We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem!”
Review of Rio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rio Apartments
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Got a bargain break here through low cost holidays, apartment surprisingly spacious, clean and had everything we needed as a family, the two pools where invaluable in the heat, the area is quiet but that's what we wanted with an 18 month old! Supermarket few mins walk away and the restaurant downstairs is expensive but worth getting the lift for, the stone steak is to die for. 25 mins slow lovely walk to the marina, we had a lovely break here and would highly recommend, I am an honest trip advisor and the place needs a bit of cosmetic TLC but apart from that, book here if u like fresh sheets, loads of towels and a big apartment, if u want 24hr reception however do not, as they work on Portuguese time and come and go as and when, not a problem for us, but might be for you, enjoy we did :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank blossomhillbilly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great place lovely setting great apartment - rubbish bed but get this - £12 yes £12 for a weekfor two of us at easter! We've already bought the blow up bed for our next visit. lovely place for a first trip to the algarve no frills...


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

No airport transfer waiting for us when we arrived, rang the apartments from the airport to see where it was and told me I had never sent over an email confirming the transport ( I sent 3 emails all with my flight info and 1 of the emails was in Portuguese) I they said they would send out a taxi to pick us up but I had to wait 30 minutes (ended up getting my own taxi from the airport) then when I arrived at the apartment complex the reception was closed so we had to wait around for that to open, eventually got our keys for our room, was a small little smelly dinky room with holes in the wall looking out on to a car park. I had requested a pool view room on my booking of the apartment but they failed to read that request too. Also owners of the restaurant are very rude and not one bit helpfu, thank god I had other family on holiday with us in a different apartment complex stayed there for the week around their pool, only slept in Rio's (on hard beds) would not recommend Rio Apartments at all.. Pinhal da Marina was a beautiful (where my other family stayed)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank narno25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We read the reviews and as a couple of young women from Northern Ireland (we are only 18) we were actually hoping we hadn't made a major mistake on our first foray into independent travel. Our parents had warned us that once we arrived, if we had any worries we were to immediately ask to be transferred to another property and they would foot the bill. Well all we can say is that as our first holiday abroad without our parents we had absolutely nothing to worry about. We got a lovely apartment with balcony overlooking the pool, which we sat out on every evening. Low cost holidays had everything organised fantastically - smooth transfers etc. Our apartments were really lovely considering the price paid. The staff on site were really helpful and kept us well informed on where we were to go and how to get there. The receptionist was lovely and called the taxi for our first trip into Vilamoura so that we could get our bearings, and after this we just walked it in which only took 10 minutes. At no point did we ever feel unsafe and the other holiday makers at the apartments were very nice as well. We had booked the holiday at the last minute, for over the Easter period, for a bit of relaxation in the middle of our studies, and our stay at the Rio Apartments was exactly that. I really can't understand the negative comments left because we were met with clean apartments, excellent and helpful staff from the reception through to the maid service. Yes, the food is different to home, but this is the whole point of travelling abroad, to experience different food and cultures. Yes, the food was more expensive but when you are on holiday you can't expect to have a fridge full of food from Sainsburys or Tescos with buy one get one free offers !! I definitely would recommend staying in Rio Apartments as we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool - nice to relax after a day sunbathing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just got back from a week at the Rio. It may be a trek from the Marina but our apartment was clean and the beds very comfy - we were cleaned twice including the sheets. The kitchen was adequate and we cooked a number of times. Our balcony was pleasant with a very good plastic airer. The pool area was lovely - plenty of sunbeds, although obviously a quiet time of year. The pool was cold but was lovely to swim in once you got used to it. 2 or 3 couples were there for 4 weeks or more. The bar/restaurant was nice - the food we found very good and had 3 or 4 meals there. The owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had a problem with the hot water that was sorted out straight away. Would definitely go back there at this time of year. We've had a great time!

Room Tip: go at a quiet time of year - we had lovely weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank She_HLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

It maybe a 15 minute walk to the marina but its clean and tidy. The beer is cheap but the food isn't great. If you are on a budget it's the place for you. The rooms have very well equipped kitchens too. Watch out for the pool, it's Freezing!!!!

Room Tip: Pool side isn't that noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarrenejcDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Miles from marina and, therefore, restaurants....5 Euro each way in a taxi. Noisy.....inside the room you could hear everything from what seemed like all the other rooms. Poor quality door locks...didn't feel secure. Very thin, poor quality mattress...not only could you feel every spring they made a noise as well! Very few channels on a prehistoric TV. Very short of sockets for gadgets. I stayed 1 night happily forfeiting my prepaid 4 nights and moved into a proper hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HornyViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#34 of 36 in Vilamoura
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-476, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £8 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing