We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy Room, Otherwise Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Noisy Room, Otherwise Perfect”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Overall the hotel is well located, and has everything you can possibly dream of ever needing. The rooms in the upper floor, the ninth, have already been remodeled and are very good.

Only problem was that I got the first room in the corridor, right next to the elevators and I could hear throughout the night not only the elevators coming up and down but as well people talking inside them. This is very unfortunate as it prevented me from sleeping most of the night and woke me up early resulting in no rest.

Otherwise from that, great hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish to sleep well and you wake up easily, don't take the first room in the corridor next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Rita
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel and we sincerely apologize for the noise that disturbed your stay. The well-being of our guests is one of our main concerns.
Looking forward to welcome you back, we apologize once again.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,359
    1,672
    538
    146
    79
See reviews for
1,136
2,113
100
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

called in to look around hotel and the very kind doorman showed me round. The best things about this hotel are the location and the pool area. it has a very modern large reception area and a good outdoor pool area. The bedrooms require updating. I would recommend this hotel more for people wishing to spend a quite week in the hotel or definitely for business clients. The hotel overlooks the beach at the front and the marina on one side. there is a very good though noisy bar on the marina so if you choose a side room I suspect it will be noisier. expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: On the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliedog190773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and the facilities we provided.
The room you booked is part of our Classic category which has a more traditional decoration. However your comments are very important for us and we will take it into consideration in our next refurbishments.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

we have been coming to the Tivoli for many years and have always enjoyed staying there. On this occasion we have noticed the lack of maintenance around the gardens and the rooms are beginning to look a bit shabby. Their beds/pillows are very comfy and mainly the reason we keep returning! The breakfast is still excellent and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Our biggest disappointment was the quality of the internet service in the rooms - my husband needed to connect daily for work and it was a nightmare trying to deal with it. I can never understand why this is such a problem considering the prices they charge.

Room Tip: high floor - and for a bit of the vilamoura atmosphere ask for marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crestcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you back and to know that our breakfast service met your expectations. We would like to thank your words dedicated to our staff.
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by the problem with internet service and we hope to upgrade this service soon.
We assure you that we have taken full note of your comments which we thank you for, since the continuous improvement of our services is an integral part of the hotel policy.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have stayed here before twice, and the last experience 2 years ago was not a good one either. So why did I return you ask!? Well, it is a safe location for restaurants and is convenient. I wanted a quick break for myself, my wife and 15 month old son so I booked this.
I was a little worried when I noticed that the price was only £700 for 6 nights, usually a sign of things to come which I sadly chose to ignore, but I went with it for the location not the price. I have paid £4000 for 7 days here before in peak season.

I'll keep this as brief as I can;
-The price has allowed the clientele to downgrade enormously, it was tattoos and football shirts at dawn!
-The first day we had to endure a group of 8 lobster red, tattoo adorned 50 something guys playing drinking games for 8 hours solid, shouting swearing and behaving ridiculously. A good 5* hotel will never allow bookings of large groups of single men, its a no no.
-The room was awful, not even 3*. We must have got an unrefurbished room, and boy did we feel it! Nasty nasty!
-Bar staff were very rude. We actually witnessed one cocky individual (you know who you are) talking down to a lady asking for a coffee to take out, and when she finally left dismayed he then verbally abused her to his colleague and laughed.
-Breakfast was 'ok' but stick to the fruit and continental if you dont wish to have a massive heart attack due to the amounts of greasy oil used...the eggs were floating in it!
-Reception staff aloof and largely unpleasant, perhaps due to the ever decreasing quality of guest they now have to deal with!
-General hotel cleanliness is poor. Dusty, windows filthy (not good for a hotel made up of 90% glass!) and surfaces/floors unkempt.
-On our penultimate night (isn't it home time yet!?) we ate in Pepper's the hotel restaurant as it was raining. There was about 20% of the capacity seated only, and the staff were turning away angry/hungry guests due to the fact that they had only one chef on who couldnt handle any more covers...pllllleeeeeeeease!
-The spa jacuzzi was cold, the shower didnt work and there was no panic buttons in the sauna or steam room...a death waiting to happen.

I could go on and on on. On a positive note, the staff at breakfast and in the pool restaurant were lovely and fabulous with our son. The food in Pepper's was lovely and we enjoyed that.

Unfortunately, this will no longer be one of those 'safe' holidays for us, and we visited it for the last time. In any case, it has become a haven for stag do's, hen do's and single guys in groups. Such a shame for what once was a lovely, classy venue.

*If you are used to staying 4* and this is a treat for you due to the reduced price, you may well find it lovely if you are not used to 5* and 5* deluxe hotels like myself. For some, it will be a delight I am sure, but I can only be honest to stop others like us making the same mistake.

Room Tip: Sea View nice but a poor view atop the filthy rooftops and windows, Marina View much nicer in my vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are sorry that your last experience did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for the attitude of our staff. We have shared your comments with them and assure you that we will take the necessary steps to guarantee that this will not happen again.
Similar situations are not usual in our hotel. Our overriding goal is always to provide a quality service to our guests.
Our hotel increased the prices in 2014. However, tour operators make discounts and special promotions which turn the price per night considerably lower.
The room you stayed in is part of our classic category which has more traditional decoration but a spectacular sea or marina view and all Tivoli facilities.
Nevertheless, since our guests are very important for us, we would like to apologize once again for the inconveniences caused to you.
We expect to welcome you again soon for we have another opportunity to provide you a pleasant experience at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I took a 16 day vacation to visit Spain and Portugal. We planned this place as our last stop on the journey. We are actually still staying in the hotel as I am writing this review. This place is anything but luxury. We are disgusted and would NEVER recommend this place to anyone.

We checked into this place on Wednesday, May 21st. Immediately upon entering the facilities we were greeted by a very friendly doorman. The check in process was just okay. We had a very unfriendly attendant. Upon arriving to our room is when the problems began. The air conditioning was not working at all. It was 25 degrees Celsius which is not comfortable. We called the front desk and they said maintenance would be up to fix the issue. NO ONE ever came. I called repeatedly. We literally got zero sleep as we both like it cool at night. The next morning, I called repeatedly and finally someone came to the room. He fixed the air within ten minutes and stated the hotel regulates the rooms and keeps them warmer to save money. He turned our room down to 18 degrees. It was perfect. We finally thought the relaxation could begin.

Tonight, the fire alarm goes off at 1:00 due to someone smoking on the roof. After this incident , immediately we noticed the room started getting warmer again. It is now back to 25 degrees celsius. This hotel is a complete waste of money. We called the front desk and no one is here to fix it. We have requested another room and was denied. The gentleman that is listed here as the "general manager" and seems so concerned about guest stays will not meet with you or fix the issue.

We have stayed in some amazing places the past few days and this is by far the worse. The hotel needs some upkeep done to the exterior of the building and the staff is less than friendly. They actually seem mad when you make a request. There are a lot of great looking hotels around this area. Choose another place before paying for this one.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newport103010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We apologize if the hotel service did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have shared your comments with the staff in order to improve our service.
Our air conditioning system is centrally controlled to all rooms and sometimes, due to the different sun exposure, some rooms are warmer than others. Anyway the comfort of our clients is our main aim and we would like to apologize once again.
We expect you to give us the opportunity to change your opinion about our services on a next visit.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 7 days in April.Great location at the end of the Marina,close to several bars and restaurants.Had a room with large balcony overlooking the Marina.Rooms were very large with everything provided - toiletries,robes,slippers,free safe and mini bar etc.
All the staff were very friendly,especially cleaners who not only cleaned the room but returned to turn down the bed and lay out your slippers

As this is a lovely 5 star hotel I expected to have to pay a little extra for beverages,but felt that the prices were way over the top.For example a small bottle of water from the mini bar was 6 euros and a small beer in the lovely bar was 5 euros.

Overall It is a lovely hotel but a shame about the prices

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the facilities we provided and our location in the Marina.
We would like to thank your words dedicated to our staff and apologize if our prices did not meet your expectations.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a very good, 5* hotel in an excellent location. From some of the negative reviews it seems that they stayed in the older rooms which are cheaper.

When booking the choice is between 'classic' and 'deluxe' which seems to mean 'unrefurbished' or 'refurbished'. We stayed 8th floor which is 'refurbished'.

All staff were great, Pool are grounds are spacious. No problem getting a sunbed.

Room Tip: Choose a Refurbished Room. Try the electric bikes at 5 euros per hour are great fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evs_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel and the facilities we provided.
Our classic category has a more traditional decoration but a generous 34m2, a beautiful sea or marina view and all Tivoli facilities.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,527 reviews
2.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Property: Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing