We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dexy”
Review of Rio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Apartments
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dexy”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

5 day stay in studio appt. Very clean and quiet. Pool is small but good for kids but a lack of seating area around pool. Unfortunately too many people reserved sunbeds before 9am although a notice is in place asking them not to do it. Apartments are too far away from the Marina to walk although there is a bus route buses are infrequent but the tourist train is a 5 min walk away at the Hilton Hotel up the road. Because of where the apartments are there is not a comprehensive map of the area including information on taxi's and buses. The restaurant is excellent and the food is exceptional and a lot of it..would recommend it and would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dexy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    163
    87
    44
    31
See reviews for
65
219
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

August 24th
Having just returned from our family holiday at the Rio I can only say what a fabulous time we have had. Although accommodation basic, we had a one bedroom apartment with pool view. The kitchen was new and the rest of the apartment was clean but basic. Room was cleaned on a regular basis and was given fresh towels, bedding, tea towels , toilet rools and table cloth on each visit. No air con but a fan was given free of charge. Lady on reception very helpful and even gave me her own fan when I needed it. ( hotel full so no spare fans)
Fantastic around pool, kids loved it. Bar and restaurant very reasonable priced and would definately recommend their pizza's!!
Marina and the old village a must to visit!!!! Around twenty mins walk. We enjoyed our time here and visited them on a regular basis.
Alberfira twenty euros one way and enjoyed the visit. Gypsy markets worth a visit too some good bargains to be had.
A definite must for the price you pay as we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Bar/Restaurant is very good value and the staff, once you strike up a rapport, are very friendly. The food is excellent. Hot stone steak is a must.

Our apartment was no. 215. Clean. Basic. Kitchen has been modernised but the rest is tired. Plenty of hot water all day. Electric sockets in poor condition which would be a concern if you had small children. Balcony looks over the pool area so you hear everything. Bar stays open late.

The pool is fine and you have to be prepared to ignore the sign about not reserving loungers.

It's a 20 minute stroll to the marina once you figure out the most direct route.

Would recommend as a base for a cheap holiday. Vilamoura itself is expensive - marina is worth a stroll around to get a taste of how we're not "all in this together"!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Apartment was very reasonable so we weren't really expecting a great deal. However, all very clean and in good working order. New kitchen - we only cooked some bacon but it looked like it had enough utensils. Bathroom - shower was quite powerful and always plenty of hot water for the 4 of us. Beds - they were very hard. We put the blankets under the sheets to give some cushioning so made it bearable (just). Lounge area - slightly out dated but all clean. Apartment was serviced every other day with an abundance of clean towels. Reception staff were very helpful when we asked for directions or to book the aquapark tickets. The pool is not huge but surprisingly it was never crowded. We tended to use it first thing in the morning before going out and on returning late afternoon. We never had to wait too long for a sunbed if at all. There were about 2 broken beds around the pool but these were removed after a couple of days. It was approx 15 to 20 min walk to the marina/beach depending on how dynamic we were feeling but we quite enjoyed this despite the heat. Restaurant/Snack bar - very good food and very friendly when you got to talk to them, otherwise could seem a bit off-hand. Would we stay there again - probably not as lots of other places to try! Perhaps the Tivoli next time...!

Room Tip: We were facing the road - sometimes a bit noisy with late night conversations in the street as peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astridapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

we booked through lowcostholidays.com. got really cheap flights and reasonable cost apartment for our 2 week break in peak season. i looked at out apartment before our departure and wasn't expecting the ritz as so many negative feedback on trip advisor . we were pleasantly surprised, the room was spotless, spacious, well equipt, with 2 balcolnys overlooking pool, large bedroom, full functioning kitchen, and good sized lounge, there was everything we needed. there is a lovely restaurant and bar,entertainment at the weekend, and the receptionist Sandra was extremely approachable and helpful. all in all i would highly recommend rio apartments, its not five star but it caters for everyone at a very good price,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank trumpertru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

IceLolly deal, so cheap as chips.. Rooms basic but very clean and comfortable, separate kitchen which is very unusual for a studio apartment at this price, plus shower AND bath, also very unusual. Nice pool area and a superb restaurant on site run by Luis and Isobel - you must try the stone grilled fillet steak - amazing. All the meals were superb, and they also serve poolside snacks, never seem to go home!
Gets a bit busy by the pool, just drag a sunbed round the back to the huge garden area & lie under the trees for a snooze, always very quiet.
20 minute walk to the Marina, worth a visit to play "spot the yachties"
Reception staff very friendly and helpful, not open at night but there will be somebody to meet you if you arriving late (as we did thanks to Ryanair). Will definitely be going back to this one !!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the pool and quieter. Try to avoid the 3 ground floor poolside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked a last minute, cheap as chips deal to Portugal for 5 nights. We stayed at the Rio Apartments and although the start was less than succesful (having arrived at around 10pm the reception was closed and we had to wait about 20 minutes to check in) the rest of the holiday was lovely. We weren't expecting much and the rooms certainly catered for our needs (although no air-con which would have been nice) but for the money, we cannot complain. The pool was lovely and the restuarant was probably the highlight of the hotel as the staff were so nice and friendly, welcoming us every evening and cooking up a selection of tasty dishes for rather reasonable pricings. The bolognese pizza was to die for! The pool could have been bigger and there was rarely sun beds available but the atmosphere was so friendly and relaxing. Only downside was the hotel is a good 20-30 minute walk to the marina and main attractions, this didn't bother us however and we explored to our hearts content. Very good little hotel if you are on a budget and don't mind walking.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#35 of 36 in Vilamoura
56 reviews
18.9 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Property: Rio Apartments
Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-476, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing