We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very enjoyable break”
Review of Rio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Apartments
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a very enjoyable break”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we booked this on the strength % of reviews and were not disappointed. apartment block is small but apartments surprising spacious, (studios have separate kitchen). equipment is basic but adequate. snack bar is excellent, transforming into a restaurant serving quality food in the evening. yes it is a distance from the very busy marina, but we were well aware of that before travelling, taxis are reasonably priced and the bargain price of the accommodation allowed for this. one of our apartments had a slight damp problem but when we asked to move there was no problem in doing so. I assume this apartment is on the list for refurbishment as some are clearly more updated than others. I would return.

Room Tip: 1st floor studios have a slightly larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caro04865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    161
    86
    43
    31
See reviews for
65
213
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

what is the matter with you people who give bad reviews.everything we asked for we got, wine glasses corkskrew electrical repair in kitchen ii you dont ask no get. towels changed everyother day, clean room every two days sandra on reception ideal, didnt use the pool bar much he just wanted your euros, marina a good walk away but once seen soon forgotton, nice supermarker bottom of hill.stayed 25th august till 8th sept.we will return 9 out of 10....

Room Tip: room 110 at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

only good thing to say about this hotel was the restaurant staff they were super friendly and helpful.stayed here for a week and wished it was less.Towels changed once and no cleaner for rest of stay,no bed changed either.too far away from shops and marina,restaurant didn't open till ten in morn,reception was open for a limited time.no staff at all on a Monday as it is day off.so had to go out for food and drinks.pool area small and lack of sunbeds.tv in room but no English speaking channels.lack of utensils in newly furnished kitchen and no separate bedroom.locks on door not secure either.very hard to get taxis too unless staff phone you one .will not be returning to these apartments ever such a shame as staff were lovely

Room Tip: quiet all round area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vilamoura hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

5 day stay in studio appt. Very clean and quiet. Pool is small but good for kids but a lack of seating area around pool. Unfortunately too many people reserved sunbeds before 9am although a notice is in place asking them not to do it. Apartments are too far away from the Marina to walk although there is a bus route buses are infrequent but the tourist train is a 5 min walk away at the Hilton Hotel up the road. Because of where the apartments are there is not a comprehensive map of the area including information on taxi's and buses. The restaurant is excellent and the food is exceptional and a lot of it..would recommend it and would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dexy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

August 24th
Having just returned from our family holiday at the Rio I can only say what a fabulous time we have had. Although accommodation basic, we had a one bedroom apartment with pool view. The kitchen was new and the rest of the apartment was clean but basic. Room was cleaned on a regular basis and was given fresh towels, bedding, tea towels , toilet rools and table cloth on each visit. No air con but a fan was given free of charge. Lady on reception very helpful and even gave me her own fan when I needed it. ( hotel full so no spare fans)
Fantastic around pool, kids loved it. Bar and restaurant very reasonable priced and would definately recommend their pizza's!!
Marina and the old village a must to visit!!!! Around twenty mins walk. We enjoyed our time here and visited them on a regular basis.
Alberfira twenty euros one way and enjoyed the visit. Gypsy markets worth a visit too some good bargains to be had.
A definite must for the price you pay as we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Bar/Restaurant is very good value and the staff, once you strike up a rapport, are very friendly. The food is excellent. Hot stone steak is a must.

Our apartment was no. 215. Clean. Basic. Kitchen has been modernised but the rest is tired. Plenty of hot water all day. Electric sockets in poor condition which would be a concern if you had small children. Balcony looks over the pool area so you hear everything. Bar stays open late.

The pool is fine and you have to be prepared to ignore the sign about not reserving loungers.

It's a 20 minute stroll to the marina once you figure out the most direct route.

Would recommend as a base for a cheap holiday. Vilamoura itself is expensive - marina is worth a stroll around to get a taste of how we're not "all in this together"!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Apartment was very reasonable so we weren't really expecting a great deal. However, all very clean and in good working order. New kitchen - we only cooked some bacon but it looked like it had enough utensils. Bathroom - shower was quite powerful and always plenty of hot water for the 4 of us. Beds - they were very hard. We put the blankets under the sheets to give some cushioning so made it bearable (just). Lounge area - slightly out dated but all clean. Apartment was serviced every other day with an abundance of clean towels. Reception staff were very helpful when we asked for directions or to book the aquapark tickets. The pool is not huge but surprisingly it was never crowded. We tended to use it first thing in the morning before going out and on returning late afternoon. We never had to wait too long for a sunbed if at all. There were about 2 broken beds around the pool but these were removed after a couple of days. It was approx 15 to 20 min walk to the marina/beach depending on how dynamic we were feeling but we quite enjoyed this despite the heat. Restaurant/Snack bar - very good food and very friendly when you got to talk to them, otherwise could seem a bit off-hand. Would we stay there again - probably not as lots of other places to try! Perhaps the Tivoli next time...!

Room Tip: We were facing the road - sometimes a bit noisy with late night conversations in the street as peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astridapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#34 of 36 in Vilamoura
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scalabis Apartments
Scalabis Apartments
#30 of 36 in Vilamoura
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
319 reviews
18.9 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Property: Rio Apartments
Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-476, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing