We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Pedro Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dom Pedro Marina
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

I stayed In the Dom Pedro with my boyfriend and found it to be an excellent Hotel that really made an effort to ensure you have a great stay. The rooms were very clean, the beds very comfortable and we had a great view from the 6th floor room, we did pay extra for a sea view.

When you arrive there was a bottle of port, bowl of fruit and bottle of water, then tea and biscuits were delivered in the late afternoon. The fruit, water, a newspaper and tea and biscuits were delivered every day to the room.

The breakfast was good, and the pool fine, although it does get busy with children. The down side is the private beach, you need to pay for loungers, shade etc however you can go to the public beach which is next door and fine, not overcrowded. The hotel is excellently situated by the marina with good restaurants and ice cream!

The staff were always friendly and helpful and you did feel they really wanted you to have a good stay. A great holiday!

  • Liked — The small touches with the tea, and the comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — You had to pay for the private beach.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    432
    197
    36
    17
See reviews for
201
521
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

I Arrived at the Hotel that was very well located next to the marina of Vilamoura and the beaches before dinner and already there were no Parking spaces available in the hotel so i had to get out of the car because there was no bellboy in front of the Hotel entrance and this is an 4 star Hotel that we are talking about walked in the Hotel to reception and ask the concierge where would be a safe place to park the car around the Hotel and the answer was were ever i could find a space . So you can assume that i wasn´t very pleased with the answer and this was in the very first minutes that i arrived at the hotel . After parking the car outside the hotel i went up to my room and was suprised with the condionsof the bedroom the beds were very small and short in height the decoration of the bedroom was non existent the television was so small as football the only thing that was aceptable was the bathroom. Of course i went to reception and complained that the rooms were not worthy a 3 star Hotel much less of 4 star Hotel . Asked to change the room said would pay the difference but the concierge said that the hotel was fully booked that it wasn´t possible to change rooms. Decided to stay there that night because the other hotels around were fully booked. The next day wen´t for breakfast and founf it very poor for a 4 star hotel the restaurant was very small for that size hotel but waiters were very helpfull and friendly . Stayed there one more day then finally found an availabel hotel but this was one terrible Hotel i wonder how the ministry of tourism allows these kind of Hotels maintain a 4 Star rating .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Athayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2007

Just returned from a stay in Dom Pedro Marina and had a very enjoyable stay there. The room was seaview as requested and on the 3rd floor we had an excellent view of the marina and beach. The room was quite spacious and comfortable and the hotel itself was very relaxed and not too noisy. The breakfast was perfectly adequate with a decent choice of all you would expect and not too manic most days. The staff were good at keeping the tables turning over. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was very nice.
The location is excellent as previously mentioned by other reviews and all facilities within a few minutes of the hotel. The hotel was quite full the week we were there but the only problem this seemed to cause was the limited numbers of sunloungers by the pool, there were all bagged before breakfast and didn't come free until late afternoon. This is mainly due to the limited size of the pool area for the size of the hotel and there clearly were never enough for all who wanted, although the hotel could probably make this easier but not allowing loungers to lie vacant for several hours with only a towel on them. Apart from that no other concerns and could happily reccommend the hotel to anyone considering it.

  • Liked — Friendly and relaxing.
  • Disliked — Limited pool area
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PRCGlasgow_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Dom Pedro Marina hotel and we had a very enjoyable stay.
As others have stated the hotel is a little dated and in our opinion the prices at the bar were more 5* hotel prices than 4*. We were on the 6th floor (at out request) in a seaview room and the views were great. Before we went I checked out the reviews and noticed that most people said sun loungers not a problem, that wasn't our experience! You really needed to be an early riser to "bag" your sunlounger for the day. Most mornings by 9.15 there were none available.
We went to the private beach area one afternoon and were charged 12.5 euros for half a day for 2 sunloungers and the sunshade brolly thingy which we thought was very expensive particularly as we couldn't sit by the pool!! If you are going to use the beach it would be cheaper to buy a sun umbrella (and leaving it behind) and use the public beach.
We walked over to the Dom Pedro Golf hotel and I would say if you are taking children the Golf hotel is much better suited as the pools/pool area are much bigger.
All in all we enjoyed our stay - Vilamoura is lovely and we couldn't really fault the hotel. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Liked — Value for money / cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mrsj_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

Awesome location, great pool, friendly staff, excellent bedrooms, very good breakfast.

We stayed in Vilamoura for 5 times already. The last 4 times we stayed at the Vila Gale. This time there was no availability on the Vila Gale so we tried the Dom Pedro. A great surprise!

Next time would definitely stay at the Dom Pedro which by the way has a shorter walk to the beach. Talking about beaches I strongly recommend a short drive (3-4 miles) to the BALAIA beach where the Club Med is situated. Simply beautiful. The kids loved it!

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Breakfast could be a bit better.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Florida_Orlando_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

My wife and I booked a weeks golfing holiday through "Supertravel" and selected to stay at the Dom Pedro Marina. Because we had such a good deal we did not expect to get such a great room with a balcony view of the Atlantic and the Marina. From start to finish the staff were very friendly and professional nothing was to much trouble for them. The room was very clean and kept very clean. I cannot comment on the restaurant food as we ate out each night however breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel facilities were very good, nice pool, spa and bar plus a private part of the beach which is only some 300 yards away. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to my friends

  • Liked — Its Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bootthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2007

Have been in a golfing party which has stayed at this Hotel on four occasions over past 7 years. It is very well located, only a couple of minutes from Marina. The pool area is usually not too busy and fairly quiet and peaceful.
I agree with previous comments that several rooms need some updating. In particular some furniture items need replacing, balcony doors do not lock properly and bathrooms in general require modernisation. The rooms are however kept clean. Some previous comment has been made about a "cabbage type" smell. I believe this is a cleaning fluid used from time to time !!! Breakfasts are OK with plenty of choice but the food with a little more effort could be much more appetising. Overall over the years we have been generally satisfied and will stay there again later this year.
Last year we found an excellent family run restaurant called "Cataplana" which is in a small square just back from Pharmacy/Ruis Bar area. Wide selection of good quality food. Opposite is the Pacifico Bar. Proprietor Al is very friendly and he keeps his beer to a high standard.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank vosNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Marina

Property: Dom Pedro Marina
Address: Avenida Tivoli | Lote H4, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Atlantic Ocean, Dom Pedro Marina is only a short stroll away from the cosmopolitan Vilamoura Marina, affording a variety of bars, nightlife, restaurants and shops. An informal and familiar ambiance is provided at the hotel, with private gardens overlooking the swimming pools. Guests can also enjoy the hotel jacuzzi. A beach bar and sunlounger area are exclusively dedicated to Dom Pedro guests, available seasonally on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dom Pedro Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Dom Pedro Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing