We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Villamoura.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I have been to the hotel on 3 previous occasions, however gave it a miss last year as it was well over due a refurbishment. The hotel has nearly completed all the refurbishment, ie all the public areas are done and 4 out of the 7 floors are complete, I believe the final 3 floors will be done this winter, so beware and make sure you insist on a refurbished room. Onto the refurbishment, in my opinion, prior to the face lift, the hotel was at best a four star, but I am pleased to say it really does look and feel like a five star hotel. Hats off to the owners, they have done a fine job and with little expense spared too. I still only rate the service as 3 stars as I feel the staff still do not give attention to detail and rarely smile or speak to you. The location however is still the best in the port and due to this I will return next year despit being impressed by The Lakes resort at the other side of the Marina.
A beach view is best, however a room overlooking the Marina also is very pleasant, so you can't lose. The pool and garden areas are also top drawer and child friendly, although you can also find a quiet corner if that suits.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,456 - 4,462 of 5,311 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

We had a long weekend break here and had the most wonderful stay. The staff were attentive and helpful but not "in your face". The location, our room overlooked the marina, was idyllic. The room, although it had not yet been refurbished, was perfectly clean and tidy and all the fittings were in good working order. We travelled on our anniversary and were delighted by the welcome from the hotel of chocolates and fizz to celebrate the occasion. Food was excellent and the breakfast buffet was extensive with all tastes and diets catered for. The gardens and pool area was well maintained and the poolside bars did a nice line in afternoon cocktails.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandit_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

this was our 5th time back at the tivioli marina...this time we got a deluxe double room which was just refurbished.....the pool and loungers were in abundance so never a rush to get a bed by the pool.....we went half board and it was amazing food....the breakfast was fantastic and so was lunch....the hotel was immaculate and the staff very pleasant....if anyone doesnt like this hotel they must be very hard to please the only complaint i had is that i wish i was there for 2 weeks instead of one!!!!!....

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella11NIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Having read several negative reviews before our holiday at this resort in mid-August 09, I was a little apprehensive whether we had made the right choice. However, I must say that none of my fears were realised and we had a great stay at this excellent hotel. We had a marina side room on the 9th floor with spectacular views of the marina. This side of the hotel was in shade all day and so it was pleasant to sit out on the balcony and watch the boats coming and going. We did not experience any of the noise from club-goers that other reviewers have mentioned. Our room was one of the newly refurbished ones and was in great condition, with no complaints on any score. The maid service we found to be excellent and all staff were freindly and efficient. The breakfast buffet is as great as everybody has said and operates from 7 - 11am, so still time for a lie in each morning. The outside pool is very big and there was plenty of room to swim about as it did not get crowded. It did get very busy on the sunbeds, with very many selfish people leaving towels on beds all day only to use them for a short time. ( having stayed in villas rather than hotels for many years now I see this practice has not died out!!) however, the pool areas never felt overcrowded - due to this "missing" people. Even when we went hunting for a sunbed in mid-afternoon, we never failed to find the 3 beds we needed and a sunshade. Pool area very clean and a nice bar and service poolside.
We never ate in the hotel in the evening, preferring to go out to the many restaurants in easy walking distance. My main tip would be - dont eat at the restaurants on the marina itself - they are fine but expensive! Go to any restaurant in the side streets off the marina and you will not be disappointed on quality and price. Particularly go to the 3 squares to the back of the main marina strip. Go up the steps next to the irish pub, cross the road and go up the road opposite. There are 3 squares off of this road in about 100yds, with great food. Our favourite became the italian restaurant in the 3rd square called Bocca Della Verita. Great food, service and comparable cost. Nearer the hotel there is a great seafood restaurant - turn left coming out of the hotel main entrance, and it is about 300 yds on the other side of the road - up some steps.
Clothes shops around Vilamoura are hugely expensive. Go to the Forum Algarve shopping centre outside Faro for a better selection and cheaper prices. There is a bus that goes from outside the next hotel along that takes about 20 mins and stops outside the Forum. Just ask the driver as the stop is not on the schedule list.
All in all great break and I would recommend the hotel. maybe 4.5 stars rather than 5, but we had no complaints except about other guests!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeefandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

"My girlfriend and i stayed at the Tivoli vilamoura marina hotel for 4 nights in June and i have to say it was excellent.

Hotel
The hotel itself was impressive to say the least, large modern lobby, golf and activities counter in the lobby. The hotel was very clean, modern, spacious and very impressive.

Rooms
After reading the reviews and speaking to the hotel it was clear that some rooms in the hotel have been renovated (called deluxe rooms) and some still have the old fashion design (floors 1,2,7) We managed to get upgraded to a newly renovated room and it was worth it. Stunning room with plasma TV, king size bed, iPod speakers, excellent balcony, modern bathroom and just very well decorated. Compared the very old fashion rooms that I would not pay the money for.

Pool
The pool was clean, not too cold or busy. Sun beads where very comfortable, large towels supplied, cool music, quiet whilst still kids pool and swings to keep the little ones happy

Location
Could not beat the location. Situated on top of the marina you could not get any closer to the many bars and restaurants. Also located on top of the long beach

Nikki beach.
I herd that the noise from nikki beach can be a problems but I nether noticed. Put the a/c on and keep the patio doors closed for a quite nights sleep. Nikki beach itself is well worth a visit. The lakeside bar with cocktails and cool music makes it a very trendy place to be.


Bad points
There where very little bad points about this hotel but still a few. The hotel staff is not the most helpful and while the breakfast was impressive the half board dinner buffet was not the best. The food from the pool bar was not the best either but there is an excellent beach bar just outside the hotel.

All in the entire hotel was excellent and probably the best I have stayed in, I would highly recommend this to anyone. Apart from the old fashion rooms you will struggle to find anything other then little petty things wrong with this hotel."

Top Tip:"Ask for a newly refurbished room or pay the extra for a delux room. Trust me it is worth it.

Instead of eating around the pool visit the beach bar outside for brilliant lunch time food.

Check out the many restaurants and bars on the marina"

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Having been to the Algarve before we decided to book a quick week in August to escape the British summer. A bit of sun and relaxation was required. We had stayed at this hotel on two previous occasions before the refurbishment and decided that it would be good choice for a week in the sun. The sun did not disappoint but the hotel did!

Our room was facing the Marina, the quiet side of the hotel now Nikki Beach has arrived on the pool side. It was one of their newly refurbished rooms and although the decor was updated I am not that convinced it was much of improvement on the rooms we had stayed in before. The bathroom was light and bright with both a rain and hand held shower. A new flat screen TV on the wall, better fitted wardrobes and a safe provided the kind of things you would expect from a good hotel.

The main problems during our stay was being woken up every morning at 6am -7am by the locals leaving the newly opened faces club attached to the hotel and the general cleanliness of our room.

The carpet in the corridor was dirty and in need of a good clean, our cleaner appeared not to be able to count towels sometimes not leaving any! The bathroom floor had a hairclip in the corner when we arrived and it survived a full week waiting to be swept up. One day the bottle of shower gel was empty and it took a further day before it was refilled even though the cleaner had been in the room on two occasions in between. There was a layer of dust on the clock radio and the balcony went untouched the whole time we were there. One other issue was that the pillows had a strange smell –didn’t quite spot what the smell was for a few days but after they had changed the bedding which you have to ask them to do, it was obvious that the pillows smelled sweaty- but it was five star sweat!

We still had a great time, with good food at the Marina each night, catching up with sleep around the pool and generally relaxing in the day. Food at breakfast was very good and similar to other establishments boasting five stars.

The hotel is in Fantastic location, brought up to date by its refurbishment but let down by cleanliness, levels of noise and service.

It is now much less of an attractive option for those who want a relaxing week in the sun in a high quality five star environment. There are plenty better hotels in good locations on the Algarve so choose carefully if you want a clean and peaceful break.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The hotel has a great location with a fantastic pool area, access to the beach and extensive grounds of its own. Having stayed previously, it is currently losing some of its 5 star sparkle with some of the little things suffering but the biggest issue is noise! Not only is Niki Beach apparently a long term feature at the sea view side of the hotel with relatively late music finishes but a club has opened next door to the hotel. The club's customers appear to make their way there at around 3am when the rest of the bars around the area close. If you have a marina facing room to avoid the noise from Niki Beach then you are kept awake by the clubbers as they make their way past the hotel to the club and on their way home at sometime between 6 and 7.30am!!

Not the hotel for you if you are not going to the club or need real rest or have light sleeping children. What a shame. One of Europe's best hotels ruined.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stanleyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,290 reviews
2.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £96 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing