We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach on one side, Marina the other”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for a short break at Easter. Short easy drive from Faro airport, once you get to Vilamoura it is easy to find - follow the marina signs and it comes into view. Don't be put off by that first appearance - yes it does look a bit like a block of flats, but it gets a lot better! From the outside the hotel doesn't look anything like as nice as it really is - once you get in the appearance improves beyond compare - a stark contrast.

Check in friendly and efficient. Join their free loyalty scheme and you get free Wi-Fi, newspaper (good choices including The Times) and water. Asked for a high floor and sea view and that's what we got. That view is spectacular, a huge beach, pool and hotel gardens. At the rear - visible from many vantage points even if you don't have a room on that side - all of Vilamoura and the Marina, which it sits on the side of.

The public areas are quite stunning - huge atrium with split levels across several floors. Good choice of restaurants and bars, plus not one but two beach clubs. I particularly liked the bar overlooking the marina, which has very cool seating both inside and out on a terrace perched right on the quayside, with a lift down to street level.

All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful - the guys running the concierge and valet parking deserve a special mention, as do the breakfast staff who were very attentive. Breakfast is excellent - buffet style with loads of options, inside and outside seating, I really loved all the fresh baked pastries, breads and cakes - one complaint (predictably from an Englishman) - get some proper bacon please! Free breakfast bubbly helped ease the pain...

I really liked this hotel, as did my 81 year old Mum who accompanied us. The proximity to the Beach and the Marina meant she never had to walk far for a complete change of scene - loads of good bars and restaurants fall to hand all around but never intrude on the privacy and ambience of what is a very nice hotel.

For a short break it was ideal and the area immediately around it offers plenty of options so you don't really need a car. On the far side of the marina there is a ruin of a Roman Villa complex so you can even grab some culture. For a longer break the large comfortable rooms would be good, as would the variety of eating options and bars within the hotel, with the rest of the Algarve coast right on your doorstep.

Plus - any hotel that provides a thick towelling bathrobe that actually fits a big chap like me perfectly gets my vote for that alone!

Room Tip: The sea views are stunning, but if you like to spend time people/boat/activity watching the marina s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martinwilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,852 - 3,858 of 5,444 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent five nights on the 6th floor with ocean views as requested. The weather was warm and sunny and we were able to sleep at night with our patio doors slightly open and listening to the breaking waves. Very relaxing. The room was bright and airy with quality furnishings and bed linen not to mention the "turn-down" service. The tea/coffee facilities were average with a 2 Euro cost for a Nespresso coffee. If you prefer "breakfast" tea then bring your own tea bags and milk capsules. This is an area that the Hotel could improve upon. The bathroom was a delight with an excellent shower, complimentary toweling robes, slippers and good range of toiletries.Noise was not a problem from the garden pools despite it being half-term.This may be different in the summer.

The hotel is around 20 years old and has been extensively refurbished. The style is modern with a minimalist appeal. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant and are to be congratulated on their attention to guests' needs.

We are not beach, pool or spa people but prefer the eating, drinking and visiting side of holidays. We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was extensive and well presented. Lunch was kept to a minimum in favour of the evening meal. There are an abundance of eating places around the hotel although it was difficult to find good local style meals. We did not have what could be called a "memorable meal" but adequate. Perhaps we will try the hotel's restaurants next time. Yes, we will try to revisit the Tivoli Marina as it met nearly all of our expectations.

Room Tip: The upper floors are quieter and the ocean side is sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel
Amazing views of the marina ,
Great SEVEN night club par owned by cristiano Ronaldo (Bonus)
Lovely food in the hotel and a great stay , I would recommend this hotel !! Lovely steak restaurants near by the hotel on the Marina and nice bars and shops

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a great mini break at this hotel in April. Couldn’t fault the hotel or its staff. Before we left home I emailed the hotel requesting a refurbished high floor sea view room which is exactly what we got. I also told them we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and my husband’s birthday and we got totally spoilt with champagne and strawberries on our first night and champagne and cake on my husband’s birthday. We joined the free loyalty club which saved us 15 Euros a day for wifi and we got a voucher to exchange at the shop for a free newspaper every day. The hotel has the best location in Vilamoura with the marina out the front door and pool/beach out the back door and having been I wouldn’t stay in any other hotel in Vilamoura now. Breakfast was the usual hot and cold buffet items. We didn’t eat any other meals in the hotel as there were so many reasonably priced restaurants to choose from around the marina. The hotel’s “Side Bar” has a lovely outdoor terrace overlooking the marina though so worth having a cocktail there. There were a few comments on Tripadvisor about the hotel needing a lick of paint – that was our first impression too, however, during our stay it was getting a lick of paint, some flooring re-layed and all the windows cleaned, so I expect by the time the summer season starts this will all be sorted. A great stay and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had 8th floor sea view and it was perfect (and you get the marina view from a balcony at the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewcastleHolidaygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The outside of the hotel and public need up dating. The deluxe room is very good size colour scheme needs to be a little calmer. Orange wall is a little too bright for my liking. The position of the hotel is right on the beach and the marina absolutely fab. Hotel staff very polite and some also very helpful. Did not have any evening meals there but can strongly recommend the breakfast with everything that you may possibly wish to eat. Eat I did !!!! Didn't quite have champagne with my breakfast but that was available should you wish to indulge!! Next to the hotel pool is there private beach very nice. Will definitely return for another short break

Room Tip: Sea view room quieter than marina side and higher floor especially in the high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notahappybunny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us.
We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay specially the location of our hotel next to the Marina.
We are also very happy to know that you enjoy our breakfast and the service from our staff.
If you have any further queries or comments, please do not hesitate to contact me at: jorge.beldade@tivolihotels.com
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Returned on sunday having spent a fabulous week with my husband-celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. The minute we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed and that continued throughout our stay. The staff throughout were superb, friendly and informative, we were very grateful to the wine waiter at the restaurant overlooking the marina for his advice and knowledge-in particular on Port!! (much appreciated by my husband!) Our room was on the 9th floor and the view over the pool/gardens and sea were beautiful, the choice at breakfast was vast-most important the tea and coffee pots were constantly refilled by the very hard working staff-thank you.We look forward to returning and again thanks to ALL of you, Frank and Sandy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longsuttongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest
First of all, thank you for having celebrated this special date with us and sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay and our service.
We would like to thank your kind words dedicated to our staff that we shared with them. This kind of comments motivates and encourages us to improve our service.
If you have any further queries or comments, please do not hesitate to contact me at: jorge.beldade@tivolihotels.com
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

You really cannot fault the location of this hotel - right by entrance to the marina and a 2 minute walk to the beach. It claims 5 stars and I'd acknowledge that but to be honest, it could do with some TLC - especially outside. Nothing that a lick of paint or a bit of weeding here and there wouldn't sort. Having said that, our deluxe room was very comfortable. The turndown service at night is worthy of mention. Breakfast is really excellent albeit extremely busy at peak times. Pool area is very well-managed although I'd imagine it would be very crowded in summer.

Negatives? - really not that many - wifi is not free - 15 euros a day. That is just a rip-off. No free coffee in room. Some rooms (classic rooms) are awaiting refurbishment so avoid if possible. Basically, a classic room is identical to a deluxe room but the latter is refurbished. If I'm staying in 5-star accommodation I don't expect to be allocated a room which is need of upgrade.

Our main gripe was that for 5 star accommodation, the overall building just needs a bit of a makeover and a clean-up. Would we go back. Yes, at the right price. The Lake Resort at the opposite end of the marina is also a 5-star but it is streets ahead of the Tivoli in terms of its standards.

Room Tip: Avoid classic rooms as they are not refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wulliemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £95 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing