We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just keeps getting better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Village Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have been holidaying at the Old Village since 2002 and now spend almost six months over the winter there. It is peaceful, clean and extremely well kept. The posters in Vilamoura say "I wasn't born here but it's where I belong", we couldn't agree more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j60dol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    143
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
169
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

what a superb holliday from the first day we got there, we whent self catering and the studio that we had was all we wanted, lovely and clean with all amenaties, the view to the gardens was out of this world realy well kept. just a few yards walk to any of the pools and restaurants, viisit the marina have a sit down with a drink relax and watch the world go by, we will definatly go again.

Room Tip: i booked with cosmos
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lawtonsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I LOVE this place! Having visited some of the grandest and nicest hotels all over the world I always want to come back to the Old Village. I like it because it is peaceful, extremely pretty, very safe and you don't feel like you are part of an 'organisation' or a corporate hotel chain because it is all so different.
I'm not saying the accommodation is top notch - because it isn't. I'd say it is 2-3 star depending on which apartment you get. However, everything from the surroundings, pool, restaurants and ambience more than makes up for the lack of luxurious fixtures and fittings of the apartments.
I've been 5 times now over the years, and I 'm going back again in 2 weeks and I cannot wait!!

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments usually have a little garden to lounge around in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dinolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

My sister an i have been coming to the old village for over 20 years atleast once if not twice a year. We have used agents alternativas-algarve (maria) who is wonderful an OV International. All staff in restarants remember you from one year to the next . the whole complex is so friendy with Heather and Dave at the Casa De Largo restaurant. We have stayed in several apartments ranging from 2 bedrooms to a studio and all have been to our liking. they all have washing machines, tv microwave, toaster etc and are cleaned 3 times a week if not more. The gardens are immaculate and a credit to the gardner who has been there for as long as we can remember !!. The marina is a 10 -15 min pleasant stroll across the pathway which is well lit a nights but we used to get a taxi back for approx 4 euros . Abudance of different nationality bars and restarants around the marina. We can recommend Petunia and Figo for lunch at a very reasonable price. Wednesdays venture to Quartera for the market it is a bit out of town but worth a visit and whilst in Quartera go to Buondi coffee shop for tea/coffee and gorgeous cake for only 2 euros.

This is our getaway place for relaxation and would not hesitate in recommending it .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madcownw5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed at 17bc Church Street. It is a 2 bedroom apartment with a flight of steps to front door. There is another flight to the bedrooms and yet another flight to the roof terrace. If there is any disability at all an upstairs apartment would not be suitable. We loved the Old Village, reminded me of Porthmerion. There is no traffic allowed around the interior of the village, car parking is around the outside of the complex, however still near to apartment. There is a Jasmin shrub growing up the wall and the smell is glorious. The Supermarket, restaurants, pools etc are a stones throw away. The land train runs every hour, where you can go to the marina, it costs 3.50euro each for all day, hop on and off. It is worth going on as it travels down a different way to the public road and is well worth seeing. The roof terrace was a bonus, there are sunbeds with cushions, plus table and chairs where you can have your lunch. It really is a sun trap. The apartment is well equipped with what I believe was a cot folded up on the landing. Really enjoyed our stay, we had a dinner party one night with friends who stay at the old village 5 months of the year, and had everything that I needed to use. Plenty of pots and pans and crockery. I would recommend the old village to stay rather than down at the marina. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: I would say Church Street is easy for all your needs and it is so quaint.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodlands19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here 5 years ago went back due to the standard of accomadtion and booked a 2 Bed apartment, which again was lovely. We never used the swimming pools due to the weather Easter breaks we find are just too cold for swimming.
We hired a car again from the same company (Green Auto's) as before, we found to be the cheapest and just hassle free, they are based down the road from Mcdonalds cost for 7 days and full insurance 175 Euros, please be aware though petrol is more expensive there than in England at the moment, although does work out cheaper than the organised trips.
Restaurants can work out expensive, always ask for the prices of drinks if not stated on the menu as in one restaurant 3 diet cokes came to 15 Euros! and if you are offered bread & butter you will be charged an extra 2.00 Euros each, so be aware as drinks and bread & butter can cost more than your main meal!
The Chinese Buffet Restaurant called The Sun House I would advise not to eat there, you help yourself to the food only to sit down and find it warm nearly cold, when I complained I was shown a microwave to reheat all the food which I refused to do because didn't want food poisoning reheating chicken? avoid this restaurant at all costs. We found a lovely Indian in the Marina and we ate there most of the time.
The old village is a lovely place to stay, we never ate out in the complex, just due to the prices really. There is free wifi in the bar next to reception so can take laptops etc the prices for drinks are very reasonable diet coke 1.75 Euros and could stay in there an hour or so using our laptops which was brilliant for our teenager son. There is an internet cafe on the complex but costs 1.00 for 10 Mins.
Enjoy your holiday ~ we did!

Room Tip: Higher apartments tend to have their own roof terrace, sunbathing in private we loved x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwildbore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The old village is situated on an incline about 15 walk from the marina. It has 3 swimming pools (1 shut during our visit)
6 cafe/ restaurants (1 shut during visit)
We ate at de largo. Ok food, lovely people, but Lots microwaved. Also princess. Better but pricey. Stick to marina (£3 taxi fare) for nicer food
What every visitor should be aware is that every apartment/ house is privately owned. Meaning up keep,style etc differs widely. Our two bed. Two bathroom house (13bc ) was grotty, old and tatty. Broken old dirty furniture. Mouldy showers. Horrendous beds, 3 lounge chairs for 4 people ? etc etc. Desperately in need of a refurb. No more than a 2 star at best.
But we saw some that looked clean and modern.
Very much a lottery
Our house had two sets of very steep stone narrow winding staircases that would have terrified me if I had younger children.
The maid service is sporadic. Our sheets were not changed during our week stay.
Towels changed once and the middle of the lounge and kitchen area swept and mopped just in the centre.leaving drifts of ancient dirt in the corners.
I liked the resort, but 13bc is horrid.
Wouldn't return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ferris5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 37 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#10 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Property: The Old Village Apartments
Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing