We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the time share!!!”
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just spent our sixth holiday in Vilamoura, our third stay at Dom Pedro Marina. Whilst the hotel came up to its usual standard, we had a phone call at the end of our first day to ask if the room was satisfactory (which it was) and to ask my husband and I if we would like to attend a Welcome Meeting the following day at their sister hotel next door Dom Pedro Portobelo. We have attended these meetings before and there are usually some good trips on offer but when we met with the Dom Pedro representatives it became clear that this was a Time Share con. There were no trips on offer only offers of vouchers for a greatly reduced holiday and then the usual Time Share deals. When the reps could see that we weren't interested they told us we would have to return later that day to collect our 'cheap holiday' vouchers.
Needless to say we did not return and will not be staying in a Dom Pedro hotel again!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your third visit and for sharing your opinion.

We were very surprised with your comments regarding Guest Services and we really regret that this situation may have caused some dissatisfaction during you stay.

As you can see in other review, the clients were very happy with their welcoming meeting and with the Guest Service. I have forwarded your comments to Guest service’s team so they can see what went wrong.

As you say, this was your third visit to our hotel and you have enjoyed our staff and service and I hope this will be not the reason for not having you again as our guest.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We've just returned from a great stay at the Dom Pedro Marina. Four of us stayed for a three night golf break, sharing two twin rooms.

One of our rooms was upgraded upon check-in to a Family Suite, this was a slightly larger room with a separate twin bedroom and sofa bed in the living area but without a balcony. Both rooms were more than adequate with plenty of storage space and a large bathroom with a fantastic shower and bath tub.

The rooms are fully air conditioned and have stocked mini bars.

We were slightly worried about noise after reading other reviews but this proved to be unfounded, we never had problems sleeping and the beds were comfortable.

We chose the bed and breakfast option, breakfast was plentiful with choices to suit all, at the times we were in the restaurant (09:30) it wasn't too busy.

Wi-fi is charged for which is disappointing these days and when I called down for an iron and ironing board I was informed this was not available but I could pay to have them pressed, with an option for express return if I paid 1.5 times the normal price. I sent four polo shirts to be pressed and to the credit of house keeping, they were returned fully pressed within 20 minutes! Cost for the four garments was €18.

The pool area, while small has plenty of loungers and seating available. The pool was cool which was just what we needed in the heat at the time!

The staff at the Dom Pedro Marina were all very friendly and attentive, overall we had a great stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirkyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina.

We were delighted to know that you had a fantastic stay with us and on behalf of the whole team thank you very much for your lovely comments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Dom Pedro Marina Hotel. The staff are very nice and
nothing is a problem. We stayed B/B this year and had lovely food each night in the many restaurants. The breakfast has everything you could wish for. The only complaint I have is that the carpets at side of the bed in the bedroom were a bit dirty but on asking for it to be removed it was. However I feel the cleaning staff should have seen the carpet was dirty and removed it without being asked. Otherwise no complaints. Perfect location and smashing pool area to sit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for keep choosing Dom Pedro Marina and for the time spent sharing your recent experience.

We were very pleased to know that you had again an enjoyable stay with us.

I have already reported to the housekeeper your complaint about the carpet.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you back again so we can achieve or even exceed your expectations.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from Dom Pedro Marina and would definitely return. The hotel staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were cleaned daily and always smelt fresh and clean on returning to your room. There was more than enough sun beds for everyone. The pool area and surrounds were lovely. It is only a two minute walk to the marina where there is a variety of restaurants and shops. The 19th hole serve lovely guiness.. If you want an excellent steak then visit Don Toro, the staff are lovely and excellent food and service. All in all an excellent relaxing week.

Room Tip: Rooms are very comfortable with a balcony for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevgallacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that you had a great stay. It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our Hotel, staff and service.

We look forward to welcome you again in a nearest future.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just back from dom pedro marina it is a lovely hotel perfect for families I had a one year old with me and the staff were brill with her made us feel right at home could not do enough lots oc room for her to go around hotel in perfect location with bus stop outside and marina and beach next to you the people giving out about no kettle and iron in room should just bring travel ones I did no prob

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hol239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Marina and for the time spent sharing your recent experience.

We were delighted to know that you had a fantastic stay with us and on behalf of the whole team thank you very much for your lovely comments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Despite it not being a 4 star (in my eyes) I would still recommend you considering this hotel if you are staying in Vilamoura and the rates meet your needs. The hotel has reasonable facilities and is generally clean and tidy. The staff do a good job to make you welcome and as other reviewers have stated, the big plus point for the hotel is the location - as it is only a few hundred metres from both the beach and the marina.

We stayed B&B as we wanted to try the many and varied restaurants in the local area (see reviews on trip advisor - but the best we ate at was the nearest. Restaurante Vilamoura at the base of the Dom Pedro Portobelo. Newly opened and top quality fare at very reasonable prices).

Back to the hotel. Rooms are reasonable size but a little tired and we had to get the cleaners to return to ours to bring it up to spec - in fairness to the hotel they rushed completion to let us in early. They provided hangers after all our clothes ended up on the floor the first night after their (non-hook type) hangers all failed! They also changed the broken chair on our balcony quickly.

The rooms are a little tired and in ours the toilet seat and shower hose needed replacing (fed back to the management).

Our room was twin bedded and whilst one was fine the other was lumpy and the feet uneven so you rocked if you moved too much. A couple of coasters soon sorted.

Our room was a Sea View - I'd argue more a pool view although it was true that you could see the sea - over the tops of the tree's. Good morning sun on balcony.

Room has safe (fee and deposit required), mini-bar (bit pricey) and old style CRT TV (Good selection of channels inc. BBC World Service).

Breakfast was usual fare - good choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, etc. Hot food (rarely was) included scrambled egg, bacon, beans, etc. More than enough to set you up for the day. Very impressed with the staff on breakfast 'duty' - fantastic work ethic.

Room Tip: High floor end rooms come at a premium for good reason - they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel and that our staff provided a good service.

The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes and keep with your expectations.

We will take in consideration your suggestions and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Once again had a fantastic time at the Dom Pedro Marina. Such a friendly hotel, everything pristine. This is an extremely well run chain of hotels with staff who really care about making sure that you are completely happy with everything. It may not be the most modern and stylish place but it has a homely feel to it. Plenty of sun beds in May/june but why do people need to reserve them at 8.00 am??
Many thanks to Head waiter who couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast super, lots of choice. Great to be able to eat outside for both breakfast and dinner in the evening. Loved the fish dishes in the evening.
Will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nozza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and for keep choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that you had once more a fantastic time and that you've enjoyed your breakffast and dinner.
I will make sure that our staff receives your compliments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £90 - £847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing