We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY GOOD HOTEL, BUT HAS DINING ROOM STAFF ORGANISATION ISSUES” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD HOTEL, BUT HAS DINING ROOM STAFF ORGANISATION ISSUES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Excellent central location to beach, shops, supermarket & marina, whilst remaining quiet enough for a good nights sleep.

All rooms face on to hotel pool & a partial or full view of the marina. Rooms on the higher floors have a better Marina view. We did e-mail in advance to ask for a room of the 6th floor, or above, but were allocated a room on 2nd floor, so that doesn't always work. We did get the sun on our balcony from noon, which was great, as not all rooms get the sun.
Hotel was very busy, so there were no sun loungers available around the pool, unless you were out around 8.30 to 9.00am. We used the nearby beach, so wasn't an issue for us.

Rooms are clean & simply styled. I felt that there was not much clothes storage space. Wardrobe is big enough, but not many hangers & there was only 3 narrow drawers.
Safe was within the wardrobe. There is a daily charge to use a lock for the safe. If anything goes missing from it, however, the hotel does not accept liability. You can use the hotel reception safe, which is guaranteed. Don't knw how much they charge for that service.

Maid service every day. Room hoovered, beds made, bins emptied & bathroom cleaned. Linen & towels are not changed every day, but this may be done on an "as needed basis". Didn't feel that the bathroom was always cleaned very well. Complimentary toiletries consist of 2 soaps, 2 shampoos, 2 bath gels & a shower cap which are replaced as you use them.

There is an outside pool & jacuzzi, which are kept very clean & look lovely. There is a soft seating area outside too. Pol towels are available free of charge from the hotel. There is also a small indoor pool, jacuzzi, Turkish bath & small gymnasium which are also kept very clean. This indoor facility was free to use & we thought that it was excellent.

The hotel lobby & reception area has a nice feel about it. The reception staff were very helpful & all had excellent English. Within this area is a small shop selling newspapers, drinks, sweets & nic nacs. The hotel bar is also within this area. Lunch is serves here, or outside at the pool bar area. Costs of drinks & food compare to those of the eating places on the Marina. However, if you walk off the marina there are some very reasonably priced eating & drinking places.
There are 2 PC's available to use within reception & Wi-Fi is available in the reception & bar area for a charge, 2.50 euros for 30 mins & 3 euros for 1 hour. Wi-Fi is not available in the rooms, unless you have your own modem.

Breakfast is served from 6.00 AM - 10.00 AM. The range of food is very good & replenished frequently. I would recommend the earlier you have breakfast the better. The queues were horrendous from 9.30am onwards, as you have to wait to be seated the busier it becomes.
Evening meals were served from 7.00 - 10.00 PM. Again, you have to wait to be seated & herein lies the problem. A sign is put out in the middle of the entrance asking for you to wait to be seated. However, the staff at the restaurant reception point do not acknowledge or communicate with the guests when they arrive. So you are left standing, looking around at a restaurant which is not particularly busy & has plenty of empty tables wondering if anyone knows, or cares that you are there, meanwhile another queue of guests, at the same reception point, who are leaving are being attended to, before you, no matter when they join that queue. We felt very disappointed by this level of customer service & felt that it resulted from a lack of communication & organisation within the restaurant. A simple acknowledgment when you arrived would have been sufficient. The staff were all pleasant enough & worked very hard, however, the focus of their work was not the customer. Many times, once we were seated, we were not asked what we would like to drink until we had nearly finished our meal. Again poor customer service & lack of staff direction.
Looking at reviews of other hotels in Vilamoura, this seems to be a common complaint.
The food however, was excellent & replenished frequently.

The entertainment in the hotel seemed very popular with the guests. We did not stay in the hotel for the evenings, but there were many people who did & it seemed that they were enjoying themselves.

This hotel allows you to use the minibar in the room for your own food & drinks, which was excellent. There is no tea/coffee making facility in the room, so take your own travel kettle, although you can order room service.
There is no iron or ironing board either, so again take your own. There is a laundry service in the hotel if you need it, or a self service laundrette just off the Marina.
Take your own corkscrew too. Although I did notice someone taking their supermarket bought wine to the bar & asking them to open it for them, which they did. Excellent.

We were traveling with a bicycle, which we were able to keep in the room, which we also felt was excellent.

Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations. I was very happy with the hotel & the staff. To improve the experience for hotel guests, however, I feel that the hotel management need to look at the workings of the dining room area. There was nothing wrong with the staff, they worked very hard & were very good, however, there needs to be more management of the staff & more communication initially when guests arrive.

Outside of the hotel, a great place to enjoy a snack, an ice-cream, or a cake & tea or coffee is Panito Moles. Ii is located along from the taxi rank, just a few steps up off of the Marina. The prices are very reasonable & you can enjoy a drink there too. they also serve a small range of meals.

The beaches in Vilamoura are great. Praia de Falesia is a longer walk to get to, but it is a bigger beach than Praia de Marina. You can take the small train to Praia de Falesia, which leaves from opposite Hotel Vila Gale Amphalius, which is only about 300m from Hotel Vila Gale Marina.

I would also recommend a visit to Quarteria, which is the next town to Vilamoura. You can walk along the beach front to Quarteria, which takes around 20 minutes. It is more of a working town with many shops, bars & restaurants & has some better prices than Vilamoura. Wouldn't recommend the walk in the evening though, after reading some reviews of other accommodations. Although during the day I felt perfectly safe & walked to Quarteria on my own many times.

Enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funkycolmedima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    482
    222
    51
    13
See reviews for
270
405
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

This hotel has a great location. The Marina is a 2 minute walk away and the beach about 5 minutes. Both rooms and public areas are really clean. Having clean towels in the room and for the pool / beach every day was a huge bonus.
Although there were towels on sun beds before breakfast, there were usually plenty around when we turned up mid to late afternoon.
We don't usually go half board but gave it a try having spend a fortune on meals out last summer. The variety and quality of food is excellent. However, the hot food needs to be hotter. If you caught it as it arrived on the buffet it was great............. a few minutes later it was cool. They could also do with a few extra waiting staff on hand as it could take a while to get a drink to go with your meal.
The entertainment leaves a lot to be desired! My daughter (8) was disappointed. However, for adults without children, I'd recommend B & B then eating out on the Marina. It's a bit pricey but the views are lovely.
We used the mini bar as a fridge but would have preferred a real one!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

Just back from this hotel, when we arrived they gave my daughter her room key, there was someone else in the room. In our own room the power went off and we had to wait an hour before it was sorted. The entertainment was non existent and if you want a holiday child, free dont go here it was full of young children. The reception is quite drab and the rooms were okay although I had about 9inches of space between my bed and furniture at one point. The location is excellent it is a two minute walk to the marina but the hotel was a big dissappointment. The sister hotel is called The Ampalius and is right on the beach and is a much better choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed for 12 nights with my wife & 15 year old triplet boys. On arrival, the boy's room & ours were allcated on opposite sides of the hotel, but luckily the receptionist was able to allocate rooms next to each other on the 3rd floor with great views over the pool & nearby marina & sea. (All rooms have pool or marina view) Staff very friendly & always cleaning. Pool PH level checked regularly. We stayed half-board which proved to be a good decision as meals out for five of us would have been about 120 euros a night. If only staying B&B, hotel restaurant was 20 euros each to eat-in. Beds made-up every day & changed regularly; air conditioning in bedrooms worked well & essential in 35 deg temperature. 2 pools; one 0.79m deep; the other 0.79 - 2.1m deep. Area around pool had table-tennis, pool table, bouncy castle, toddlers area & snacks/bar open from 10am - 9pm most nights. Area for loungers was a little tight & most loungers taken by noon (many unoccupied, as usual !!).
Minus points - hotel would benefit from more contemoporary decor - pictures etc. TVs in rooms big old-style & not v. good reception; flat screen would be better. Had to pay 3 euros/hour for Wi-fi (v.expensive with 3 teenageers; suggest go to O'Neills bar at marina for free Wi-fi).
Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone. Great location for beach, marina & some quality shopping. Vilamoura is a golfers paradise October - May with 5 fantastic courses within 15 minutes drive.
A lovely relaxing holiday was had by all

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beechboy141159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights in first week of Aug '10 on a B&B basis in room 103 which over looked the swimming pool. Ice cold Air Con (needed as it was 39C), well stocked fridge, reasonable water pressure, comfy firm twin bed. Excellent cleanliness and good sized veranda. Good swimming pool which is checked twice daily for Chlorine levels and flotsam. Efficient friendly helpful staff who would go the extra mile if called upon. Prime location 2 mins walk from Marina. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicknackwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Very good hotel with some rooms having an excellent view of the sea and marina. On arrival l was allocated to the 7th floor which had the aforementioned great view however l was anxious about the railing n the balcony as it was not very robust and with a lively young son with me , l was concerned about safety. I explained my concerns with staff who allocated me a room on the first floor which overlooked the pool. Whilst it lacked the view of the higher floor, l felt much better. The room was spotlessand cleaned everyday. Towels for the pool were available every day as well. One downfall was caused by most residents feeling the need to put towels down on sun loungers around the pool and then not being seen for hours on end. The management issued letters to all residents advising against this sort of conduct but in reality very little changed. In essence if you want a sun lounger around the pool you will need to move quickly in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owenalawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Stayed at the Vila Gale Marina last week with a group of 10 people, including kids and teenagers. Can't get a better location than this, directly opposite the hotel was an alleyway leading to the marina. The casino is a short walk away, and you just need your passport for entrance, no vests allowed. A short walk thru the park opposite the entrance and you find the beach. The rooms were nicely decorated, for european standards. The bathrooms were clean and plenty towels available. The mini bar/fridge in the room was cold and they didn't mind you putting your own water and drinks in there. The breakfast was ok, though we did fancy something different on the 4th day and walked to Mac donalds which is just down the road. The staff are friendly and helpful. Didn't have any problems with noisy guests in the night that you usually get. The pool was a little on the small side, but kept the party happy. A trip to the Aquashow waterpark, 10 mins away solved the problem, had a great day out and everyone enjoyed it!!! Pool side restaurant is quite good for snacks etc, prices are good and alot of choice. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Property: Vila Gale Marina
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing