We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dom Pedro Marina
Nearby Hotels
Dom Pedro Portobelo(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$206
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$113
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vila Gale Marina(Vilamoura)
US$123
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinhal da Marina(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Old Village Apartments(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$316
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,306)
Filter reviews
1,306 results
Traveller rating
479
536
234
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
536
234
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool arealovely hotelsea viewexcellent locationplenty of choicereception staffbed and breakfastjunior suitethe hotel is cleanbars and restaurantscooked breakfastplenty of sunbedsbus stopcleaned every daymini bargolf tripsun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
821 - 826 of 1,306 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Dom Pedro Marina hotel is a 4 star rated hotel, a 2 – 3 minute walk to the beach and marina at Vilamoura Portugal. My wife, 2 children (15 and 12) and I stayed here for a week in Aug 2013.
First impressions of the Hotel were not that good, the exterior looks a bit shabby, rundown and in need of repair, but as the week went on the Hotel sort of grew on us. It has an(early) 80’s feel /charm with staff that are very nice and helpful.
That being said I wasn’t impressed with having to pay extra for internet (expensive) and the use of the room safe on a daily basis plus a deposit. Given that the Hotel is not cheap, rated as 4 star (although from my experience more like a high 3 than a low 4) I don’t expect to have to pay for these sort of services in 2013 in any hotel regardless of star rating.
The pool is hexagonal and although ok for cooling down in, it’s not practical if like me you like a good swim to wake you up. The hotel doesn’t enforce its rules for the pool so be warned that although now allowed the small pool soon fills up with lilo’s and people playing ball games. The sun beds around the pool are plentiful in good order and are clean. Shade is limited though and it’s a race to get your towels down in the morning. There is a Jacuzzi that our kids did enjoy.
We only really ate Breakfast in the Hotel which is a very good buffet spread offering cooked and continental breakfast. We stuck with the restaurants in the Marina for evening meals and drinks.
We had a senior suit for our week. These rooms are basic but clean and spacious. The mini bar was a bit pathetic and the TV’s are old CRT type with poor picture quality. No tea and coffee making facilities. 2 rooms with single twin beds and a bathroom for each room. The bathrooms were as the rest of the room basic but clean.
So in summary the Hotel is basic, clean but not cheap. Although we had a good stay we wont be booking again as I’m sure there is better value for money close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank underestimated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel and the time spent writing your review.

Although you did not enjoy everything, we are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Dom Pedro Marina Hotel and that our staff provided a good service.

The comments gently posted are very important to us in order to review our processes and keep with your expectations. We will take in consideration your suggestions.

We really hope that you change your opinion, so we can have you as our guest again.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a nine night stay in this superb establishment. The hotel is in an excellent location and was very reasonably priced. Although it has not been modernized, the decor is quaintly Portuguese which adds to it's charm. The pool area is excellent with plenty of sun loungers available most of the time. The pool attendant is a very polite, well presented and professional young man who looks after the sun lovers and ensures that beds are freed up when required by removing the towels of the people who hog sunbeds all day, but never use them.
Breakfast was the best i have had on the Algarve and the selection of fruit available was second to none. And i loved the fact that they used any leftover fruit to supply to guests by the pool later in the morning - waste not want not!
The waiters and bar staff were also very friendly and professional - which only encouraged me to keep ordering more wine! Bar prices were also reasonable and the cocktails were amazing.
The lady who cleaned our room was also very friendly and did a great job.
We had a great view of the marina from our balcony and enjoyed a glass of mateus every evening before we went out to dine on the marina.
Overall a fantastic experience and i would recommend to anyone.
P.S. Anyone visiting the area should visit Sir Cliff's vineyard. Cliff owns the vineyard with his 'business partner' Nigel and there is an excellent tour guide who is a lifelong fan of Sir Cliff.

Room Tip: request a marina view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that you had an amazing stay with us.

It is always rewarding to know that our guests are pleased with our staff and service. I will make sure that our staff receives your compliments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Alexandra Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Not long back from a nine night stay at the Dom Pedro Marina in Vilamoura with my wife and found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and the staff extremely friendly at all times during our stay.

Reading some of the reviews on here, I couldn't decide if we were booking into the London Ritz or a flea pit youth hostel such were some of the extremes in the reviews. For me though it's a decent four star hotel, with everything you'd expect from a four star hotel, albeit there's no frills attached.

The pool area is really nice and we always found a sun bed anytime we wanted, although admittedly we usually did come down not long after breakfast when we knew they'd be easy to locate. Can see where the comments are coming from though regarding the reserving of sun beds. Saw on a number of occasions sun beds being reserved in the 'prime' locations around 9.30 or 10.00am and the people disappearing and not returning until mid afternoon. Think the management could do more to control that personally, even just a sign saying beds being left for 30mins or more unused will have the towels removed.

Can't believe some of the comments on here regarding the breakfasts. We've stayed in at least six different hotels in various resorts in the Algarve and breakfast choice at the DPM easily exceeds any previous stays. On each day, there were at least five choices of cereals, five or six choices of fresh (and tinned?) fruits, four juice choices, a wide and varying selection of cooked items with at least two different types of eggs each day, a selection of cold meats and cheeses and a selection of breads, pastries and cakes. That's more than enough for me!!

We had a six floor balcony room overlooking the marina with a view which took in the adjacent Tivoli hotel, the marina and the sea in the distance and also provided us with cracking views of the sun setting each night.

My one slight gripe about the hotel room, and it's a fairly common one at that from a number of hotels we've stayed in, in the Algarve, are the beds aren't the best.

We didn't have any issues ourselves regarding the noise coming from the nearby nightclubs until the night before we we due to fly home. There was a nightclub the FAR side of the marina around the main marina office building which was so extremely loud at 4.20am it was preventing us from sleeping. We opened our balcony doors to hear exactly loud it was and couldn't believe what we were hearing...it was as if our neighbours were blasting out Ministry Of Sound CD's at full volume...unreal!!

Obviously this is out of DPM's control, but you'd think something could be done from a local government point of view.

Anyway to sum up, decent hotel, decent food, spotlessly clean with extremely friendly and helpful staff throughout.

...and they make a mighty fine Mojito!

Cheers.

Room Tip: Ask for a high balcony overlooking the marina.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that you had an excellent stay with us.

Regarding the sun beds in the swimming pool, we do remove the towels. Clients are informed that it can not be reserved and in the Services Directory in the rooms we also have that information.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Dom Pedro Marina for a week. Aug 4 - 11. We could not fault the service from the staff. Very friendly. Room was adequate for our needs. Dom Pedro is an excellent central base for booked trips as the bus stop is right outside the hotel. Will be back. Highly recommend Purobeach an oasis. I have said children's activites are poor but to be honest. I could see a pool table and I think the tv had games on it. Please do not let that put you off staying at the hotel. I can only highly recommend it. Both for families and adults.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view. Yes you can see the sea just from the first floor over looking the pool. Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel and for sharing your kind opinions regarding your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to know that you had an amazing stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked a two week break at the Dom Pedro and were not disappointed at all! The location is ideal, about 5 mins from the beach. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was decent with hot and cold options. It was hard to reserve as sun bed at the hotel so we decided to go to the beach. We found the sun beds expensive on the beach (20Euro a day) so we purchased some parasols and mats in a nearby shop. Worked out well as the beach was amazing! The marina is also nearby with plenty of various cuisines. Someone we met recommended that we try one of the squares just off the marina and we found some lovely places to eat! We did try a few day trips to Lagos etc and although the prices were reasonable we did not find that the time we spent there worth the trip sadly. Although, the trips to Albufieria was near and worth our time. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Algarve for all types of travellers. The scenery, people and food were all fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Verne80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDPM, Manager at Dom Pedro Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Dom Pedro Marina Hotel.

We were delighted to know that you had an excellent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Alexandra Santos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews