us from the noise issues some other guests were advising as being experienced.
Food: Both the breakfast, a la carte restaurant and evening buffet was of an excellent standard. Whilst our preference was to enjoy the continental breakfast on offer, which was very good, guests keen to enjoy an english breakfast will be disappointed as this was limited and did not look appetising. We ate in the a la carte restaurant a number of times in the day and found this to be of a very good quality and reasonable value. The evening meal whilst buffet was of a very good standard with a meat and fish selection which was never repetitive even into our second week.
Staff at hotel: All staff were very pleasant and accommodating; the waiters in particular were very attentive and accommodating.
Pool area/sunbeds: The surrounding grassed area within the pool area was pleasant to sunbathe in although quite crowded; whilst the pool was small it was never overcrowded. However, the hotel need to review their sunbed situation as unfortunately if you did not secure a sunbed first thing you would not gain one and this meant you could never really have a relaxing lie in, which was a very negative point having to get up to do so and particularly for those holidaymakers experiencing additional noise issues during the night.

Room Tip: Book a senior suite on a high floor especially good value if travelling in a group of floor. Whilst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yugioh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Marina and for the time spent sharing your recent experience.

We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in a senior suite and that you have appreciated your meals in our restaurant.

Our team is always pleased to provide to our guests a pleasant stay and we feel grateful to receive your compliments.

We hope to welcome you in a near future.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is our fourth time of staying here and once again we were not disappointed with it. The room was as good as ever the cleanliness and the staff as attentive as usual. We are mixed ages and yet we all agree that this offers something for everyone and will definitely be going back again.The staff without exception were great and restaurant manager as always running a very good restaurant even if breakfast is very busy.(I think this is because everyone decides to go late to breakfast as on holiday but there is always enough for everyone) keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for keep choosing Dom Pedro Marina. It is this kind of reviews and feedback that give us an extra motivation.

We are really pleased to learn that you had always such an enjoyable stay with us.

We are definitely looking forward to your next visit to Dom Pedro Marina and will do our utmost to make your next stay as, or even more, enjoyable than your last one.

Kind Regards

Alexandra Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel last July and I wrote a mainly positive review, so much so that we decided to return this year....unfortunately this proved to be a bad idea. We booked through Jet2.com and the trouble started almost immediately on arrival at Faro airport (I have never seen a more disorganised airport in 40 years of travel). I am disabled and my wife has shoulder muscle problems. We directed to a minibus at least 300 metres across a very hot car park pushing a trolley of heavy baggage with no help from the driver who strode on ahead. When we arrived at the hotel we were dumped across a busy main road 100 metres up a slope from the hotel entrance...although there was a driveway right up to the hotel door the driver refused to take us there.
I had requested a high floor room and paid extra for a room with sea view....we arrived at about 12.30...the room was not available and nobody knew when it would be....on top of this the room we had been allocated was first floor from which the sea is not visible. Complaints produced a sickly smile from the desk clerk but no action....we finally got access to the room at 2.40 hot and tired and had to wait 24 hours to be moved to the 5th floor.Incidentally I brought all this to the attention of Jaoao, the Jet2 rep who attempted to laugh it all off until I insisted on writing a formal complaint to Jet2...strangely after that we never saw him again for the 9 days we were there.
To help my limited mobility I hired a car ( as I had done last year) but found no space in the very small car park having to virtually always park on the street outside....as I have a blue badge this cost me nothing though without it the parking charges were hefty and operated 8am to midnight every day.....car hirers take note. Last year I had suggested setting one place aside for disabled parking, this had not been done and the desk clerk responded to my query as to why not with the immortal line...."because we don't have to"...not very customer friendly.

At least we could look forward to a rest and a good night's sleep after out journey...not so...the mega club Purobeach, situated about 400 metres away from the main entrance now has an all night licence and the very loud music plus shouting and yelling from clubgoers went on all night, every night...one morning we awoke to find two guys passed out on the pavement after both had vomited (see photo). One family in desperation asked to be moved to the back of the hotel but there was little improvement as this proved to be the gathering place for the hordes before going on to the club. Complaints to the hotel produced the now familiar shrug of the shoulders and sickly smile with a "what can we do?"

So at least a relax by the pool and a swim would compensate.....yes , providing you were out with your towels to bag a sunbed by 8.30am at the very latest, otherwise you had no chance as the number of sunbeds provided by the hotel is woefully inadequate for the number of guests in peak season....this proved to be a real problem for some guests who were forced to set up camp on the cafe chairs.

Do I have any positives about the Dom Pedro? well yes....apart from the reception staff, notable a guy called Luis the one with the sickly smile...the other staff were very friendly and helpful....special mention must go to Jose Lopez.whose dry wit and sense of humour provided many a chuckle. Breakfast was fine and particularly enjoyable if you took an outside table by the pool. Room facilities were basic but adequate though the air con in our room (515) struggled in the afternoon. The location, near the Marina is cited by many as a plus point but not for us on the receiving end as we were of Purobeach.
This hotel was overfaced in high season with a high number of guests that it didn't have adequate facilities to deal with...I'm sure it would be much more pleasant in say June or September Entertainment in the evening was virtually non existent....man plus key board at best.
As we had a car we went out most days (avoiding the rip off tours peddled by the rep at the welcome meeting)..and explored the area which has a great deal to offer see my other reviews)

To sum up this is a hotel with some plus points but a rather cavalier attitude to the welfare of its guests, content to sell rooms relatively cheaply through UK operators and achieve high capacity without seeing the need to invest in improved facilities...as ever you get what you pay for. We won't be going back , even at a rock bottom price.

Room Tip: Rear facing room with low floor if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaplainsRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

We are truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not in keeping with your expectations but we realize that everything went wrong since your arrival at the airport and some other situations that have happened outside the hotel in which we can not be held responsible.

The comments posted are always very important to us in order to review our processes to prevent such guest dissatisfaction.

We really hope this unpleasant experience will not be the reason to have you as our guest in the future.

Kind regards.

Alexandra Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have recently returned from Portugal staying at the Dom Pedro marina hotel at vilamoura marina, I had read reviews on trip advisor and all sounded good so we booked 7 days to relax in the sun
We normally do villas or self catering but thought it would be a nice change to have a nice breakfast made for us in the morning.
I like to be fair so I will mention the positive points first, the hotel is situated a couple of minutes walk from all the bars and restaurants of the marina, a lovely place to sit and have a snack and watch the boats coming and going. The hotel itself was clean and tidy and most of the staff was very friendly, we paid extra to get a marina/sea view room.
Unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positive.
We found the rooms small but adequate, a small mini bar was in the room so we were able to cool water, No tea making facilities are offered or indeed allowed in the room, and there were on 2 plug sockets, both of which were being used by the TV and a lamp...
We were constantly kept awake by the music from the bars which went on till 3-4am every morning and the drunken shouting of club goes as they emptied out at about 6.30 am
Don’t even try to get a sun bed after 9.00 am, as they are all reserved with the customary towel. Even though on the first day we were presented by the management with a letter stating that towels do not denote ownership of the bed and that they have employed a pool man to remove any such offending items, I watched and filmed on many occasions the same man lay out towels for people and then happily watch them disappear for the day, Poor show don pedro!
Breakfast, when you did not have to queue, was reasonable, with a selection of hot and cold buffet style food, with coffee and fruit juices, finding a seat was however another matter!.
A word of advice, the hotel is surrounded by large trees and bushes, so you need to be in a room above the 3rd floor to get any view of the marina or sea.
Be prepared to spend your money at the restaurants in the area with a cover charge of 2-3 euro per person, and average beer prices at 4 euro.
I feel like I need a holliday!

Room Tip: if you book , ask for a room above the third floor above the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

We were truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not in keeping with your expectations although you find the Hotel clean and the staff friendly.

We hope that you can visit us again so we have the opportunity to change your opinion and you can enjoy your holidays.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,648 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Property: Dom Pedro Marina
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing