We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We waited 2 hours for a room to be made ready even though we were the only people to arrive at that time?
The room we were allocated on the fifth floor was ok apart from the large blank wall on the balcony obscuring the view of the sea view I had requested. This wasn't. a last minute reservation I booked it in January! We were eventually offered a room on the 8th floor with a proper sea view.
That was ok but things did not get better.
The food in the hotel is over priced and poor. The drinks are expensive and nobody uses the bar or restaurant because of this
We booked a meal in the lakeside restaurant for this evening and we realised the place wasn't open, when I rang the information desk they told me it was not open till tomorrow when taking a booking for a meal in a restaurant you have a duty of care to inform the customer that your booking is not available. This hotel needs to have some one take control at the moment the staff are running this place to suit themselves. Tonight we have no clean towels because the maid never turned up. Last night she came to turn down the beds at 6.30? Tonight she never came at all
It's sad but it's the customers that suffer and ultimately so will this hotel not a 5star

Room Tip: Only book a delux room on the 8th floor around 19 to 24 (middle hotel) sunny on the sea view side bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 490Kath946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are sorry if your stay did not meet your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the mentioned situations. We shared your comments with our staff and we assure you that the necessary steps have been taken in order to guarantee that similar situations will not happen again.
We have taken full note of your comments, which we thank you for, since the continuous improvement of our services is an integral part of the hotel policy.
We would be pleased to welcome you again, so that we can have another opportunity to provide you a pleasant experience at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,789 - 3,795 of 5,393 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel has great location with one side facing the marina and the other the sea. From the outside the hotel looks its age but the interior is certainly 5 star. The reception area is huge and nicely furnished. The front of house staff are excellent. We had to call on the twice as the in room safe stopped working. On the first occasion a new safe was fitted within the hour and on the second occasion the batteries were replaced within 15 minutes. I always think the sign of good hotel is how yes deal with problems and these guys excelled.

We arrived around 11am and the room wasn't ready but we were able to use all of the facilities. We had booked a deluxe room and asked for a sea view on a high floor but originally we were given a marina view on the 4th floor. We had lunch at the pool bar and then I went back to reception and asked if we could change rooms to the sea view requested. Eventually we ended up on the 9th floor with a wonderful sea view.

The room was nicely refurbished but not particularly large with a smallish balcony. The beds are comfortable and bathroom well equipped.

The pool area is really nice with plenty of sunbeds around the pool and in the gardens. We went over Easter so it was pretty early in the season but you could always very easily get a lounger. Even so there was always the few who felt the need to reserve "their" beds and leave them unoccupied for hours. There is a pool bar which serves a selection of drinks and snacks or there is the poolside restaurant if you want something more.

A short walk from the pool and you are on the beach which is well maintained and very clean. There is a selection of beds on the beach which cost uptown euro100 for the day apparently in the high season.

Breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of hot and cold dishes. Various breads and pastries. Are available. The only issue is around 09:00 when it is busy there are no more staff than at 08:00 but a lot more people so it is a little slow but generally it is very good.

There is a nice bar and outside seating area overlooking the marina. On one occasion we decided to go for a quiet drink around 9pm and was faced with what looked like an explosion in mamas and papas! There was an obstacle course of trollies and a crescendo of noise with each toddler vying with each other for their parents attention. I understand that e families are on holiday as we'll but the erection area is about the size of a football pitch and would accommodate families with no trouble yet the hotel seemed oblivious to the issues.

Overall this is a really nice hotel and is a decent 5 star property. So why not 5/5? We'll there are a few issues. The euro2 espresso capsules in the room when you can buy a pack of 10 for around euro3 from espresso or you can get compatible ones for even less. Charging for the beds on the beach in the high season. Not all of the public areas have been refurbished - the toilets on the ground floor by the marina entrance look like they were last decorated when the hotel was built. They offer a turn down service which is very nice but on a couple of occasions the knock on the door was around 5:30 when we were getting ready to go out or how about 11 pm! If you going to offer a service like this it needs to be meaningful. The price of drinks at the pool bar is a bit eye watering and there is also a sign saying that an extra glass of ice is euro2!

Generally great but with a few minor issues.

Room Tip: Book a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divepetem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our location as well as the facilities we provided and we are sorry if our prices did not meet your expectations.
We would like to apologize for the referred situations and for the inconveniences it might have caused you.
Your comments are very important for us since they are the best way to improve our standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Firstly this is not a 5 star hotel, more like a travel lodge, in fact I have stayed in better travel lodges and received better service.

People make allowances if they have a non refurbished room, we had a refurbished room and it is still rubbish quality.

Rooms very basic, you pay for drinks in the room, pay for internet access daily 15 euros.

Staff make you feel like you are bothering them, with exception, the breakfast staff were o.k.

Air condition controlled centrally, never cooler than 23 degrees, on arrival ours made a tremendous noise.

Fortunately we only had two nights when Puro lakeside was open, loud music until 2.00a.m, cannot close windows due to noise as room so hot, cannot wear something in ears to block out the noise if you have children to listen out for.

This has become a place only fit for conference purposes or stag and hen party's.

Do not waste your money on this place even if you think you are getting a good deal.

Avoid at all costs.

As for the Marina itself, second rate food at over inflated prices, not a desirable place to be. Too many large groups of single same sex groups.

Room Tip: Do not use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Bridget
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for the attitude of our staff and for the music from the bar that disturbed your stay.
Your comments are very important for us and we will take them into consideration in order to improve our service.
Regarding the internet service, we would just like to mention that if you sign up to our free loyalty program - GHA Discovery- you will have free WIFI internet as well as other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay.
Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences that the situations you mentioned might have caused you and we expect to welcome you back, so we can have another opportunity to provide you a pleasant experience at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are probably this hotels number one fans and our 21st return for half term lived up to expectations as always! The hotel is an easy taxi transfer from Faro (34 euros). The portering services immediately take charge of your cases and your holiday begins. Reception staff always work hard to please. The hotel is kept immaculately clean. The staff are dedicated, hard working and friendly. We particularly commend the pool bar staff for their welcome and friendliness. The location - marina and beach add to the hotels appeal, along with the fabulous spa, sauna/ jacuzzi / indoor pool and even the hairdressers. Our final meal at Peppers Steakhouse was excellent. Summer Cruise or Marina Vilamoura - the later is the winer! I commend this hotel to you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Julie
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you once again and to know that everything met your expectations.
We want also to thank your kind words dedicated to our staff, that we shared with them and they were very proud of your recognition.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here with my wife and in-laws recently. Its quite a decent hotel. The room was ok. It wasn't one of the refurbished rooms but it was fine. I wouldn't have considered the room a 5* room but the rest of the hotel was better. The breakfast was great with a large selection. The interior of the hotel with the exception of the non-refurbished floors was very nice. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. I did think that the cleaning service was quite lacking. Turndown service frequently arrived at 6pm which was too early and inconvenient. Facecloths were frequently not replaced. Id expect better from a 5* hotel but these are admittedly small irritations. Overall the stay was enjoyable and Id recommend the hotel as a good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: 2 euro for single nespresso capsule in the room seems a bit excessive. Bring your own ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiecuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we would like to thank your words dedicated to our staff.
We apologize if the service did not meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and assure you that we will take the necessary steps to overcome the shortcomings you mentioned.
We much appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from 3rd stay at the Tivoli Marina. Fabulous as always, shall return again later in the year. Have never before dined in the hotel as such a good choice of restaurants in the marina, however a storm blew up one evening so decided to eat in Peppers Restaurant. Fortuitous for us as had the best meal I think I've ever eaten. Tried the Sampler menu and was blown away by it. A fantastic dining experience, good value, excellent wine with great advice from waiter and service second to none with really great presentation and detailed commentary of each course of which there were many. Shall definitely be dining in the hotel on future visits, not to be missed.

Room Tip: Marina views are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Lynda
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It is a great pleasure to know that your stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed your meal at our Peppers Steakhouse as it is the ideal place to taste the best meat with a variety of exquisite sauces.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is really lovely, it is right in the centre of the marina in vilamoura, so close to everthing and beside the beach, pub and restaurants. The hotel rooms are lovely especially if you get a sea view room, big enough rooms and bathroooms. Rooms could do with a little bit of a make over but really thats being particular. The pool area is huge and there are plenty of beds. The downside is that the pool bar and service is very very slow in my opinion and alot more staff could be put on to serve. The lounge beds are free but for a 5 star they are not the best of sun beds a little narrow and no mattress. Beach towels are provided free. No free wifi you have to pay 15 euros for 24 hour use. There is easy access to computer and a printer thought. The hotel staff are a little bit slow in reception especially when there is large crowds. I couldnt let this bother me too much or put me off. The hotel is really beautiful and we have never had a problem. Stayed here a few times now. Vilamoura is very flat so this hotel is great if you are a wheelchair user and walking is easy to all places from hotel. Best spa I was ever in, great service and treatments.

Room Tip: get sea view room and near lift, if you dont like heights better mention this at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Brittany
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and we would like to thank your comments concerning our service so that we can continue to invest in our staff’s training and achieve better results in the future.
Regarding internet service, we would just like to mention that if you sign up to our free loyalty program - GHA Discovery- you will have free WIFI internet as well as other benefits. Sign up on your next visit and you'll also have access to a unique portfolio of local experiences.
Our Angsana Spa provides the best oriental tradition treatments with special focus on the use of natural ingredients, such as local flowers, fruit, herbs, spices and plants. We are glad to know that your spa experience met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
5.1 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £98 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing