We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apartments”
Review of Pinhal da Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinhal da Marina
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice apartment complex with restaurant/bar and 2 swimming pools, sunloungers, table tennis, pool table etc sited in a large fenced area with spacious gardens. There is a reception area to cater for the guests and the staff were very helpful. We were a party of 2 families with 4 kids in total. It worked very well and we spent a lot of time at the pool and used the bar/restaurant a lot. The receptionist (Claudia) gave us good advise where to eat, where to buy shopping, and she booked us taxis etc and helped us have an enjoyable stay. It is well located, around a 15 min walk to the marina and 5 minutes to the local supermarket. The décor of our apartment was a bit dated but everything was clean, functional and tidy. I would recommend this place for families with children, but there were a mixed bag of guests, some Spanish, portugese, german, irish and English.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MerlinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Good afternoon,
Thank you very much indeed for your nice comments. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you and your family again soon.
Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Pinhal da Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were on the third floor with no lift and could only access it by walking up and down 54 steps at a time. No mean feat in the blistering heat!!! Breakfast was okay but never had any variations throughout our two week stay! It is 10 minutes walk to the nearest supermarket and would benefit from having one on the site. Also at least 20 minute walk to the marina. Not a place for the fainthearted with all the walking from one place to another. Wi-Fi was not available consistently and could only be accessed, sometimes, in the lounge or reception area. Also, no air-conditioning in the bedroom so this affected my sleep somewhat. Didn't realise till we got there that reception is not 24-hours and although reception staff are very friendly and helpful and request maintenance support, this is not always forthcoming. Not one of the worst places we have stayed but would have appreciated knowing about hit and miss Wi-Fi and selective air conditioning etc.

Room Tip: Just be aware that you may end up on the third floor and no lifts but lots of steps to negotiate.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending us your comments concerning your stay at Pinhal da Marina.
We offer accommodation with direct access to the pools and gardens as well as apartments on higher floors (of which some have lifts). The apartment you stayed in on the 3rd floor does not have a lift but is very demanded as it offers more privacy (no neighbours above) and a great view of Vilamoura.
Pinhal da Marina had a mini market for years but it was closed because the supermarkets supply nearby is much more complete.
The Wi-Fi coverage in certain areas is sometimes not good enough but we are working on a solution. At the moment it is only available at the Restaurant/ bar and the reception
Pinhal da Marina is a self-catering unit and the Reception opening hours are not 24 hours a day.
In all our apartments the air conditioning is available in the living room; the climate of the Algarve- except rare days- does not justify the installation of more sophisticated air conditioning equipment.

Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I do not recommend this apartment to anyone. I have stayed in many apartments and have never had an experience like this. The hotel claims to be 4* but even 3* would be pushing it. The room is supposed to accommodate four people as that was what we booked for but two of us had to sleep on sofa beds in the living room and there was no space for our suitcases and to put our things.
The reception staff were very unhelpful whenever we had a problem. They claim to have free wifi, which only worked in the reception sometimes. Reception closes at 8 and 6 on Fridays and Sundays so if you have any problems in the evenings, there's no way of getting any help. They did not clean the kitchens for us or provide us with any cleaning products and said we have a dishwasher but when we tried to use it, it was broken. When we called reception to ask for it to be fixed they were so rude and just said we didn't know how to use it properly and sent someone up. Only towards the end of the stay they replaced it having realised it was actually broken and did not believe us when we first told them.
As we had no clean cups or plates we asked the restaurant staff to provide us with a couple for that day and they were so rude and got very angry at us and threw the plates at us and when we complained about this to reception they did nothing about it. The tv did not work and was very old, the iron was not working properly and burned some of our clothes. Overall we had such a horrible experience staying at this apartment. Definitely not worth it for the money and no way is it 4*, will never go again and strongly recommend no one to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We will try to answer your comments although they seem extremely severe to us:
- We are sorry that the service of our Reception and Restaurant staff did not meet your expectations. However, the vast majority of our customers send us excellent reviews about our terms.
- We are working on a solution for a better Wi-Fi coverage.
- As concerns the sofa beds, they are the only way for us to accommodate 4 people in a one-bedroom apartment but the mattresses are same as the ones in the bedroom.

- Pinhal da Marina is a self-catering unit and the Reception opening hours are not 24 hours a day.
- We are sorry that your dishwasher was not replaced earlier and apologize for this incident.
- We are in the process of replacing our TVs. Most apartments now have larger TVs or LCD screens.
- Pinhal da Marina’s Four Star rating is official and follows a long list of requirements. We have been assessed at the end of last year and the four star rating has been confirmed.

Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a week in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Pinhal de Marina ,myself my husband and 2 boys 6 &10 yrs.
Our apartment was in what I can only describe as a run down tower block on the third floor with a dodgy old lift.
The apartment was large but pretty grotty, I cannot believe this place has been awarded 4 stars ?
It's very quiet and a bit out of the way,nothing going on and only a pool bar for food etc. The male staff in the pool bar were amongst the rudest I have ever come across , I always think when you come across someone rude, kill them with kindness and they will improve - not in this case, I was flogging a dead horse ! The grounds are tatty and our garden view apartment was looking over a car park !
Dogs barking morning noon and night and the only aircon is in the lounge.
We were not able to pay for late checkout the day we left and I also have to warn you they have no courtesy room or secure place to leave your luggage.
I really don't have much positives to say, the rest of the guests were nice, no bother .
I have been to Portugal a few times and you can definitely do better than here. Maybe of you have a studio or 1 bed place it may be modernised but I wouldn't be taking the chance if I were you !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacquithomas0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment even though we are sorry to receive this negative feedback. Our permanent restaurant staff members have been with us for many years and their service has always been highly praised by our customers. However, we had to reinforce our team with new staff members during the summer and we can only apologize for the bad service you experienced. We will make sure that this kind of unacceptable situation will not happen again.

We can understand that you did not enjoy the decoration of the apartment you stayed in. We are in the process of remodelling some apartments, from dark wood furniture to lighter colours for instance. We always try and suggest alternatives within Pinhal da Marina whenever our customers are not happy with their accommodation but we regret this was not possible at this time of the year.

Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We first visited last year for 5 nights and decided to return again this year for a 10 night stay. For the cost for a family of four the Pinhal is great value for money (especially with the bargain flights we took with Ryan Air).

The best thing is the sunbed situation - practically every other place I have ever visited has always been a nightmare for sunbeds, but during our visits here (both late July) we have never had an issue getting a sunbed - so no need to get up at 6.00am every day.

Whilst the accommodation is not the most luxurious, for the price it would be pretty hard to beat the quality you get. This year we chose a pool view room as opposed to the garden view room, which worked out at about £10.00 a night more. For this we got a bigger room/bathroom and probably slightly more modern room. The rooms are fully equipped for self catering. TV Channels give you either Sky News or BBC World News.

The staff in the reception were extremely helpful, and booked us our trip to one of the water parks.

The advertised free wi-fi is pretty much hit and miss, if you need to get on line, best to use access in the bars/restaurants in Villamoura - all the ones we visited provide this.

The walk to the marina area can be done in about 15 minutes which you soon get used to. As an alternative we did the walk to Quarteria a couple of times which only takes about 5 minutes more.

We really enjoyed our nights out in Vilamoura, with some excellent places to eat and the Pinhal is a great base for a trip to the resort.

Finally, can recommend the use of Yellow Fish transfers to/from the airport at a cost of 50 euros return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Paul,
We would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are particularly pleased that you decided to visit us again and that you enjoyed your holiday at Pinhal da Marina. We hope we will have the pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our 1 week holiday & would definitely recommend these apartments. The setting is beautiful, with lots of greenery & well kept gardens & pool area. We stayed B&B & although there is no cooked breakfast, we did enjoy the continental breakfast. Our apartment was situated in the gardens away from the main pool. It was large, with a main living area that double as an extra bedroom at night, a well equipped kitchen (dishwasher included), bathroom & main bedroom. The furniture was a little dated but everything was spotlessly clean & in good working order. We ate at the pool bar a few times & thought that the food was lovely. I particularly enjoyed the chicken fusilli salad. The staff were always very friendly & helpful. The shops, restaurants & bars in Vilamoura are about 15 minutes walk away & the beach a little further. A great holiday overall-glad we chose to stay here!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our facilities and the service of our staff.
Concerning the furniture, we offer different decoration styles in our apartments but simple, practical and spotlessly clean equipment is common to all apartments.
Thanks again for your preference,
Kind regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days,found the apartment to be excellent in all areas staff could not do enough for you,rooms cleaned everyday pool area so good it has two pools one for family's one for couples or for people who want that quiet time 15min walk to marina or 5euro in taxi . If your thinking of staying here don't hesitate book NOW

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Good morning,
Thank you for your booking your holiday with us and for your recommendation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Pinhal da Marina.
Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
777 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal da Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal da Marina

Address: Praca 3 Caminhos | Quarteira, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-439, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £51 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinhal da Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinhal da Marina Apartments 10/15 minute walk to the Marina for restaurant's, bar's, shop's, and the casino, with a choice of 2 excellent golden sandy beaches either side of the Marina. The Vilamoura golf courses are all within a five minute drive. "Pinhal da Marina" itself comprises of 128 apartments (from studio to 3 bedroom apartment) all furnished with air conditioning in the living room, heater in the bedrooms, satellite tv, a safety deposit box, and if your clients are eating in, the kitchen's are equipped with cooker's, micro wave oven, toaster, tea-coffee facility's and cooking utensils. A feature of the apartments is the spacious veranda's overlooking the gardens or swimming pools where you can sit and watch the sun go down with your favourite beverage in hand. "Pinhal da Marina" host's two large outdoor swimming pool's, a child's paddling pool, a children's playground, restaurant/bar, tennis court, and football, volleyball, basketball area's. Wi-Fi is free of charge in common areas (pool and reception) at Pinhal da Marina Pinmar restaurant is located at Pinhal da Marina by the main pool and it is open from Abril to October. Every day you can have meals a la carte or choose to have half / full board regimen. Also you can have a snack or drinks all day long. Continental breakfast is served daily from 7 am to 10 am (extra cost per person/ day). O Pinhal da Marina is a great place for family holidays and self-catering holidays all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinhal da Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinhal Da Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing