We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with fantastic view”
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hotel with fantastic view”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Lovely modern hotel overlooking the harbour. Very clean with excellent facilities. Breakfast was great and had a few evening meals which were excellent. Only down side the sun disappears in most areas of the pool area in an afternoon. There is an excellent beach five minutes walk away where you can hire sunloungers though. Hotel seems to be used mostly by golfers.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    502
    231
    54
    13
See reviews for
279
415
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned in May from a 5 day stay, Half Board at the Vila Gale Marina hotel in Vilamoura.
Location – the hotel is about a half hour taxi ride away from the airport which costs around 30 euros. Maybe look in to booking a transfer. Hotel overlooks the marina and is about 1 minute walk away from the beach.
Rooms – standard hotel room, clean and tidy, good size balcony. Bathroom is ok, good size but I agree with the other tripadvisor reviewer that a four star hotel shouldn’t have shower curtains. Our room was on the seventh floor in the middle section which meant we directly overlooked the marina. As another reviewer mentioned there were a few noisy guests, hotel is popular with groups of men on golfing holidays.
Food – good selection at breakfast buffet. Not many people chose to stay half board which is waiter service, you choose from a selection of food over four courses. Excellent variety of fish or meat, salads etc and all made to order so you know its not been hanging around. Bottle of house white wine cost about 12 euros. Would choose to stay half board again, especially with restaurants being pricey as the exchange rate is rubbish at the moment. Current price for dinner paying separately is 20 euros each which was much more than you can get it for when booking the whole holiday.
Staff – welcoming, friendly,attentive and spoke good English
Facilities – outdoor pool, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and gym. Lots of sunbeds and a pool bar too. Luggage room can be used for flights after checkout time of 12 noon. Small scale entertainment nightly in the foyer bar area.
The marina has many bars and restaurants catering to all tastes and is very pretty at night. We walked through the Tivoli hotel which is very modern inside and you can see why its so expensive but the location is not better than at this hotel. Just to note went to spain six weeks ago and it was much more expensive to eat out there than in Portugal. We would return to this hotel, particularly for the standard of the food.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lotsofshoes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
297 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

A very good 4 star hotel, very clean, with attentive staff, good leisure areas and good location.
Just two things to improve: The quality of the breakfast and to remove the shower curtains in the bathrooms. (This days i think any 4 stars or above hotel shouldn't have shower curtains)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We were over booked in the Olympus next door so we where put up in the vila Gale and it was perfect. right in the thick of things. local bars and great Irish bar called the cabin which had a fantastic band. the resort itself is expensive and eating out can be dear. would travel back again and could not fault the hotel at all. great buffet breakfast. if married stay away from the Cats bar under the Olympus the menu is great !!!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Fantastic Hotel.Location was faultless,clean and welcoming.Will definitly be staying there again.Staff very friendly and helpful.All in all a great hotel.Would highky recomend!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Excellent choice at buffet breakfast. Room clean and all linen changed frequently. No water in jacuzzi, outdoor pool very cold. Sometimes a bit noisy at night from the guests

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Me and three mates stayed in this hotel at the beginning of March, we had originally booked two rooms between the four of us but upon arrival the girl behind reception kindly upgraded us to a superior suite on the 9th floor which was fantastic!

The suite itself had two large bedrooms(one of which had ensuite), a mid sized living room and a massive balcony. The views from the balcony were great, looking right out over the marina.

The suite itself was very clean, before we made a mess of it every night, but was always returned to the way it was when we first checked in by housekeeping. (Patient people)

We booked this hotel for basically a booze up for my mates birthday, however the type of hotel and the time of year meant that it was a bit quiet, however it would be perfect for familys with kids, couples and older travellers looking to just chill out

Another great thing about the hotel was the fact that it is so close to marina with all the restauraunts and bars, also it's very close to the beach.

Would stay again for sure but probably with the bird, rather than three mates looking to drink their own body mass in alchohol. (Which by the way was magically countered by the great buffet breakfast every morning)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeefehB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Property: Vila Gale Marina
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing