We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment residences in a gated community”
Review of Pinhal da Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinhal da Marina
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great apartment residences in a gated community”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were lucky to get a top floor 3 bedroom, 2 bath apt with a large balcony with a great view south toward the coast and harbor. The 2 major bedrooms are very tiny, so you have to use hallway closets. The 3rd bedroom was little more than an L-shaped closet with 2 single beds, so we just used this as a storage closet. On the other hand, the kitchen, dining room and living room were very spacious. We cooked many of our meals ourselves and had scenic meals on the balcony, but of course there are many nice pubs and harbor side restaurants in the center of town - an easy 15-20min walk from the resort. There are also some supermarkets within walking distance in town (Eg, Spar) where you can get a good variety of groceries, spirits and cooked take-out food. The grounds, gardens and pools are very nice and the whole gated community is very comfortable and secure. The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful, but be sure to arrive before the 6pm closing time for Reception. The general location of the resort is on a hillside in a pleasant neighborhood, away from noise and traffic, but easily accessible to the central harbor village or the lengthy beach. In summary, a very nice place for a quiet vacation near the sea for either families or adults, but be advised of the very small bedrooms.

Room Tip: Adults - Try to get a top level suite with a balcony facing south-west. Families - try to get a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good morning,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Pinhal da Marina. We are indeed pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us. We agree that some apartments have smaller rooms. In fact, Pinhal da Marina was designed and built in different stages. The architect who was in charge of the initial phase was a very prestigious and award-winning professional. He had a very particular conception of houses in which rooms were only for sleeping and so did not need to be large. On the contrary, he thought that the living room, balconies and kitchen had to be spacious to allow family gatherings. When this architect died, another professional worked on the final phase of the construction of Pinhal da Marina, he maintained the same set of architectural features but with larger rooms.
Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    160
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
146
166
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location, quite and peaceful surroundings.
Reception staff were excellent,friendly and extremely helpful..
We were in a 2 Bed Apartment , very spacious and clean.
The kitchen area was old fashioned and could do with a revamp.

Room Tip: If staying in 2 Bed make sure to request top Apartment as others in the block are not as bright !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerrymcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Good morning,
Thank you very much for your review. We are indeed glad to hear that you enjoyed the settings and service at Pinhal da Marina.
We are in the process of modernizing some of our apartments and all our studios with view over the gardens have been refashioned this year. We will work on the two and three-bedroom apartments and hope to have it ready for your next visit!
Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamento Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A lovely holiday in a lovely location was spoilt by one thing.

We were staying as a group of 3 in an apartment that was meant for 4 people but on arrival were shown to the balcony which only had 2 sun loungers on it.

Later that saw day we went to reception to ask for at least another mere little plastic chair so all 3 of us could comfortably enjoy the balcony and were point blank refused.

Tina the house keeper was one of the most rudest people I have ever had the unfortunate experience of coming across in all my years as an experienced traveller. She was harshly spoken, rude and completely unapologetic.

She told us that because we had a balcony we were not entitled to another chair and only those on the garden level were and there were no spares.

I understood her point that to make allowances for me would mean making allowances for everybody but it is after all a 4 stat establishment and I am a paying customer.

To make matters worse the day after I saw a party of 4 people sat around a table on 4 chairs with FOUR SPARE PLASTIC CHAIRS stacked to the side of them.

It was more the attitude of Tina that angered me most. The usual receptionist was lovely and I am sure she would have dealt with it in a much more hospitable manner.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowball112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the inadequate service you experienced with Tina and for the inconvenience caused. Tina has been a member of our staff for over 20 years and her availability and friendliness has always been highly praised by our customers.
Indeed, Pinhal da Marina offers a variety of solutions with apartments with direct access to the gardens or not, overlooking the pools or gardens, with small or large balconies. Consequently, we offer different conditions and at certain times of the year, occupancy levels do not allow specific adjustments in the equipment provided. To avoid such problems in the future, please let us know in advance if you would like get extra equipment and we will certainly do our best to meet your needs.
Kind regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from 11 night stay at this wonderful complex.We arrived late owing to our flight delay We were met by a lovely lady receptionist checked in and taken to our apartment,it was really superb very large,spacious kitchen good bathroom / toilet,very large balcony with 2 sun beds.Our first day we strolled down to the Marina,about 20mins longer back uphill ok as long as your not carrying provisions.Recommend you get taxi (around 4euros) because of the hill,but well worth it.We found the Marina a little pricey,best,just off the main area.Back to Pinhal da Marina cleaned every day, spotless balcony Sun 10am - 6pmWe did shop around and for what we paid exceptional value The staff are very friendly and pleasant and can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable Would we recommend this complex Most Certainly we would Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Block 70 1st floor all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sky87blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback which we are so happy to read! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Pinhal da Marina and it would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The staff are absolutely wonderful and the receptionists were very helpful when we needed help with our return flight.The apartment was huge & very light & airy with all the storage & wardrobe space you would expect at home.
It was quiet & peaceful surroundings within a great location.
This was our first visit to the Algarve and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Adrian,
Thank you for your preference and for taking the time to send us some feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Pinhal da Marina and that our staff was helpful.
We hope to see you again soon,
Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

There was 5 of us, two couples with our son. We had an absolute blast. Very clean, tidy, quiet. Always lots of sun loungers available even at lunchtime (no need to get up early!) 15 min walk to the marina/McDonald's/mini golf etc. Food in restaurant is well priced and something for everyone. I have seen other reviews moaning about the restaurant staff being rude it looks like it's being run by only one man and he struggles when it's busy. It's not his fault, if you just bear with him he's very friendly. I can't complain about it at all. Our hob broke on a sun evening, I called to report it, they changed it over within 30mins. Very good service if you ask me. Would recommend and revisit. If you go, you'll not be disappointed.
One final note, we used the recommended babysitting service and would also use that again. Although most restaurants are happy to cater for children.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Carly,
First of all, thank you for booking your Algarve holiday with us and for your comments about our staff. It is very important for us to receive feedback about the baby sitting service and we are indeed happy that you would recommend it.
Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pinhal da Marina is a very quiet place to stay with very good value for money. The apartments are a bit old but are spacious and clean. The restaurant is a bit busy for breakfast but quiet for lunch. The pool has the correct dimension and we spend there a very pleasant time. Staff is nice and helpful.

Room Tip: An apartment with view to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macarravilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Pinhal da Marina. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal da Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal da Marina

Property: Pinhal da Marina
Address: Praca 3 Caminhos | Quarteira, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-439, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinhal da Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinhal da Marina Apartments 10/15 minute walk to the Marina for restaurant's, bar's, shop's, and the casino, with a choice of 2 excellent golden sandy beaches either side of the Marina. The Vilamoura golf courses are all within a five minute drive. "Pinhal da Marina" itself comprises of 128 apartments (from studio to 3 bedroom apartment) all furnished with air conditioning in the living room, heater in the bedrooms, satellite tv, a safety deposit box, and if your clients are eating in, the kitchen's are equipped with cooker's, micro wave oven, toaster, tea-coffee facility's and cooking utensils. A feature of the apartments is the spacious veranda's overlooking the gardens or swimming pools where you can sit and watch the sun go down with your favourite beverage in hand. "Pinhal da Marina" host's two large outdoor swimming pool's, a child's paddling pool, a children's playground, restaurant/bar, tennis court, and football, volleyball, basketball area's. Wi-Fi is free of charge in common areas (pool and reception) at Pinhal da Marina Pinmar restaurant is located at Pinhal da Marina by the main pool and it is open from Abril to October. Every day you can have meals a la carte or choose to have half / full board regimen. Also you can have a snack or drinks all day long. Continental breakfast is served daily from 7 am to 10 am (extra cost per person/ day). O Pinhal da Marina is a great place for family holidays and self-catering holidays all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pinhal da Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinhal Da Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing