We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to fault here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
NL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not much to fault here”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed for 8 days in July. Rooms are very good. we had a recently refurbished room on the Marina side. Marina side can be noisy late at night, if you sleep with the balcony doors open, due to late night revellers when pubs close.
staff in hotel are extremely friendly and helpful.
Good selection on the breakfast buffet, with chef available to prepare egg based dishes.
outside pool is extremely cold. There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool and on the beach.
Good selection of snacks and dishes at the pool side restaurant. Dinner Restaurant is massively over priced, but around the marina there are some really good restaurants.
We also paid over the odds for a taxi booked through the hotel. Confirm the rate in advance if you do this.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,410
    1,691
    547
    149
    82
See reviews for
1,150
2,150
103
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This hotel could be a five star but needs to adress a number of issues some have been mentioned in previous reports. There is a nightclub called Faces which is part of the hotel complex and the patrons from the nightclub woke me around 6/7 am most of the eight nights we stayed in the hotel.We had two rooms on the eight floor with a nice view over the marina but young people were on the street outside making lots of noise after leaving the nightclub. If you need a taxi do not ask reception to call you one as the hotel seems to have an arrangement with a private company and when the taxi arrives it will not have a meter or roof signs and will cost you at least 50% more for the trip. There is a taxi rank closeby much cheaper. A taxi from the airport in Faro to the hotel cost us €33.The Gym is very small and a number of the machines not working. The breakfast room is a large 'feeding' area but the food and service at breakfast is good. A number of the lift buttons are damaged, Shampoo is of poor quality.We stayed in the 4 Star Fairmont Hotel in Monte Carlo in July and our family have commented that the Fairmont is a much superior hotel. A good restaurant in the marina is IL Lamparo and there is a good chinese restaurant in the marina area also,Prime Steak House is good too and cheaper than Peppers in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welling , kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

great rooms. breakfast was one of the best i have had.. locally a great choice of restaurants.
the pool was freezing and looked dirty, bugs and a film of dirt.
the area was lovely. views over the marina really nice..
the side door closes by 10.30.. a little early.
the beach area was nice but pricey.
no trouble finding a sunbed by pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Booked this hotel after reading the brilliant reviews. The views are impressive, with the marina on one side and the beach on the other. We arrived at 12 o clock, but were told that we could not check in till 2pm - so, we went for lunch and returned at 3pm to find that our room was still not ready so we had to wait in reception. When we got to room 128 - we found it to be very dated - and dirty, The carpet was heavily stained - the patio was filthy. The patio furniture was tatty. When we pulled back the bed covers, they were heavily stained. At this point, we contacted reception and asked to be moved to another room. The manageress came to look at our room, and said she would see if we could change rooms, she told us that due to the fact that we had only paid £200 per night, this is the standard to be expected for that rate, and that we were told at the time that the room needed renovating (not!). We moved to room 221, this was equally tatty, except for the new white bedding. We had no option but to accept this room
There was a long queue to get into breakfast, which was very chaotic
There was a queue to get your beach towels, and then hard to find a bed that did not already have a towel on it. Housekeeping is hit and miss. Sometimes the bins got emptied, the coffee cups and glasses never got washed. On the last night I had to have the room sprayed, as the wardrobe was full of ants. The hotel is scruffy and very dirty. The steps leading to the marina are dangerous, with huge chunks missing. I stayed at the Vila Sol apartments in June, they are fabulous, and definately 5*. If they offered me a free week here, I would say "no thanks" there are numerous other complaints, too many to mention !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yendesk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

To anyone staying in Vilamoura I would recommend this hotel based on its location. It is right on the beach and right on the marina. You can stroll out of the hotel and eat in any of the restaurants around the marina. Yes these are for tourists, and priced accordingly, but you're on holiday, what do you expect?
We travelled with our 4yr old son, so had we been in a location requiring a shuttle bus or 30 minute walk, we would have been more likely to stay on site and eat in the hotel restaurants most evenings. Because of this, I can excuse the lack of variety among the hotel's own restaurants.
As for the hotel itself:
Rooms: beautifully decorated, with a very comfortable bed. We had a junior suite, and were very pleased that the bedroom had a door which closed properly. However, there didn't seem to be any complimentary water in the hotel room. I have been so used to this in hotels around the world these past 10 years, that it came as a bit of a shock. Also, I was on the pool side, and there are no lights on the balcony, which again seems odd.
Pool area: very large, and we were always able to find sunbeds, in spite of the "bed savers" who would be down with their towels from 8.30am onwards. That really shouldn't be necessary in a 5* hotel. There was not much shade around the pool deck. Also, the kids' pool was only 40cm deep, while the main pool was 1m19 at its shallowest point. There was nothing in between which would suit 3-7yr old children. And the children's playground was completely unshaded, so that the plastic slides etc. were too hot to use in the middle of the day.
All in all, this is a good looking hotel with all the necessary facilities in a perfect location, but compared to other 5* hotels I have stayed at, there didn't seem to be that little extra attention to detail which makes guests feel special. For example, we met one couple on their fourth visit, who didn't even receive a verbal "welcome back" acknowledgement.
These are the touches that make guests want to return.
For all that, there is nothing wrong with the hotel, and its location trumps anything that the Hilton etc. may have to offer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yendesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stay in a lot of 5* hotel's and this one sure topped the icing on the cake,
NOt that it was any different from a lot of the 5*s but the location and the view says it all.
weould we go back again. defently would.
management and staff were excellent, and big thank you to alexandra who helped organise the suprise beach dinner and suprise gift in room for my husbands birthday. so thank you alexandra you were great.
the pics says it all of the hotel and the location that i will uploading .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Let me be clear that this hotel is not bad, but for the price you pay (and the price you will pay for food and drinks) it is not value and is definitely not 5*. Villamoura is nice but very touristy and restaurants are to match - providing substandard food and service at expensive prices.

Hotel has all amenities to call itself 5*. indoor and outdoor pool, pool service. spa, gym, beautiful lobby, multiple restaurants and great location right by the marina and beach but this is not the only thing that should determine if you are 5*. Other things to consider are the following. i will outline the issues i had and hence why i don't think this is a 5* and why i would never go back.

1) Service - in bars, in restaurants, at reception, concierge desk - staff generally lazy.
order water at the pool bar - no glasses, no attention (waiter to busy talking to friend....you are supposed to be working not having fun...)
Order food at the restaurant - 'forget' that we ordered starters and wine!.
At reception - no smile and no acknowledgment that you are there. Wait 15 minutes. Understaffed.
Concierge desk - would refuse to recommend restaurants in local area. No detail in anything that is said. booked a fishing trip with awful company. surely 5* hotel should vet its suppliers.
The attitude of staff is generally lazy - there are some exceptions but it will annoy you. We stayed for 5 days and it really became too long to suffer the incompetence
2) Quality of Food
Purobeach food is good, breakfast is varied and good (but EUR23 if paying separately) but the menta restaurant is terrible. And you will pay over london prices for a salad that can be made in 2 minutes at home (EUR10), a burger that has been made from frozen (EUR 10) and frozen prawns - freshly fried though (EUR13). All prawns except at purobeach are also not fresh or local. you will notice immediately.
3) Variety of Food and Drinks on Offer
Which 5* hotel only has orange juice in the restaurant and charge you EUR5.50 for the privilege. Do you realize people on holiday, in the hot sun, may want a refreshing fresh juice or smoothies - made to order. you are 5* aren't you?

Very disappointing. Talk to the locals. they will tell you this is a money making machine and is not 5*. A big shame.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bp98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
2.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Property: Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing