We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upsetting.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Upsetting.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We booked our 5th stay direct with this hotel in Nov 2011. We love it here it is a fabulous location, The pool area is large & Puro Beach is our favourite with great service,comfortable beds & chill out relaxing music. The hotel is located 2 mins walk from the marina with its vast & varied restaurants.Everything on your doorstep! I admit that the hotel itself could do with upgrading & is looking a bit tired,but we usually stay in a 3rd floor de-luxe sea view room which fullfils all our needs, to die for beds & pillows plenty of toiletries & towels changed twice a day.
You might ask why i have rated this hotel as terrible because 1 main thing prevented us from a wonderful holiday!! 4 days before we were due to arrive we received an email on sat at 11pm informing us that for the last 3 nights of our holiday we would be relocated to the sister hotel the Tivoli Victoria!! There was no apology! After 8 phone calls by us over the course of 3 days a huge amount of stress & upset, the phone put down on my husband twice (He wasn't being rude)! We finally got through to a manager who allthough tried to resolve efficiently the situation could not take away that we had to move due to a medical conference taking over the whole Hotel!!
This move ruined my holiday we did not want to be 15mins drive away from the marina, we also did not want to spend half a day packing & unpacking,& we wanted to be near the beach!
it also happened to other people but they appeared to have been informed up to 2 months before.although i think 1 couple were told at check in!
Be very aware of booking here because we had paid a non refundable 30% deposit 10months before,which as it stated guaranteed our booking for The Tivoli Marina!!! But apparently it didn't!!! Their website also showed availability up to 2 weeks before ,you can't tell me they didn't know!"! Money talks & the loyalty of returning customers is no longer there.
So if you,ve been saving all year for your much needed break think again & don't trust them!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angela064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,359
    1,672
    538
    146
    79
See reviews for
1,136
2,113
100
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

As this was our first holiday away without children, we upgraded to a suite. On arrival the suite we were allocated had a faulty toilet and requested to be moved and we were moved to another one. It seems that not many of the suites have been refurbished to the standard of some pictured online. The one we eventually had was slightly dated, but marginally better than the one we had just left. Facilities are good, with robes, slippers. Expensive mini bar/coffee although this was never a problem as we took things back from the supermarket.
Wifi is offered free of charge if you subscribe to global hotel alliance. We couldn't access this for the first 5 days, but on asking, we were given vouchers.
We are worried that our safe may have been tampered with on 2 occasions as our code was rejected after the 1st attempts. The second time confirmed this for us as our 'information tray' was perched on top of the safe inside the wardrobe, when all week it had been left on the table the other side of the room.
The hotel reception is lovely and breakfast great. The hotel is in a fantastic location, however after a few hiccups would chose to stay in another hotel next time. Real shame as it was a mix of great and bad.
Definitely returning to Vilamoura! Fabulous place and we found the bars/restaurants very reasonable if not cheap (shop around!)

Room Tip: Apparently rooms on floors 1,2 & 7 have not been refurbished judging by other reviews. We were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull. East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

A fantastic hotel in a perfect location.
The breakfast buffet is superb.
We also enjoy the pool area , which is adjacent to the beach for those that don't mind sand in their Cava. The Sidebar is a lovely way to relax in the evening before dinner in Peppers Steakhouse (wonderful) or any of the many restaurants in the Marina itself.
However we were upset to be treat like second class citizens ( for the second time) as we were bumped to the Tivoli Victoria to make way for a medical conference.
The management need to understand that this might good revenue once they come into the off season but they could have kept one floor for their regular guests.
If you are booking well in advance be aware this could happen to you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanland73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have just returnd from our 19th visit to this wonderful hotel. An easy 30 minute taxi from Faro airport arrives at the impressive entrance and you are immediately welcomed by familar face who take control or all your luggage.Then you walk through the automatic doors and the cool,calm,relaxing ambience welcomes you and you know your holiday has begun> Reception do their very best to accomodate you requests and we have always had the sea view - beautiful. The pool area is stunning with the soft grey towels provided daily along with the cooling melon smoothie. The Pool bar staff are excellent, accomodating, even remember you name and provide waiter service. The pool side Menta restaurant adds to the services provided here. A visit to the Angsana Spa is a must as is a swim in the indoor pool followed by a visit to the Sauna and the Jacuzzi. A visit to Peppers restaurant makes the holiday complete and the new outside balcony provides wonderful views of the marina. The location of this hotel is its strength - marina and sea are so close. We can't wait to return for our 20th visit.

Room Tip: email room preferece before visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Tivoli Marina for just one night but with some specific requirements. We needed three rooms, same floor and as high and quiet as possible. We had seen mixed reviews and were prepared for some disappointment. I have to say, however, that everything turned out very well
Check in was a little slow but friendly and helpful. Our rooms weren't ready immediately but once housekeeping were alerted we didn't wait long. The public areas are modern and spacious and our rooms on the ninth floor were well appointed. We made use of the pool and thought it was one of the better one's we've experienced recently. There's a decent poolside bar and restaurant and plenty of loungers etc. No need to dash down at the crack of dawn for a good seat here. A big plus is the direct access to the beach and the hotel's own beach bar - looked good.
We had seen that guests were disturbed by the nightclub in the grounds. It's true that you can hear it but it only operates in peak season and( frankly) wasn't busy enough to bother us. We also heard that some rooms had not been refurbished. Can't comment on this but some floors had a different decor to others for sure.
Parking is free for guests and, as we had a disabled member, we could park right outside the door. The Marina is on the doorstep and location couldn't be better.
This hotel gets a rough ride for poor service. I can see why there may be some criticism for slow service but we thought it was efficient and polite. Certainly a good option for a long weekend if you don't want to bother with car hire. It's not five star but it's pretty good otherwise.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room on a high floor. The seaward side gets afternoon sun. The Marina side has a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, attentive staff, clean rooms with twice daily changes of towels. Pool fabulous with no rush to get a sunbed in the mornings. Superb location with no noise from the marina or nightclub at night.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilamoura, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We arrived yesterday with our booking confirmation from 'Great Hotels of the World', which Tivoli Marina denied any knowledge of receiving, we were told the hotel was full and were offered a few nights accommodation at their cheaper, out of town hotel. They couldn't confirm that they would be able to accommodate us for the full term of our stay because from today, they were completely booked corporately. Accepting that this error could be due to our booking agent we luckily found accommodation elsewhere. We spoke to another family with a reservation confirmation who were also trying to book in to the Tivoli Marina, they were also being offered the sister hotel. Arriving at our newly booked hotel and explaining our story we were told that overbooking at the Tivoli Marina is commonplace. We await response from Great Hotels of the World who were uncontactable yesterday, but couldnt help wondering if the cheaper, out of town, sister Tivoli hotel is not as popular as their Marina hotel and overbooking was accepted with a view to filling rooms there.

Room Tip: Check your reservation directly with the Tivoli Marina prior to arrival.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
2.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Property: Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing