We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some attention!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“In need of some attention!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Tivoli on a number of occasions but this will very likely be the last. The location is second to none but a failure to invest in the upkeep of the hotel and continuing to ignore noise related issues means that this is now in the avoid category.

You have to assume that the profit from Seven and Purobeach outweighs the cost of continuing to upset hotel residents year on year.

The staff are great. They are let down by facilities that are deteriorating. This was a 5 star hotel with loads of nice touches but now it's a faded business that survives on some new custom and lots of people who return on a yearly basis and put up with it.

All a big shame really. Just a bit of love, attention and consideration would make this great again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Stanleyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Stanley,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are sorry that this time, your stay did not meet your expectations.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disturb we might have caused you. We understand your frustration and disappointment with your holiday. Nevertheless, we would like to say that we much value our guests and we are making every effort to reduce the negative impacts of the circumstances you referred.
We should also like to mention that we are planning to do some refurbishments during the next year.
These reviews are of primordial importance to us and we will take your comments into consideration.
We expect to be able to welcome you back so that we can have another opportunity to provide you a pleasant Experience.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,402
    1,690
    547
    148
    81
See reviews for
1,148
2,145
103
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We'd already been warned about the non-refurbished rooms so before we arrived, we called to make sure we were in the refurbished rooms. We were told that this was the case, even though the rooms we had actually booked, the classic rooms, were the un-refurbished rooms. The fact you have to pay extra just to get a decent room is appalling in itself.
The wifi internet is ridiculous; not business-grade at all as it claims to be. If you're thinking of paying for internet, don't. Go to reception first to sign up for the club which refunds your internet use bill.
The restaurant selection is poor, with just 2 restaurants and a buffet open at night even though there are around 5 restaurants in total; this means you have to pay extra - yet again - to try different food.

Room Tip: Only book the deluxe rooms or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Alex,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Regarding the rooms, our Classic category has a more traditional decoration but a generous 34m2 and all Tivoli facilities. Nevertheless, we would like to say that we are planning to do some refurbishments during the next year.
Our free loyalty program, GHA Discovery, provides you not only free Wi-Fi internet but also other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel dominates the Marina which has pretty much everything you might require, including lots of shops & restaurants.
The hotel itself was of a good standard, but in our view somewhat short of being 5 star. I believe the hotel is around 30 years old and in some areas is in need of a little updating.
The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming, which is very important, and one or two minor issues that we raised were dealt with promptly.
Our room was a reasonable size and had a balcony overlooking the marina. As someone else has noticed, you do get a fair amount of music etc from the bars & restaurants around the Marina, but with the doors closed and a/c on this didn't create a problem for us. The bathroom was ok, although it had an over-bath shower that was extremely inconvenient for my wife who recently had a serious knee injury. With hindsight we should have asked if it was possible to have a room with a walk-in shower, but in the end we managed.
On occasions the bathroom had an extremely unpleasant 'drain' odour. Upon complaining about this the maid suggested frequently flushing of the toilet and running water through the basin. This did reduce the problem, but we were never comfortable with this issue - a 4/5 star hotel really should positively address this issue as I feel it would probably prejudice us against returning.
The pool and beach areas are nice. For once there were an abundance of sun-loungers and no real need to have to get into the routine of rising early to place towels on chairs which can be extremely irritating. The pool staff were also responsive and friendly.
The breakfast buffet was extensive and generally good quality. We ate twice in 'Peppers' steakhouse in the hotel - and had one good experience and one disappointing one. The food there is a little more costly than around the marina but not dramatically so. In general, we thought the restaurants were a little on the expensive side, but this a more costly part of the Algarve.
The hotel also had a poorly advertised sushi restaurant on the terrace, that we basically stumbled on to find it was really excellent.
The only real negatives were the lack of any evening entertainment within the hotel and the hotel wifi system. We guess that the plethora of entertainment available around the marina is probably the reason the hotel did not offer much. However, this meant the hotel concourse was really 'dead' in the evening.
The free wifi, really only available in the foyer, was hopeless. The advertised cost of in-room wifi service is €15 per day!! We then found out that if you signed up for the hotel membership scheme you could access free wifi for 24 hrs, and could register for this every day. You also get free newspapers. Unfortunately, we found that this wifi service was extremely slow and barely usable. In 2014, this is not good I'm afraid.
A nice hotel, with only a few negatives on issues that could readily be addressed, and all in all we enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: I'd suggest trying to get a room on the pool/beach side that should be rather quieter, even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank al-k-traz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our superb location overlooking the lively Marina with its shops, restaurants and bars.
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you mention and disturb it might have caused you. We shared your comments with our maintenance and IT teams and all the steps will be taken to solve the raised issues.
We would like to thank you on our staff’s behalf. It is always good to see our efforts recognized.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

2nd time we have stayed in this hotel, the hotel & location is perfect. The breakfast is amazing with plenty of choice & includes champagne which we had to celebrate our daughters birthday. We also booked into the spa which was totally relaxing & amazing. When we returned to our room there was a lovely chocolate birthday cake & champagne for our daughter from the hotel, this was a lovely surprise. We recommend the food at menta by the pool this was delicious. Puro beach is great for a total chill & would recommend the cocktails & sangria while listening to some great tunes on the comfy beds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel and we would like to thank you for having celebrated this special date with us.
We are glad that your stay met your expectations but specially, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our birthday surprise for your daughter. It is always good to be able to surprise our guests and share such important moments in their lives.
We look forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

positive
- Beautiful location in the marina, with a large choice of restaurants in the picturesque harbor.
- Beautiful deluxe rooms, nice view from 2nd floor on, very comfortable beds.
- Sumptuous bar on the outdoor terrace, very trendy décor,blissful with the sunset, beautiful views of the marina. A real asset of the hotel.
- Sushi bar on the outdoor terrace, really delicious !!
- Nice breakfast, lots of choice.
-The food in the restaurants is good.
- Purobeach in the garden of the hotel.
- One of the barmaids and the porters were very friendly, also at the reception.
- garden with large swimming pool.
- Very clean
- If you become free member of GHA, free internet, free bottle of water in the room and daily free newspaper (in your own language, even Belgians), very nice touch!!!
- the stories about noisy rooms, we had no problems on the marina side.

Negative
- big hotel, sometimes what impersonal.
- not all the staf is very friendly,
-breakfast restaurant is impersonal, canteen feeling, even the outdoor section.
- AC in the room was not cold enough (minimum 22°) and noisy.
- sunbeds at the pool were quite hard.
-through the many guests was it quite busy in the garden.
- some parts can use some paint (outdoor).

In general a good hotel, good price quality what also very importend is. Price of drinks and food are in the line of the level of the hotel. Did I come back, yes.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room with marina view,they are much quieter. The view is very nice, even nicer than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgiantravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding your less positive comments, we apologize if something did not meet your expectations. We assure you that we have taken full note of your comments and we will take them into consideration.
Concerning our loyalty program, we would like to mention that GHA Discovery provides you also benefits in more than 350 luxury hotels around the world.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Four of us have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Having read the reviews before we went I emailed the hotel to ensure we had Marina view rooms due to the complaints about noise. On arrival we were allocated one sea view room and one marina view room. Having not had a reply from the hotel to my email I again stressed that we wanted quiet rooms. The receptionist went on to say that the sea view room was at the furthest point away from Purobeach where the noise apparently came from so we took her at her word and accepted the two rooms we were offered.
The photos on the hotel website are not of any room we saw! They are dirty, dated with dangerous electrics. Unfortunately, it only got worse. Purobeach is a nightclub, and you can hear it from everywhere in the hotel. This finishes at 2am but the nightclub 'seven' which is also in the grounds of the hotel but at the opposite end (where we had been allocated) goes on until 6.30am. Then you have the shouting noises from the revellers who are leaving the club. This noise goes on at both Marina and Sea view sides so you will not get any sleep. Around the pool all you can hear is people moaning about lack of sleep yet the reception staff are completely unsympathetic as it would appear that they have heard it all before! Three days into our holiday we complained to reception. They told us we could move rooms the following day to a Marina view. As the other members of our party were staying in a marina view room, we knew it would be no better so asked for compensation instead. We were told they would get back to us later that day when they offered us one night accommodation free. This equated to 12 euros per head per night so we declined as it was completely unacceptable. I informed the manager that I would deal with my complaint on my return home. So we spent the week feeling cheated and returned from our holiday more tired that when we had left. Adding to this is the problem that occurs if you wish to leave Vilamoura via taxi. The hotel uses a company who do not have enough drivers and the local taxis are few and far between. We waited 50 minutes for a taxi and eventually the manager got involved and found us a driver to take us to our destination, making us an hour late for our reservation. There is also no wifi in this hotel. They state that you can pay for Swisscom, but the signal is so bad you cannot get online. What 5 star hotel does not have free wifi???? The coffee machine didn't work in our room either and you have to pay 2 euros for a nespresso capsule! The turn down service normally took place before we had returned to our room from the pool at about 5.30pm! What a joke. A tray full of leaflets and two cheap chocolates! Whoever awarded this hotel 5 stars is deluded, it is 3 star at best. I have now placed a formal complaint to Tivoli Hotels and two groups who endorse this hotel (World Hotels Deluxe Collection and Great Hotels of the World).

Room Tip: No room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lisaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Lisa,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Marina Vilamoura with us.
We sincerely apologise for all the inconveniences and especially for the noise, which disturbed your stay. Our aim and goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations and your stay does not reflect the kind of service that we endeavour to provide. We are making every effort to ensure that this does not happen again. Regarding the fact that no free internet service was provided, I would just like to mention that if you sign up to our free loyalty programme - GHA Discovery- you will have free WIFI internet as well as other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay. Although any explanation cannot completely erase the unsatisfying experience you have been through, we hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate, yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Overnight stay here last week between our villa holiday and flight home. Had booked a deluxe twin but on arrival were "upgraded" to a junior suite. I'm not sure it really was an upgrade as it was one of the yet to be refurbished rooms but it was extremely spacious with a separate sitting room and two balconies overlooking the pool and gardens. The hotel is very smart and has everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel including high end drinks prices! The pool area is lovely and we had no trouble finding well positioned sun beds even though it was mid afternoon before we went out. There have been many comments about the nightclubs and yes it was noisy pretty much all night however central Vilamoura is not the place to go for a quiet holiday - by its very nature it is a busy, lively and noisy spot. I'm not sure I could stand it for 2 weeks but for a short break it was great!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Marina will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It is a great pleasure that you enjoyed our hotel and to know that your short break met your expectations.
We look forward to welcome your back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
2.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Property: Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing