We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite As Good As It Used To Be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Went back for our 4th visit as this hotel had always stood out as a particularly excellent one but overall this time it was not quite as good as we had experienced previously . Of course the location is second to none but in many ways it has become a little more average . The service was mixed ranging from excellent from the housekeeping staff but while some of the front desk staff were excellent others definitely were not!

The breakfasts are excellent with so much choice and great service , this time we decided to try out Peppers restaurant for an evening meal but the atmosphere was not great and the food just ok , not as you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.I would definitely stick to eating out at one of the marina restaurants instead ( Mayflower is good , and Don Alfonso's just off the marina is superb - food and service are both excellent even if the location isn't .). Room service which we used on one occasion was very good and not overly expensive.

The rooms are great - we again made sure we had booked a refurbished room overlooking the marina which had some new touches like an ihome media unit along with the flat screen tv and great coffee making facilities but are generally more 4 star than 5.Try and avoid a room near the lift though as we were woken several times most nights in to the early hours with people returning from a night out and making their way to their rooms.

Overall still a great break but we'd say its a good 4star and we'd probably return sometime .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,217)
There are newer reviews for Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,287 - 4,293 of 5,217 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

This hotel has had a face lift with the exception of the first two floors which have been left behind in the 70's. Our first room was on these floors had a smell of drains, chipped bathroom furniture, twin beds and was no better than a bad 3 star room. The supervisor/manager at the time of our check in, ANIBAL TENAZINHA, was completely useless in trying to help us in relocating or making the twin room more comfortable and made no effort to help us, rather, he preferred to be rude and smug. Thankfully we did get assistance on the second visit to reception from a more helpful member of staff who's assistance put the so called manager to shame.

After a long struggle we upgraded, at cost, to one of the better rooms, which were fine, but the hotel is overpriced and service generally poor, certainly not 5 star. One of the plus points for us was the private beach but this was soured by having to pay for sunloungers, something we've never done in a 5 star before.

Another negative was that the room walls were paper thin and we were constantly wakened through the night and in the morning by people in other rooms.

In summary, massively overpriced and very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenny2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed 1 week in the Tivoli; initial impressions were not great as our plane landed at 9 and we could not check into the room until after 2. Having been up with 2 young kids at 3am to make the flight, not in the best of moods! However we had access to the pool etc which was great.
Initially room was disappointment. We had a junior suite, but in unrefurbished room - this was what our tour operator booked supposedly. However, our travel agent sorted this out and 2 nights later (after weekend rush) we were upgraded free gratis. New rooms are much nicer. Junior suites are great - bedroom was big to fit 2 cots, and then with door closed we had essentially our own living room with balcony, spot on. Aircon quiet and unobtrusive. Good selection of movies and we could buy all for €15 for the week - great value.
Ate one night on the balcony with room service - excellent food, price not exorbitant (in line if not below any 5* hotel I've visited)
No problems with the noise levels at all, as nightclub was closed. Could see this being an issue at the height of summer.
Kids room is a great idea - complimentary soup and milk for bottles and microwave for heating it.
Kids pool also great, lots of floating toys. Water a bit cold in the morning though. No problem securing loungers, few people leaving out towels in advance. Puro beach club nice, but expensive for loungers. Main pool decent too.
Breakfast was superb, as good as I've had in any 5* hotel. Very extensive selection, all of high quality. A few toaster hoggers was the only issue!
Most nights ate on restaurants on the marina. All are child friendly, and some have good kids menu i.e. more than the standard nuggets and chips.
All in all a great hotel, pricey but you get what you pay for in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedarkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

After reading previous reviews this looked like the perfect hotel and location to start our stay in Villamoura.
Were only booked in for one night, then off to As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, Vilamoura. Very quick and easy transfer from the airport with Faro Airport transfers.
Nice greeting at the check in desk. When I booked I had requested a non smoking room. I confirmed this again at the time of check in. We had booked 2 standard doubles non smoking. We arrived at our room at 11.30pm and were exceptionally disappointed at the standard of the room very poor for a 5 star hotel, one of our rooms had an exceptionally strong smell of cigarette smoke. It took 3 telephone calls and a visit to the check in desk to get another room. This was not fun at 12.30am we all needed a good nights sleep. The staff were very unhelpful, and we were told many times that there were no other rooms available! We were eventually given 1 new room on the 9th floor. This room was a much better standard and more what you would accept.
The night we stayed was a Saturday in August, the noise from outside the hotel (our room was Marina facing) was very loud, I was unable to sleep until it stopped at 4am ish.
The hotel breakfast was excellent, location good for the Marina excellant views of the Marina.Overall glad we were only here for 1 night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We were really impressed on arrival as we were able to check in 3 hours early which was handy as we have a 2year old child.Our room was on the 8th floor and had been recently refurbished.Must addmit it was smaller than expected but lovely!Maid service twice a day.The view was superb,looking over the marina.I know previous reviews have mentioned noise issues but we had no problems.
The pools are fab as is the spa.A bit disappointed with the kids play room as there were no toys etc.Also disappointed that kids are not welcome in the bar and there was no evening entertainment.Peppers resteraunte was nice but pricey,we mainly ate on the marina-great choice.
I wouldnt recommend the hotel to families with young children but great for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My friend and I had the pleasure of a 5 night stay at the Marina Vilamoura recently to coincide with my birthday. The facilities at the hotel are excellent including a wonderful spa. The location at the end of the marina is also superb which enabled us to enjoy all the local restaurants and bars. The hotel then delivered a touch of class on the evening of my birthday. On returning from the spa, I found champagne & a chocolate cake had been deivered to my room from the Regional Operations director. It made a lovely break just a little bit special. Very impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddigirUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We paid about 180 Euros a night for a six night stay and well worth it. A word of warning, the upgraded rooms are superb, and the ones that are standard havent been touched in 30 years! Sooooooo glad we paid the difference, and the sea views were amazing too. Food was also very good, beach beds worth the 28 Euro a day, and the Sangria (with rose wine) really nice too. Great roomy pool area was never packed, tennis court easy to book, weather was amazing and lunch at the poolside bar was OK, wine around 20 Euros a bottle and burger 10 Euros. Great location for walking the Marina, but we were a little disappointed by what Vilamoura (and the Algarve in general) had to offer, but that's no fault of the Tivoli. Overall, great stay, 10 hours sleep a night and excellent service. Just dont skimp, and pay the upgrade...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Address: Marina de Vilamoura, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £107 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the famous Marina on one side and its own concessioned beach, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura is a reference for luxury tourism in the Algarve. A stage for large events, important meetings and the launch of new products, the congress centre of this 5-star Vilamoura hotel has a capacity for 3200 people simultaneously. The lively social and nightlife of Vilamoura attracts many local celebrities from different areas who come to enjoy the holidays and weekends of complete relaxation, where there is plenty to do such as shopping, a visit to the casino and golf. In the gardens of this resort in the Algarve, guests can pamper themselves at the Angsana Spa choosing from a vast range of invigorating treatments in the best oriental tradition and enjoy delicious delicacies in the hotel's restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing