We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but basic, get what you paid for”
Review of Rio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Apartments
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed 17 September 2010

we had a late arrival, so someone from the reception was there to hand us our keys, was very noisey that night due to other people arriving through the nite. we were by the lift which made a loud bang every time it closed. the balcony was very small, kitchen not very well laid out , only 1 plug which was to far away to reach anything. we asked if we could have a fan, but it never arrived. very hot rooms. maid came most days with clean bedding and towels tidied up. the restuarant food was lovely , friendly staff, didnt try the breakfast. It was a 20 min walk 2 the marine, reception would order you a taxi if asked, overall a okay place 2 stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennett41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

At The end of the day you get what u pay for people who complain about these apartments our obviously asking to much for the money they are paying!! There was no air conditioning but if u request a fan you will get it!! It is in a quiet area but the marina is a 10 minute walk (really quite a nice walk too) and if your lazy like i was sum nights u can always get a taxi for like 3/4 euro!! The reception is part time but if u read the opening hours which were like 11 to 7 they are more than happy to help you!!! As we are a young couple we were there just to drink relax and get a nice tan!! So it suited us down to the ground!! The food at Rio restaurant was fab and a lot cheaper than eating at the marina although the food on the marina was delicious too!! The staff in the restaurant/bar were so friendly! They were always more than happy too help you!! Our room was cleaned every single day!! We had a really nice kitchen pity we never cooked in it we were always eating out... it was equipped with everything u would need even down to a bottle opener!! We did some excursions i would definitely recommend you too the safari tour it was AMAZING So much fun!! We also went to aqua show the water park no matter how old u are u just gotta love it!! Beaches are also gorgeous definitely worth a visit or two!! I would definitely go back to Vilamoura and would go back to stay at Rio apartments!! =)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Having read other reviews, I think it's pot luck with these apartments. They aren't horrendous by any means, but I wouldn't go back.

The accommodation:
1. Our room was boiling hot - no air conditioning and no fans available. I can't imagine how bad this must be in August (we were there mid-July).

2. Mediocre cleaning - we found a full ashtray under the bed when we arrived, and you wouldn't want to be walking on the floor without shoes on - it wasn't swept at all during the ten days we were there.

3. Variable facilities - some of the reviews mention toasters, bottle openers etc, but we were supplied with a kettle (which continued to boil until you pulled it the plug out of the wall - I don't think health and safety are high on the list of the management's priorities)and the most basic of utensils only (as in, knives, forks and spoons of all one size - no sharp knives, no tin opener). Also, we had a balcony with a table but no chairs - we had to ask four times before we were given two chairs so that we could sit outside.

4. The shower runs out of hot water after about ten minutes.

5. We also thought it was really cheeky to ask for 20 euro for use of the safe (you get 10 back, if there is someone around to give it to you when you check out); surely, a free safe should be standard.

6. Surly receptionist.

The location:

1. A good 30 minute walk to Vilamoura town - which feels more like 45 in the baking heat. There is nothing going on around the apartments, which is good in one sense because it means that it is quiet (although you can hear everything the people in the apartments above and next door are doing), but it is a real bind that the nearest supermarket (and think local Co-op, rather than Tesco Extra) is in Vilamoura town. This means that everytime you need anything - milk, bread, kitchen towel - you have to walk into Vilamoura; not too bad until you have to walk back, laden with bags. All the shops near the apartments have closed down as a result of the recession. We booked this accommodation because it was cheap, but it turned out to be a false economy, because we ended up hiring a car to open up our holiday beyond the local environs of the apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I would not recommend the rio apartments due to several reasons, we stayed there for four days at the beginning of july and the rooms were unbearably hot, there is no air con available so unless you can handle 90 - 100 degrees in your room i wouldnt advise it. Subsequently we requested a fan of which the receptionist was kind enough to supply but it was not much use due to the excessive heat in the apartment. Our room was located on the front of the hotel so im not sure if it may be cooler at other parts of the building.
We didnt manage any sleep on our 2nd and third nights stay due to very very loud guests in one of the lower level apartments.
The decor and furniture in the apartments is clean but very dated and is in serious need of a refurb. The kitchen layout was rather bizzare as there is only one power terminal which is on the opposing wall to all of the electrical appliances in the kitchen, we had to ask at reception for a extension cable which was only long enough to reach to one of the appliances!
The pool is small and whilst used only once it had several dead flies and leaves floating about in it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Although we were told we were in the middle of nowere and it was a long walk 2 the centre it was only a 15min walk and most of the walk was through grassed area with a pond and plenty of wildlife 2 keep you amoused while you walked.The apartment was clean,tidy and well equipped.The kitchen had kettle,toaster,microwave,oven and hob it even had an iron and ironing board.The food was excellant especially the stone steak.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyhaslam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

After having read a couple of poor reviews about the Rio Apartments, I found my own experience quite the reverse. The apartment was clean and contained everything that you would expect from a self-catering set up, even down to a bottle opener. Yes, it is true that the accomodation could do with an up-date but was by no means drab. There are two pools on site which are quite cool, but again this was fine as the weather was v.hot, so needed cooling down. The restaurant offers cooked meals, however my only gripe with this is the sizes. They don't seem to like giving vegetables with the meat which I find unusual. Easy walking distance from the marina which is lovely. The handy supermarket which is supposed to be at the end of the road was closed down by the recession and am not sure if it will reopen as we noticed on our travels other branches also closed. We did find a very nice restaurant with very reasonable prices (and plenty of vegetables) next to Sparky's bar and the Cactus bar which is situated about half and hours walk away. You would have to ask hotel for directions as I am not very good at that, but well worth the little walk. The restaurant is called A CARPA. you can visit their web page www.a-carpa.com. Only one other comment to make about our visit to Vilamoura is that although a very pretty place they have a worse graffiti problem than we do and many buildings were an eye-sore because of this, such a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Very basic apartments, The bed was a sleeper couch... a little odd. Room is clean.
The staff are friendly.
The food in the restaurant is brilliant.
If you don't mind roughing it a little you will enjoy it.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank petzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#34 of 36 in Vilamoura
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-476, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Price Range: £10 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing