We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice locatiion - probably better classed as a 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Pretty much agree with the last three comments, especially the air-conditioning. Although the temparature wasn't too stifling it would have been more comfortable with the temperature lower than the 23 degrees. We did complain about this not working but were told by management staff that this was the optimum temperature for bedrooms!!!! Never heard of this before. A major plus for the rooms....high quality VERYcomfortable beds. Great choice at breakfast. Poolside excellent, no struggle with getting a bed in a quiet location in the garden. The large double poster beds and love chairs are rediculously priced and never used. Drinks by the pool very expensive....Campari and orange 8 euros! Served in a small plastic glass. An excellent cafe on the beach, for lunches to the left about 100 metres walk. Great service, simple food, great location. Think its called Bouzios.
The marina ok for eating with plenty of choice although in the popular restaurants may have to queue!! We didn't!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lastminuteCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,550 - 4,556 of 5,444 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2009

Slopped paint, unplanted planers, broken marble steps...not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. A comedy of errors from the breakfast staff that we named Manuel and Basil. Manuel slopped the coffee while Basil cleared guests tables of their just served coffee and reset them while the guests went to get their breakfast! This happenned 3 times in a matter of minutes while we waited to be served coffee. The room was average but with a dirty floor. I asked my husband to plug in my hairdryer, when he got up he had black elbows...I wore slippers from then on. The good points - we were not bothered by the refurbishment, the food was good and pool area was lovely as were the views from the balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilmaNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was our second time at the Tivoli and it was eveything we wanted. We did change our room for a marina view which was much nicer. This is by far the best location for a hotel in Vilamoura. The rooms have been modernised and re-decorated since we stayed before, three years ago,and have no complaints. We hired a car for the week and there is plenty of parking spaces.The breakfast is wonderful, we only go bed and breakfast as you are spoilt for choice with all the restaurants around the marina. Yes...we will be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshuashoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I had read some reviews about the hotel before we went and had some mixed feelings. Checked in and went straight to our room which was on the third floor, lovely room, lovely decor and a clean bathroom. Breakfast was great and you could get what ever you liked and good selection. We spent time at the pool, clean and lovely restaurant for lunch and reasonably priced. Beach just across the road, very comfortable sun beds for 10 euros for the day, water very cold but great for cooling down. Marina at the back of the hotel and just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. All in all it was a good holiday and staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hobbitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Have been to this hotel twice in the past - last visit 2005 and enjoyed our stays. Aware that hotel had been revamped since our last visit so looking forward to seeing the improvements. Our room was fine and clean and had been redecorated probably within the last 12/18 months. A little on the small side and a nice view of the Marina - night time noise was not a problem with the window shut! Air con in the room was not very effective with little in the way of cool air coming out of the vent - hence the temp in the room never got below 22C! Some nice touches in the room including a new coffee machine - worth taking the time to read the instructions on use!
Breakfast was good with excellent and extensive choice of foods - if you like eggs best get them cooked fresh by the Chef alongside the buffet style food area rather than the slightly dried versions in the food dispensers. Service at Breakfast we found generally fine.
The hotel still has a superb pool and sunbathing area with access to the lovely beach and towels for the sunbeds are provided free for use in the hotel. I understand sunbathing out on the beds provided on the Beach could be rather expensive and noticed one morning that around 4 of circa 150 beds were taken!! Most people content to lie on a towel instead.
We thought food and drink in the Hotel was rather expensive though this is to be expected in a 5 Star hotel - we preferred to dine out in the old town where there are many very good restuarants offering great food at sensible prices (much cheaper and better than on the Marina) - try the local Sea Bass!
Most of the hotel had been redecorated and refitted since our last visit - We felt that it had been done on a budget and whilst it looked quite nice the quality was not as it should be in a 5Star - for example there are a lot of whicker chairs about that appear to be wooden with plastic coating already starting to peel off of some of the furniture - especially outside.
There were occassions when there seemed to be only one or two of the four lifts working which meant a wait and a full lift at busy periods.
Overall though we still enjoyed our stay although it is more of a four star than five we would still return due to the location which is a major plus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabreSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Stayed only 1 night at hotel before traveling off to other parts of Portugal. Hotel location is fantastic, clean open reception, slightly slow reception staff with lots hovering as one dealt with guests. Booked the hotel on the premise that the room would reflect the room shown on line - very mistaken. As other guests have said it was a 70's nightmare, old, dated, musty smelling, and basic. I booked through lastminute.com a room for 3 adults - and had pre-paid. The reception refused to honor the booking and charged a further 44 euro for a put me up bed. It was very cramped. On the positive the rest of the hotel was inviting and spacious. We got very well served in the breakfast hall and by the pool and staff were prompt and pleasant - the room let us down and it was our one day of luxury whilst traveling.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Having stayed at some of the nicest hotels around I have to say that the Tivoli Vilamoura was in my top list and we will defo be returning next year. We chose this hotel on recommendation and after reading some of the reviews I was a bit concerned as we had x 2 small children aged 1 & 2. However from the moment we got there and was shown to our inconnecting rooms we knew we had chose well. The rooms were all modernised and had flat screen tv's which included channel 5 so kids could watch peppa pig and fifi of a morning, the breakfast choice was amazing with something for everyone in mind. Our kids love weetabix but as they didnt have this we just nipped to the very close shop and bought it and used the hotels milk. They also tried all types of omlette, pancakes, full breakfast and fruits. Having 2 small children there was also a kids club but best of all this included free milk, soup, water, a microwave etc so was allowing us to warm our bottles before heading out. The hotel is situated on the marina and our view was across this. Our inlaws were on the pool and sea side 9th floor and the view from here was stunning. We had heard of the noise coming from nikki beach was going to be a problem but we never heard anything of the sort. The pools were clean and were spacious with plenty of sunbeds and paraols, the childrens pool was shallow and very safe along with the pitch and put and play area. We never ate in the hotel other than breakfast as we wanted to try all the restaurants on the marina however the menu for the new steak house within Tivoli looked lovely. As it was my 30th birthday whilst staying my mother in law and I had a spa afternoon and massage..uterly fabulous and definately a must. The prices are reasonable ( as reasonable as they can be with the rate of the euro) and the ladys doing the treatments were of a very high quality..We had the indian head massage which I can highly recommend.
I could go on and on about this holiday as it was a truely fantastic. Dont listen to any bad reviews, they simply arent true.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 37 in Vilamoura
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £98 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing