We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Budget Hotel in Vilamoura”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Budget Hotel in Vilamoura”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel adjacent to the Marina in Vilamoura. Do not expect 5 star comfort or features as you will be sorely dissappointed but, for a budget break with or without a family its location is ideal and it won't break the bank.
I have stayed in this hotel 5 or 6 times and it suits what I wnat from an hotel on the Algarve.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, as our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests .

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    489
    228
    51
    13
See reviews for
276
410
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I went here with friends on a week's golfing holiday, and really enjoyed it. The hotel doesn't really have standout features, but it is clean, the service is good, and for what we wanted, it was perfect. They provide free shuttles to all of the Oceanico group golf courses, the rooms are spacious and clean, and it was not all that expensive. There is also a decent size of swimming pool.
The only really negative I can think of is that the coffee was, bar none, the worst beverage I have ever attempted to drink. I also thought that charging 2.50 Euros for a bucket of ice was a bit of a rip-off, but I guess it's just a way of making money.
On the whole, I thoroughly recommend it (but stay away from the coffee!!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay.

About the coffee...is the portuguese coffee, perhaps too stong.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just returned from a 4 day golfing stay at this hotel. Very warm welcome from the hotel staff as we arrived. The hotel has everything you need from a hotel. Good spacious and comfy rooms, great pool area and its in a great location. The pool area is also quiet during the day as most people staying at the hotel are golfers who were out most of the day.

The only negative about this hotel is some parts are a bit dated and is in need of a fresh lick of paint. Also don't buy any drinks from the hotel bar as its a rip of. The marine is only a few minutes walk from the hotel and there is lots of bar and restaurants to choose from.

We had breakfast within the hotel and I was surprise how good it was. You have a good selection of breads, meats, cheese and cereals. Also a Portuguese cooked breakfast.
Would return to this hotel, when coming back to Vilamoura.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the pool. Also go the the fisherman shack which is around the corner from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21ARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, as it is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to read your review as our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests .

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Thank you

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Recently stayed in this hotel on a half-board basis. The breakfast was fine. The menu for dinner was also fine and the food was of good quality and well presented. Unfortunately the dining room lacked any atmosphere as very people appeared to be taking the half board option. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The location for this hotel is excellent. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned every day.
For a number of nights early in our stay a number of golfers appeared to be hell bent on having a good time with no respect to any other guests staying in this hotel. Found this to be quite annoying.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review .... will be passed on to all staff who will be very pleased to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Vila Gale marina for the second time in 5 months again fantastic. Great location , fab breakfast very comfy rooms. Not as warm weather as before but still nice. Great walks along beaches nice bars and resturants. We particularly like 19th Hole, parkys & The navy.for food & Drinks.

Room Tip: We paid extra to upgrade the first time but not the second, as we were ther at two quiet times there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deerelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé Marina, at Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel , 8 golfers and 2 non golfers, very warm welcome not just the staff but 95 degree heat. all rooms very clean and spacious,buffet breakfast was excellent so much choice . we only booked b&b because there are so many great resturants to eat in.try to eat of the betean track as when you enter the marina you will be decended on like flys round p-o by leaflet boys plying for your trade .marina only 2mins walk.we will all go back again golfers and non golfers.

Room Tip: room 412 lovley you can sit on your balcony in the sun after 1oclock untill dusk
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights on a half board basis. Location is excellent, few minutes to Marina lots of fabulous restaurants, cafes and bars, and minutes to the wonderful beach. Breakfast was ok, dinner was dissapointing and dining room quite empty(most people on b&b basis). Rooms were good, spacious, modern and very clean, theres also use of a fridge at no cost, 2.50euros a day for safe. It was full of mainly male golfers, so the hotel and pool are very quiet during the day. Staff in my opinion were indifferent and very sloppily dressed. Drinks are a rip off 2.70euros for a small glass of orange from a pump. I would go to this hotel again but on a b&b basis as the location is great and it is very clean and comfortable. Good places to go to is Urban Cafe on the marina, lovely lunches, and for a good night 19th hole pub also on marina.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor good views of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie-travel-junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, we do appreciate your observations regarding the dinner and the staff uniform. These will be noted in our future replacement.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Property: Vila Gale Marina
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing