We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been before but not again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been before but not again!”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Having been to the Algarve before we decided to book a quick week in August to escape the British summer. A bit of sun and relaxation was required. We had stayed at this hotel on two previous occasions before the refurbishment and decided that it would be good choice for a week in the sun. The sun did not disappoint but the hotel did!

Our room was facing the Marina, the quiet side of the hotel now Nikki Beach has arrived on the pool side. It was one of their newly refurbished rooms and although the decor was updated I am not that convinced it was much of improvement on the rooms we had stayed in before. The bathroom was light and bright with both a rain and hand held shower. A new flat screen TV on the wall, better fitted wardrobes and a safe provided the kind of things you would expect from a good hotel.

The main problems during our stay was being woken up every morning at 6am -7am by the locals leaving the newly opened faces club attached to the hotel and the general cleanliness of our room.

The carpet in the corridor was dirty and in need of a good clean, our cleaner appeared not to be able to count towels sometimes not leaving any! The bathroom floor had a hairclip in the corner when we arrived and it survived a full week waiting to be swept up. One day the bottle of shower gel was empty and it took a further day before it was refilled even though the cleaner had been in the room on two occasions in between. There was a layer of dust on the clock radio and the balcony went untouched the whole time we were there. One other issue was that the pillows had a strange smell –didn’t quite spot what the smell was for a few days but after they had changed the bedding which you have to ask them to do, it was obvious that the pillows smelled sweaty- but it was five star sweat!

We still had a great time, with good food at the Marina each night, catching up with sleep around the pool and generally relaxing in the day. Food at breakfast was very good and similar to other establishments boasting five stars.

The hotel is in Fantastic location, brought up to date by its refurbishment but let down by cleanliness, levels of noise and service.

It is now much less of an attractive option for those who want a relaxing week in the sun in a high quality five star environment. There are plenty better hotels in good locations on the Algarve so choose carefully if you want a clean and peaceful break.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,408
    1,691
    547
    148
    81
See reviews for
1,149
2,147
103
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The hotel has a great location with a fantastic pool area, access to the beach and extensive grounds of its own. Having stayed previously, it is currently losing some of its 5 star sparkle with some of the little things suffering but the biggest issue is noise! Not only is Niki Beach apparently a long term feature at the sea view side of the hotel with relatively late music finishes but a club has opened next door to the hotel. The club's customers appear to make their way there at around 3am when the rest of the bars around the area close. If you have a marina facing room to avoid the noise from Niki Beach then you are kept awake by the clubbers as they make their way past the hotel to the club and on their way home at sometime between 6 and 7.30am!!

Not the hotel for you if you are not going to the club or need real rest or have light sleeping children. What a shame. One of Europe's best hotels ruined.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanleyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Tivoli Marina for 10 nights during the last weeks of July. The hotel is perfectly located for the beach, marina and many restaurants that are in the area. We picked the hotel as we like to stay in a nice 5 star hotel to relax and recharge our batteries. To be honest, we wouldn't say it's on par with other 5 star hotels we have stayed in. Maybe because it's very big compared to the other hotels we like and the service wasn't very personable. Also little things like the steps leading up to the back entrance of the hotel could do with being jet washed (maybe this is just me being picky), the little tables around the pool bar looked tired and should match all the other nice wicker furniture. The rooms were very nice and modern and had all the mod cons. I must admit though, the cleaners didn't take away dirty glasses from the night before and never swept the balcony (this should be done if it's a 5 star hotel). The poor area was very good - always lots of beds around the pool or on the grass area. The lunch area around the pool was nice but very expensive compared to the local restaurants and the fab little restaurant we found on the beach (wonderful salads at EUR9 each and very filling). Nikki Beach is attached to the hotel - it's a very cool place and great on a Fri or Sat night. The saxaphone player was very impressive! However, word of warning....a new nightclub has just opened directly next to the hotel called Faces. It looks like a big tent. Apparently it's nothing to do with the hotel but all I can say is that I'm glad we didn't stay any longer at the hotel after it opened because if you have a room facing the marina (which is very nice), you get woken up at 6.30am when the club empties out.....we were woken up every night by drunken people wanting to have fights. If you are a heavy sleeper, you have no worries. I think this will really effect the hotel and it's a shame. Even our taxi driver back to the airport agreed that it's not good news for that hotel. The restaurants around the marina were all superb and we never had a bad meal. The square behind the marina have some fab local restaurants (go up the steps at the side of the Old Navy bar and you can see the square just ahead). Most of the restaurants charge roughly the same (we found that most nights for 2 or 3 courses plus one bottle of wine was coming to around EUR90). This is alot if you eat out every night but we were on holiday so we made the most of it. My partner and I like to run so we used the gym a few days as well. It's basic but done the trick.....take a sweat towel with you as the air con does not work in there! Overall it was a really lovely holiday but I'm not sure we would go back to that hotel now it has the club next to it. Have fun!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieWops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We booked into the tivoli simply for its location. When we arrived we were lucky enough to be allocated a recently refurbished room on the 6th floor. It was great, we overlooked the marina and was able to watch the sunset every evening..
The room decor is light, airy and very contempory in design and ours contained an IPOd docking station that doubled up as an alarm, we also had a flat screen tv on the wall. The beds and linen appear to be brand new and was able to sleep like a baby every night.
The rooms are cleaned upon your request and have tea & coffee making facilities together with a mini bar.
The hotel has many break out areas where you could just chill out.... however the weather was so good we didnt really spend too much time on site.
If you do want to enjoy the pool area... there are two outdoor ones, one adult and one childrens... there seemed to be plenty of loungers available at any time of the day.
The hotel is right on the beach... if money is tight you can get cheaper sunbeds further along the beach rather than at Nikki beach where they are a little more pricey.
One place where we did go to which was free to guests was Nikki beach bar adjacent to the hotel and can be seen through the gardens.... a must as the setting is lush in the evening.
Overal we had a fab time here and would defo stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misswhets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Pretty much agree with the last three comments, especially the air-conditioning. Although the temparature wasn't too stifling it would have been more comfortable with the temperature lower than the 23 degrees. We did complain about this not working but were told by management staff that this was the optimum temperature for bedrooms!!!! Never heard of this before. A major plus for the rooms....high quality VERYcomfortable beds. Great choice at breakfast. Poolside excellent, no struggle with getting a bed in a quiet location in the garden. The large double poster beds and love chairs are rediculously priced and never used. Drinks by the pool very expensive....Campari and orange 8 euros! Served in a small plastic glass. An excellent cafe on the beach, for lunches to the left about 100 metres walk. Great service, simple food, great location. Think its called Bouzios.
The marina ok for eating with plenty of choice although in the popular restaurants may have to queue!! We didn't!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lastminuteCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Slopped paint, unplanted planers, broken marble steps...not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. A comedy of errors from the breakfast staff that we named Manuel and Basil. Manuel slopped the coffee while Basil cleared guests tables of their just served coffee and reset them while the guests went to get their breakfast! This happenned 3 times in a matter of minutes while we waited to be served coffee. The room was average but with a dirty floor. I asked my husband to plug in my hairdryer, when he got up he had black elbows...I wore slippers from then on. The good points - we were not bothered by the refurbishment, the food was good and pool area was lovely as were the views from the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmaNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoreham by sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was our second time at the Tivoli and it was eveything we wanted. We did change our room for a marina view which was much nicer. This is by far the best location for a hotel in Vilamoura. The rooms have been modernised and re-decorated since we stayed before, three years ago,and have no complaints. We hired a car for the week and there is plenty of parking spaces.The breakfast is wonderful, we only go bed and breakfast as you are spoilt for choice with all the restaurants around the marina. Yes...we will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshuashoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
2.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Property: Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing