We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex,UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights end of September and I can honestly say that there was nothing to fault it. The hotel is in a superb position - all rooms on one side face the marina, on the other the sea (which we were lucky enough to have - although don't think I would want to be that side from mid July til end of Aug as they have an open air night club in the grounds).
The staff were very friendly and pleasant, we had a turn down service every night (complete with chocolate). Breakfast was very relaxed, tea and coffee served at the table - huge selection of food to suit all palettes.
I think that the hotel is gradually being refurbished - we were on the 7th floor and certainly the corridors have yet to be done. (The lift stopped on the 4th floor and I had a look, the corridor on that floor has been decorated to match the decor in the reception/communal areas) The room we were in, I think, was yet to be redecorated but having said that it was very clean and well furnished. I have seen some other travellers photos of plastic furniture on the balcony but this is not the case.
There were plenty on sun beds and the pool was very clean and the water warm (ish) - the pool is quite deep in some places (2.4m) but if you don't like being out of your depth you'll be ok it's fairly shallow on one side. You are literally a stones throw from a glorious clean, sandy beach and the hotel has a private section solely for guests.
I appreciate that everyone has different ideas as to what constitutes a good hotel - but I think this hotel is a good all round choice. As with most hotels - the five stars probably wouldn't match up to the Ritz or the Waldorf but it would give a high end four star a run for it's money.
Would I go back? You bet - tomorrow if I could!!

Room Tip: As I said in my review - you can have sea view (would recommend that Sept - June) or marina (might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,322
    1,657
    536
    144
    77
See reviews for
1,123
2,086
97
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Tivoli Marina in Vilamoura and cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and its staff. Our visit was arranged mainly so that we could watch the Portugal Masters Golf Tounament which took place on one of the local courses. We had a room overlooking the marina which was described as "de luxe" . It was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was bright and modern. When booking the holiday we had asked for a room on the 3rd floor with a view of the marina and that is exactly what we were allocated. Without exception the staff were friendly and welcoming. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis only and the food at breakfast was excellent with a wide choice.
The hotel is beautifully situated and convenient for all local amenities. We did experience some noise from the around the marina late at night but this never continued beyond 11pm and we were never kept awake as a result. The pool area at the rear of the hotel is large with pools for both adults and children. There were always plenty of vacant sunbeds and clean towels were provided free of charge daily. Music was sometimes "piped" through speakers dotted about in the grounds but they could easily be avoided if you looked around first !! The pool and surrounding area was immaculately clean.
Before we made the trip I did read some adverse comments about this hotel. From our experience I cannot believe that they were justified.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina are north facing and should be cooler, though the air conditioning was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Booked this hotel as a present for my husbands 50th birthday and did not disappoint. We were upgraded to the executive suite due to a conference being held at the hotel....wow...wow!!! It was spectacular. The main attaction is the location, just perfect right alongside from the Marina.
The staff were curteous and proffessional and the ambience and decor was great. Have travelled all over the world in some very nice hotels and this one is great and worthy of the 5 star rating. Will definetely be back...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmurphy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I'm not sure what planet some people are on that write the bad reviews on this hotel. The hotel is immaculate, the food excellent, the staff very helpful, and the rooms and hotel areas modern and well equipped. Our room was on the ninth floor, and was perfect. I understand that some rooms are still to be refurbished - but even the non refurbished floors were clean - just a bit dated in style. It is a big hotel and refurbishment takes time and money, so forgive them if some rooms are not done yet, and just ask for a refurbished room when booking. The hotel was no more expensive than most of the restuarants and bars in the resort. You get what you pay for, this is IS a 5 star hotel. It is without doubt the best hotel in the area. We received a bottle of champagne and a birthday cake for my husbands birthday, and also were invited for cocktails in the bar during our stay - nice touches by the hotel. Our only criticism would be that the Puro Beach club was not open and there was little evening entertainment - but we did stay at the hotel in October so it is not a big surprise. This is a high class luxury hotel - so perhaps its not what people expect if they are used to holiday package hotels and are therefore disappointed because they can't hang their laundry on the balcony !! - I can't believe someone complained about that !! - its not Benidorm !!

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room - these are refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed in the Tivoli for 4 nights at the end of Sept on a golfing holidaying and it was perfect. The room was newly decorated, a good size with everything you could ask for along with a large pool for a good morning swim. Breakfast was really good, large choice at the buffet and made to order omelette - nice touch.

The staff were very friendly. However what really topped my stay here was my room mate celebrated his birthday on one of the nights we were here. The staff member checking us in noticed this from his passport but we made no other comment to him on this.

On the actual birthday we returned from our day of golf back to the room and to our great suprise the hotel had left a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket along with a dessert and candle - a really super gesture......we didn't request it and it was all done by the hotel on their own accord. I have never seen this being done before in a hotel, only maybe after requesting it and sometimes they still won't go to these lenghts - great customer service and our whole group all left delighted with the place - a really good place to stay and I would definitley go back! Over and above service for what we paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzpat00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday, the hotel was a big disappointment. The location and views were fantastic but it had no character or ambiance whatsoever.

Our room was modern but basic, the sliding wardrobes were very difficult to use, the balcany was like something from the 70's two plastic chairs and a little table no clothes line or hanging space for your bikini's etc. It was cleaned each day with fresh towels and bedding however the mirror was never cleaned and the wood paneling behind our bed hadnt been dusted since it was put there.

The pool was nice but the sun loungers was the most uncomfortable I had ever been on there was no chance of a nap, in fact we couldnt suffer them for more than an hour.

The beach was lovely but although the hotel boasts about being on the beach you had to pay for sun loungers never known before in a 5* They was 15 Euros a bed and for one of the 4 poster beds they were 100 Euro's as you can imagine the only people on them soon got off when they weas asked pay.

It was so over priced, we usually go to Dubai where you expect the drinks to be expensive, well they were more expensive in the Tivoli!!! They charged us 4 Euros for a shot of lime!!

Ony air conditioned in the room as the corridors reception and main public areas had no air conditioning

Will never return!!

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe updated room soom of the rooms on the lower floors are yet to be updated!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bongo3028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights Friday - Monday and found it an excellent short break hotel.
Decor and rooms were great, especially pleased to see a Nespresso coffee maker with coffee pods as complimentary.
Great sea and pool view
Breakfast was plentiful, they even serve champagne
Check in was smooth and all staff were helpful and full of smiles.
We ate in the Pepper steakhouse in the hotel, the food was great and the ambience of the terrarce overlooking the marina was a great setting for a restaurant.
Will definitely be booking again for our next girls trip

Room Tip: We had interconnecting standard rooms number 722 and 723, great sea view and comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandar044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
2.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Property: Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing