We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go to this hotel in a classic bedroom !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Bedlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not go to this hotel in a classic bedroom !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

After visiting vilamoura on a number of occasions we have always wanted to stay in this hotel, being in the prime location on the harbour.
We decided to save and booked to stay for 11 nights at the beginning of August.
Upon arrival we were told our room wasn't quite ready and to wait 10 minutes. TWO hours later we were finally given the keys to our classic room.
Well, what a conversation stopper that experience was!! My initial thought was what was that awful smell? It was just like a dirty vacuum cleaner, dusty smell. The carpet was disgusting, stains everywhere and dust all around the chipped skirting boards.
The decor was just , well, dated, faded and falling apart.
Not to bore you too much, we had friends who had checked in the day before who were also disappointed with their room on the 1st floor. The final straw was the huge cockroach in their bathroom.(surprised a cockroach would even venture into these rooms!!!)
We had put our two dogs into kennels back at home that were cleaner and more modern than this room!
After closer inspection under the bed etc, we couldn't stand to be in the room any longer and asked to be moved out of this hotel as our whole aspirations and dreams had been shattered.
A manager explained to us that we could move to the Tivoli Victoria, a 15 minute drive out of the centre, where we didn't really want to be, but we had no option to agree as we couldn't stay here.
On leaving the hotel, amazingly the staff all sympathised with our situation and I get the impression that this is quite common at this hotel now.
They transferred us to the sister hotel , which was absolutely fantastic. The room was beautiful and surroundings superb.
If the manager tries to defend these rooms in the marina hotel please don't believe anything they say, £2500 for 11 nights b&b, to be put in a disgusting stinking room is impossible to justify.
While staying at the Victoria hotel we spoke to at least 4 other guests with the same tales of woe about being moved from that hotel.
To sum up, an awful situation to be in when you have been looking forward to your holiday all year long.




Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Pauline,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences and disturb caused. Your comments are of primordial importance to us and we shared them with our housekeeping team to guarantee that a similar situation will not happen again. We understand your frustration and disappointment with your failed holiday and we would like to mention that we are planning to do some refurbishments during the next year.
Looking forward to welcome you back, we apologise once again.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,364
    1,676
    538
    146
    80
See reviews for
1,139
2,117
102
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just back from a very pleasant stay at the Tivoli Marina Vilamoura and we were very happy with the stay in general. However, this is more like a good 4* Hotel rather than a 5* Hotel. I am a member of the GHA club (which is free to register for) which entitles you to a free paper each day, free WiFi, bottle of water on arrival etc. We had to request the paper tokens as they were not offered, the water never arrived in our room and the WiFi is so slow as to be almost unusable. The 2nd floor rooms are a little in need of upgrade and a 2e charge for a coffee in the room is daft.
However, the rooms are a decent enough size and cleaned well every day (including chocolates being left in the room), no issues getting seats around the pool, and the staff were excellent in general throughout the hotel. Breakfast was brilliant, lots for a very fussy 11yo to eat which is rare. It is also the best location in the area! It would not take a lot to bring the 5* standard back and I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are pleased to know that your stay met your expectations.
Concerning your GHA benefits, we sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you mentioned and we shared your comments with our staff so that this mistake does not happen again.
We look forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a birthday surprise and loved it..Perfect location by marina ..Huge hotel,Large pool 2,4m so pretty deep!Nice Room overlookin Marina pretty large and comfortable(do understand some comments bout needin bit of upgrade as it is supposed to be 5*)Lovely breakfast esp terrace with everything you could want inc champers!!Free carpark defo plus esp round Marina high season.Tho Absolute joke as no Wifi (this is 2014)Can purchase for €15 a day!!!!Even Ibis is free.Definitely be back.....Enjoy

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for having celebrated this special date with us and for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It is a great pleasure to know that your stay met your expectations.
Concerning internet service, we would like to mention that if you sign up to our free loyalty program, GHA Discovery, you will have free Wi-Fi internet as well as other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay. If you wish, sign up on your next visit and you will also have access to a unique portfolio of local experiences.
We look forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visited this hotel in July and have to say that the hotel does not give the impression of being five-star. When we came over ten years ago, it was superb. Now in a junior suite you have to pay for coffee which I think is over the top as it is one of the better rooms and I think it should be included in the facilities. As for cleaning the room, the maid did a good job, but I am not one hundred percent certain that the room was hoovered every day. Toiletries were not replaced regularly, although the towel service was excellent. The food in the restaurant outside was very good although we only ate there once. Reception was always very busy but this is not a criticism. Breakfast service was excellent with very pleasant staff. Wi-fi is non-existent.

Room Tip: Marina view room essential for quality sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mike,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
We are sorry that this time, your stay did not meet your expectations.
The coffee and tea facilities, available in all rooms, provide our guests the possibility of enjoying a quality coffee or tea in the comfort of the room without moving to the bar. Nevertheless, we would like to thank your comments, since they are the best way to improve our standards.
Regarding housekeeping, we shared your comments with our team in order to achieve better results in the future.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on our next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my family for a relaxing get away.

Location & room - Lovely had a view of the marina in my room lovely, but very noisy of a night due to the nightclub directly below my room but genuinely couldn't fault the room. Air conditioning was amazing! Definitely needed it. The only thing about the location is, there wasn't much to do for us aged between 18-25.

Food - Breakfast food, lovely lots of choice very happy with it all! Always lots to choose from including an array of lovely fresh fruit! Tea/Dinner, not so happy, never ate it once, very little choice in fact a lot of people there at the same time as me did not enjoy the food and went elsewhere for food (lovely little Chinese restaurant close by but you need to book)

Puro beach club, affiliated with the hotel, very very very expensive, lovely club amazing inside went for my birthday but the food was very expensive for the options available.

One thing I cannot fault is on my Birthday when I went back to my room from the pool to get ready for the night I had a knock on the door, it was a member of staff with a cake and bottle of bubbly for me without it being requested by any member of staff and we was not charged for it! Lovely of the hotel to do.

Check your bill if you visit here though, got charged a ridiculous amount for 'wifi' which we didn't use as the family had a strict no mobile phone policy on the holiday, it was refunded after we returned home but only due to a few complaints to the manager of the hotel.

I would say this is an average hotel to be honest nothing amazing.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are alot nicer than those lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Beggy,
Thank you for having celebrated this special date with us and for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your birthday surprise. It is always good to be able to surprise our guests.
Nevertheless, we are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologise for all the inconveniences and disturb caused.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have recently come back from the Tivoli Marina - 10 nights. A fab stay however this was the first time during school holidays!! For excellent service in restaurants book and eat early before the masses, otherwise food is thrown at you!! Plenty of fab restaurants - Don Alfonso, Stracta, La Fragata, La Lamparo - the hotel is excellent but if you like a very quiet room request the Marina view away from hotel bar but that is hardly rowdy!! If you need a transfer from the hotel return defo recommend Yellow fish transfers - excellent all speak English and free wifi in cars - used several times and can say no wrong x get booking and have a fab time x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BW2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent Experience at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It was a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is always good to know that we still meet our guests’ expectations.
We look forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I have been coming to this Hotel for the last 5 years June and September and will keep coming back as it is the best in the area. The staff are very helpful and speak good English. We have stayed on different floors on each visit pool facing on one occasion and would not like to stay on this side of the Hotel again as it can be very noisy from the Bar until 2 in the morning. We always request a Marina facing view and have not been let down once, the view is spectacular. The bars and the Restaurants are all very pleasant and the food is of a very high standard and the breakfast will set you up for the day. The best Restaurants are back from the Marina very good food and service and much cheaper. The best bars for drinks and sport are the 19th Hole and Fiegos, staff are excellent and friendly. The only downfall of the Hotel is when they have the functions and they end up taking over the Restaurant and pool area which they did in June 2014 and the holiday makers were not informed and this caused quite an upset. This will not stop us from visiting again and again which we are doing in September for 10 days.

Room Tip: Have a room marina facing as it is quieter than pool facing with the bar open until 2 AM each day. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Margaret,
Thank you for sharing your Experience of staying at Tivoli Marina Vilamoura.
It is always a great pleasure to welcome you back in our Hotel and to know that we still met your expectations. Our main goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations and provide them the most pleasant Experience.
We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences and disturb caused on your previous stay. We understand your frustration but we would like to mention that, even though it was a big group, all the facilities were available. We are a Congress & Conference Hotel and despite of our efforts, there were situations that we could not control. We do apologise.
We expect your best understanding and look forward to welcome you back in September.
Best regards,
Jorge Beldade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
2.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Property: Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing