We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's that smell?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone. UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What's that smell?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

Just got back from our weeks golf break at Vilamoura. We chose Dom pedro marina because it was cheap to stay there. Now i know why.
1. Our room stunk (not of man farts). I think the drains were backing up and we had a smell of sewage in there most of the time. Being men we didn't bother changing rooms just put up with it.
2. The safe didn't work at all. All they could do was offer us was our money back. We had to use a mates safe.
3.The beer was so dear 4 euro a pint.
4. Buffet breakfast was ok as long as all you wanted was coffee. The hot food wasn't up to much. If you want nice brekkie go opposite to the cafe next to the super market can't remember the name.

Now I don't usually moan so i'll tell you some of the pluses. None to do with the hotel i'm afraid.
We didn't play any bad courses whilst there but Vilamoura old course was truly great as was Vale de Lobo's Ocean course. Give the royal a miss because of the local works, like playing golf across a building site. Pick of the bunch for me was Vila sol. Excellent.

If you are out drinking go to Galaxia between 7 and 9 for two for one drinks, lizzy the barmaid has a lovely set to examine whilst you drink. Out of hotel entrance turn right 200 metres on right. After that go to the second square behind marina and visit The sports bar for a cheap [-] up. Philippe makes great cocktails. Stay clear of the Absinthe tho.Trashed me. If you want to watch the footie get in The 19th hole on the marina. Great atmosphere, good beer and tv's everywhere.

All in all venue was great for golfers but wouldn't take my family there.

  • Liked — Free transfers to most local golf courses was great
  • Disliked — Strange smell in room....
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    442
    200
    37
    18
See reviews for
210
532
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

we booked this hotel whist we were in vilamoura as the apartments we were staying in were empty.We were given a suite on the third floor.The suite was very clean and and had two bathrooms which were spotless.The staff were very friendly and professional.The buffett breakfast was more than adequate and catered for all tastes,My only complaint was regarding the ignorant people playing golf in their rooms as the noise from the balls running across the tiled floors was beyond a joke.This was not the hotels fault but a notice in reception asking guests to refrain from this activity would not go amiss.Nice clean hotel well worth a visit.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spurgles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelo Branco, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

I have just arrived from the hotel and i must say that i expected much more.
The loby and the bar were ok but when i got to my room it was horrible.
It smell like an ashtray, it look very old and ugly and no matter how clean it was it didn´t look like(smell!) clean.
We ask for another room and they give us a suite room(2 bedrooms, 2 wc´s and a siting room)
It was a bit better but it is not worth staying there.
The staff very nice and helpfull
Vilamoura have much better hotels and this one have to have a renovation very soon.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miataPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights with a group of friends. The rooms are very dated and spartan. Very clean, but no amenities. Tile floors make the rooms seem very cold. We had a suite(!); two king size beds -- one was in the bedroom (which was barely larger than the bed) and one filled up the room where you would expect a sofa & maybe an easy chair. There was barely room to walk around it. The sliding closet doors hadn't worked correctly in a long time - one didn't work at all. A long narrow window gave a peak view of the water which is a couple of blocks away. The other windows had views out over the trash dumpsters and the back street.

Internet access if you brought a laptop was available only in the lobby lounge & the bar; there were few electrical outlets and not convenient tables/chairs for such.

The location is very convenient to the marina -- just a couple of blocks walk -- where there are many restaurants and some shops.

  • Liked — proximity to marina
  • Disliked — most everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deapackedandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

We have just returned from a week's stay and were very impressed with the hotel. When checking in, we were fortunate to be upgraded to a senior suite on the 5th floor with sea view which consisted of two double bedrooms, two bathrooms, two balconies and a big lounge area. One of the balconies was enormous with a great sea view and had a wooden dining table set with cushions on the four chairs plus two reclining chairs - heaven! On about the third day we noticed the televisions were not working, however, we did not complain but on returning to our room in the afternoon we had been left a complementary tea tray, bottle of port, basket of fruit, extra toiletries, and two bath robes. The tea tray and fruit were re-filled each day! The hotel was very clean and the rooms cleaned to a high standard every day with fresh towels etc.

We found the buffet breakfast to be excellent, always fresh with plenty of choice. The hotel staff were always very helpful and friendly. There were plenty of sun beds available - probably because most people were off golfing. The pool was very clean but cold!

The hotel was in an excellent position - two minutes walk from both the marina and the beach. There were many excellent places to eat both around the marina and in the little squares at the back. The Mayflower restaurant on the marina was very good and is obviously very popular.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel but realise that we were very lucky to have been upgraded.

  • Liked — Excellent suite and balcony
  • Disliked — Cold Pool
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MCB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

The location next to the Marina is the best selling feature for this hotel. We had a 6th floor room overlooking the beach/sea.
The room was very clean with a small balcony. The bathroom was also very clean but not what we would call 4 star.
Safe was in the room and available at a small cost.
Towels were available from reception for use on the sun loungers which were comfortable and plentiful at this time of year. If most residents had not been on the golf course there would have been a shortage.

Breakfast was completely self service down to tea and coffee.
Fruit juice, fruit. scrambled egg , bacon,cheeses, rolls, toast,
pastries,baked beans were there every day. Although there was a good choice of cereals they were of very poor quality.
With a little bit of effort breakfast could have been so much better.
An ommlette counter , boiled eggs and better quality cereals for example.
With a good selection of quality restaurants at the marina most residents ate out.

Vilamoura was lovely and the price was about average for 4 star .
Most of the residents were in groups of golfers and for them the location near the courses was excellent.
All in all good but not great!!

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Fodd quality
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Milvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

The hotel needs updating, the ceramic on the bath was patchy, the decor in the rooms was in need of a refresh and a lick of paint.

The most disappointing aspect was the unhelpful reception. We had to fend for ourselves on the buses after they didn't know where they stopped, was extremely reluctant to change 20 euros and failed to get a taxi for quoted time to the airport (and seriously underestimated the cost). The bar staff on the other hand were more than helpful.

Doubt we would stay there again despite good location and use of partner facilities.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank regtrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Property: Dom Pedro Marina
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing