We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Easter break”
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We booked the Dom Pedro Marina for the Easter weekend. On arrival, we were really impressed with the location, being just opposite the marina gates. We hired and car and found there to be a number of parking spaces (free of charge) in hotel car park, but during peak times, it was busy and you needed to park out on the main road. We arrived at 2pm and were told the hotel was full and ended up having to wait 1.30 hours to check in, which was disappointing. However, once our room was ready, we were really happy. It had marina views, a large bed (two singles pushed together as they don't do doubles in Portugal) and was clean and tidy. We were given a complimentary fruit basket and chocs too as Easter gifts.

We were B&B. The breakfast was very good. Choice of cold (continental buffet) and hot food. Freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruit and good selection of bread. Avoid going down between 9.30 and 10am as the queue is out of the door. Best time is 8am.

Lovely newly renovated pool area. Not many sun beds though.

Safe is €10 Euro deposit then 2 euros a day to use. This is not obvious when you first go to use it.

Terrible coat hangers! Take your own if packing suits or dresses as the ones provided are useless!

The location is ideal for the marina and beach. Amazing choice of bars and restaurants to choose from. Prices on par with SW England (3 euros glass of wine, 3.5 euros for beers, average decent meal 50 euros for a couple). Recommend the Zu Yi, (Chinese) and Mayflower (fish and meat) as well as Old Navy (although they charge 3.5 euros cover which is not clear when going in. Irish bar up from Old Navy does live gigs which are excellent.

We recomend hiring a car if you want to get out and about along the Algarve but plenty to do in Vilamoura if going for a short break. Casino really good (mainly slot machines with 3 gambling tables).

Definately recommend this hotel and planning on going back in the Autumn.

(It's 20 mins drive from airport too).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

Its centrally located, close to the main shops, the marina, casino. The room is a little dated, but the service is great. If theres any place you need to stay at when visiting portugal the first time is vilamoura or lagos.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I have just returned from another very good stay at the Dom Pedro Marina. Having stayed in Vilamoura many times and at this hotel on more than 12 occasions, I found it yet again an ideal hotel. The staff in particular are both efficient and friendly - many having been at the hotel for several years. Whilst the rooms are probably in need of a minor refurb, they are nevertheless, comfortable and clean - and quite quiet, although that can depend on what floor you are on if the hotel is busy - the lower the floor, the noisier it can be.
Excellent buffet breakfast, with loads of variety. Excellent choice of very reasonably priced restaurants close by around the marina and in the plazas to the rear. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pirate1Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

After reading some of the terrible reviews on this hotel i was getting quite worried at what i might be letting myself in for, but it could have been much worse. The location of this hotel is perfect right by the Marina & beach.

Granted the hotel isn't 4 star, however it met our needs & in our eyes we hadn't paid much to stay here for 2 weeks. When we had booked this i had originally wanted to stay at the Tivoli but it was twice the price.

The staff on reception were very helpful particuarly when i was ill & needed to see a Doctor at 6am. They called the house doctor who arrived 2 hours later. (the illness wasn't anything to do with the hotel)

Also the staff at the pool bar couldn't do enough for you.

The rooms could have done with an update, the balcony was tiny, some of the plug sockets were hanging off the wall with bear wires & in the UK would be considered a serious hazard but we didn't spend much time in the room so it wasn't too much of an issue.

The pool area was nice not very big but we could generally always get to swim in it & always get a bed around the pool & it was fairly quiet & relaxing mainly because the hotel didn't seem full of kids may be this was because the pool was small. I'd definately say not enough for teenagers to do here.

We only had breakfast in the hotel thank god as the hotel seriously lacked atmosphere in the evenings. As other members have stated breakfast was a bit bland but they always had a nice selection of fruit. There are quite a few bars around the Marina that do a full english & we went to those some days for a bit of variety & lets face sausage & bacon abroad is hardly ever the same as what were used to in England.

As we were therer for 2 weeks i'd say we ate at nearly all of the restaurants along the Marina & a few that were in the squares at the back, we didn't have a bad meal.

We spent many nights in the irish cabin as they had live music on every night from about 11pm till 3am although they generally sang the same stuff every night but if you like Oasis, Kings of Leon, Rolling stones etc you'll have a good night.

We also went on a lovely boat trip, it was all day & they take up to a lovely secluded beach where you have a bbq, best sardines i have ever tasted & plenty of other food & wine to go around.

Overall we had a lovely holiday if i had of paid 4 star prices i would have been a bit upset, If i went again i would probably try & stay in the Tivoli instead but i wouldn't cross this hotel completly off the list if your looking for a reasonably priced summer holiday in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChickenBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

To call this hotel a 4* is simply bonkers. Whilst the location is as good as you could hope for, and it is incredibly good value for Vilamoura, the rooms are truly awful. This is the sort of place that should get no more than 3* and the rooms are the reason. Location wise, this is in the perfect location for the Marina in Vilamoura and the golf courses around. The hotel is in need of serious refurbishment. This is not a hotel for families, the pool is tiny, but it is ideal for a short golf-break if you are not bothered about the accommadation. The breakfast is as you would expect for the money but the bar is rather expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirDickieHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Dome Pedro Marina, very nice hotel. Rooms clean and tidy with balcony. Small pool but always able to get in. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Lots to do in the area. Marina really ice with alot of good places to eat. Oberall a good place for a holiday with the family. 4/5

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank PaulB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

BAZ FROM EDINBURGH.
Stayed at the Dom Pedro Hotel with eight of my golfing buddies,rooms were basic,and not cleaned very often or to any great standard.Breakfast was more than a bit iffy. at one point i thought i was having scrambled egg soup for breakfast,Also didn,t like the fact i was paying for doubles at the bar and getting singles,(otherwise called skimming) Reception managers were not very helpful to say the least. But as the saying goes you pay your money and you take your chance.wouldn,t recommend it to anyone, far less family or friends.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigboomeredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,768 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £60 - £884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing