We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Old Village is a beautiful well kept complex,very clean with beautiful gardens. The Old Village Prestige apartments are lovely with good security shutters etc and an immaculately clean pool. Just beside the Prestige is a friendly little bar called The Buccaneer run by an English couple, Martyn and Pam. The bar is spotless, open from 6p.m. till midnight with generous Happy Hours and good prices. Martyn makes great Piña Coladas and Mojitos. The Old Village has good cafes and restaurants too e.g. Zanzibar,Princess Gardens, Bar O Cafe etc.We all met atThe Buccaneer for a drink at 6p.m. and decided what we wanted to do later. From there you can also order a Chinese, Indian or pizza to takeaway or eat in. All in all The Old Village has something for every age. I could say much more but that would lead to a very long review.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary194276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    153
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
177
151
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed in Apt 4C, Church St in the Old Village during the first week of July 2012. The old village complex is located approx 15 min's walk from the marina in a residential area. The place was charming and very relaxed with a choice of three pools and a number of cafes and pubs. The 3rd floor, 2 bedroom apartment was the best we've stayed in and apart from the usual, it has:
fridge/freezer, air conditioning, cooker and hob, washing machine, microwave, toaster, juicer, coffee machine, multi-channel TV, books, board games, and a private roof top terrace. I could not fault the place and Celia and Belinha from village4ulettings were extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with always. Vilamoura is nice with a good selection of restaurants on the marina and behind it. We brought the kids to the aquapark and they had a great time on the various slides as there was very little queuing time when we went.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarraghTulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was the third time we have stayed in the old village and always enjoyed being there.

The initial apartment we were given was sadly of poor quality but we managed to move immediately and got an exceelnt spot. The place is quiet, 15 minute walk to the marina and has a small but very good supermarket on site.

We will definitely be back again in years to come

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Old Village was beautiful outside and obviously very well looked after which gave a great first impression. Our apartment, 28A, was modern and pleasant. The beds were comfortable and the whole apartment was quite roomy even though there was just the two of us staying. We had everything we needed in the apartment such as a wash machine and oven.
The reception and bar staff were very friendly and the supermarket was reasonably priced.
The only disappointing part was that you had to pay for the sun loungers at the pool morning and afternoon. I would have expected this to be included in our apartment bill. I understand charging at peak times to put people off so it is not the same folk using the pool each day, but when we went it was very quiet and there was really no need to ask for payment as there was nobody there.
Also only the beds were made by the cleaners, the bathroom/toilet/kitchen was never cleaned and we stayed there for 10days. We saw a cleaner from the pool and she was in and out of apartment in less than 5 minutes.
But it was a great stay and would definitely return and recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: 28A if a couple as it's quiet but right opposite the pool, hidden behind bushes so private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melon_Noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Old Village is a lovely place to stay. Our apartment (17A Church Street) was not the best, though. It had a musty odour and was rather pokey with nowhere to sit outside. It was situated under a staircase, which made it quite dark. It wasn't a pleasant room to spend time in. Having said that, the Old Village had lots to offer. There were three pools to choose from and several restaurants. "El Gecko" tapas bar was great, plenty for the vegetarian to choose from! The Village was about a mile from the Marina, not a problem for us, we enjoyed the walk. Taxis very cheap though, less than four Euros into town.

Room Tip: Mak sure your room has a patio or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TizzyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It is rare that I will ever describe a place as absolutely perfect - but in this instance I will. We stayed here for 5 days at the end of June as a last minute decision to attend a family wedding - and we were not disappointed. The apartments are clean, with a lovely portuguese feel about the place - they have everything you need and more to self cater. The village complex itself has 3 stunning, clean pools, more cafes and bars than you could possibly need and a handy supermarket for all you need during your stay. Each apartment has a private terrace/balcony, loungers, outdoor table and chairs, we also had a BBQ grill out the front if we wanted to use it. The staff and people generally were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay one we'll never forget. The Old Village Apartments are a short distance from the Marina, and staff in the shop and our booking office were happy to call us taxis anytime we needed. Locals say that July and August are very busy times in Vilamoura and getting taxis etc can be a long wait as well as the temperatures getting up to the 40's - but for us in June it wasn't overly busy and the temperatures were late 20's/early 30's. And by booking in high season as opposed to peak season we got great rates for our accomodation. I cannot recommend this place highly enough - it's like a beautiful home from home at incredibly great value for money. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coc o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have been holidaying at the Old Village since 2002 and now spend almost six months over the winter there. It is peaceful, clean and extremely well kept. The posters in Vilamoura say "I wasn't born here but it's where I belong", we couldn't agree more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j60dol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Property: The Old Village Apartments
Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing