We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star in my book - but worth considering none-the-less”
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Despite it not being a 4 star (in my eyes) I would still recommend you considering this hotel if you are staying in Vilamoura and the rates meet your needs. The hotel has reasonable facilities and is generally clean and tidy. The staff do a good job to make you welcome and as other reviewers have stated, the big plus point for the hotel is the location - as it is only a few hundred metres from both the beach and the marina.

We stayed B&B as we wanted to try the many and varied restaurants in the local area (see reviews on trip advisor - but the best we ate at was the nearest. Restaurante Vilamoura at the base of the Dom Pedro Portobelo. Newly opened and top quality fare at very reasonable prices).

Back to the hotel. Rooms are reasonable size but a little tired and we had to get the cleaners to return to ours to bring it up to spec - in fairness to the hotel they rushed completion to let us in early. They provided hangers after all our clothes ended up on the floor the first night after their (non-hook type) hangers all failed! They also changed the broken chair on our balcony quickly.

The rooms are a little tired and in ours the toilet seat and shower hose needed replacing (fed back to the management).

Our room was twin bedded and whilst one was fine the other was lumpy and the feet uneven so you rocked if you moved too much. A couple of coasters soon sorted.

Our room was a Sea View - I'd argue more a pool view although it was true that you could see the sea - over the tops of the tree's. Good morning sun on balcony.

Room has safe (fee and deposit required), mini-bar (bit pricey) and old style CRT TV (Good selection of channels inc. BBC World Service).

Breakfast was usual fare - good choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, etc. Hot food (rarely was) included scrambled egg, bacon, beans, etc. More than enough to set you up for the day. Very impressed with the staff on breakfast 'duty' - fantastic work ethic.

Room Tip: High floor end rooms come at a premium for good reason - they are the best.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel and that our staff provided a good service.

The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes and keep with your expectations.

We will take in consideration your suggestions and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
There are newer reviews for Dom Pedro Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Once again had a fantastic time at the Dom Pedro Marina. Such a friendly hotel, everything pristine. This is an extremely well run chain of hotels with staff who really care about making sure that you are completely happy with everything. It may not be the most modern and stylish place but it has a homely feel to it. Plenty of sun beds in May/june but why do people need to reserve them at 8.00 am??
Many thanks to Head waiter who couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast super, lots of choice. Great to be able to eat outside for both breakfast and dinner in the evening. Loved the fish dishes in the evening.
Will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nozza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and for keep choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that you had once more a fantastic time and that you've enjoyed your breakffast and dinner.
I will make sure that our staff receives your compliments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Vilamoura.

The hotel has good facilities (dining,swimming pool, Jacuzzi, etc) and is very clean- it deserves its 4 star grading. I travelled with my family and therefore booked a family room which was pleasingly very spacious and with a good view. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Above all, the main plus point for the hotel is the location as it is literally yards from the beach and the marina.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandS1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for recommending Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that you had a great stay with us. It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our Hotel, staff and service.

We look forward to welcome you again in a nearest future.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Lovely reception & pool area. Only a few minutes walk to the Marina.

Rooms are nice & clean the annoying thing is about the rooms are the floors are tiled rather than carpeted so people above you sound very noisy especially if women are walking around in their heels.

No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms or iron.

Wasn't to impressed with the breakfast, no sausages & they don't always have fried/poached eggs, they are hard boiled.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraxwazNewcatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion from your recent stay with us.

I really hope that you had a nice stay with us but I was truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not totally in keeping with your expectations. I will take in consideration your suggestions and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

Regarding the breakfast, I can’t agree with you, because we have always simple scrambled eggs and sausages and we have as well, every day, four different hot dishes such as bacon, meatballs, beans, roasted tomates, mixed scrambled eggs, fried eggs, etc.,etc.

It will be a pleasure to have you as our guest again.

Kind regards.
Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I would like to thank the hotel staff for their excellent after service, I returned from Vilamoura on 13th May 13 having left my reading spectacles in the bus to the airport. Having contacted the bus company and arranging for them to be dropped of at the hotel I then spoke to the hotel who organised for the spectacles to be posted back to me in the UK. Once again Thank you

Room Tip: Book a sea view, the view at daybreak is amazing
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

It’s always rewarding to know that Dom Pedro Marina’s staff is always available to provide a better service even outside the Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you've recovered your spectacles.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I wouldn't say this hotel is a 4* more like a good 3*. The hotel is clean, the rooms are small and there are no kettles in the room or a iron and you can not lend an iron from reception you have to pay for hopusekeeping to do it for you. The location is great, 2 minute walk to the marina. Also the beds are really hard so didnt sleep very well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

I really hope that you had a nice stay with us and I was truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not totally in keeping with your expectations. I will take in consideration your suggestions and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

I hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards.

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I've just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Dom Pedro Marina. The hotel is very clean - the staff are constantly cleaning & polishing and it is an ideal location for reaching the beach, marina and bus stop for travels further afield. The staff all speak good English but do appreciate "Bom Dia" or "Obrigado" from guests. They are exceptionally helpful but are not intrusive when clearing the tables during breakfast/dinner. There was live music every evening in the form of a keyboard player/singer - not loud, thumping noise, just pleasant light jazz and easy listening. An ideal hotel for couples, families with young children (there is a shallow pool as well as the main one), golfers...anyone really! I hope to return in the near future and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, with a slanted view of the marina. No problem with it - just remember no...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jivegirl371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Marina and for the time spent sharing your experience.

We were delighted to know that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and thank you very much for your lovely comments and for recommending Dom Pedro Marina.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we really hope to welcome you more times.

Yours Sincerely,

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £65 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing