We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Village Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Four Seasons Vilamoura(Vilamoura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Rio Apartments(Vilamoura)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pinhal da Marina(Vilamoura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prado Villas(Vilamoura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
251
171
62
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
171
62
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracedolphin poolprincess gardenswashing machinechurch streetbed townhousebuccaneer barmain poolbars and restaurantsthe security guardcobbled streetssun loungersminute walkair conwell stocked supermarkettourist trainapartment complex
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

this amazing location just keeps drawing us back time and time again. this was our third time at old village, but first time as a couple. we have stayed in a one bedroomed apartment, 3 bed town house and this time a studio apartment. although all are surrounded by the most beautiful and excellently maintained gardens the accomodation does vary in standard greatly. we were glad that we were only stopping a week this time as the studio, 18a Church Street, had no outside space and so had to eat out every night(can be very expensive) the princess gardens is definately the best restaurant at old village, book early and state that you want the balcony for a real romantic treat. zanzibar is also worth a visit, but menu is limited so once or twice is enough, staff are incredibly attentive though. the princess pool has always been our choice, (less children) but paying for the loungers (1.50 euro per lounger am and pm) can become expensive. i can recommend this complex to any one who is looking for a safe, relaxing and memorable holiday.

Room Tip: specify outdoor space
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobydavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We loved the Old Village. We were very fortunate as our town house at 9ABC Princess Gardens was a great family house. The apartments are variable and you definitely need to do your homework on where you stay. However, the old village is a great resort. It has a good mix of pools and bars in a beautifully landscaped complex.

The venue definitely has a family feel. We met lots of lovely families. There were some Brits on the beer but these soon adapted to the atmosphere around the complex. Our party was 3 children from 18 months to 8, two parents and two grand-parents. Everybody felt at home. The marina is a short 15 minute walk (downhill) and taxis were relatively cheap for the journey home.

There are some good value restaurants on site but the marina and the nearby restaurant square (200m directly behind Figos and the Mayflower on the marina) offer much better variety, atmosphere and value. Particular favourites were Figo's for lunch (best value on the Marina), A Broa in the restaurant square and Zu Yi Chinese on the marina.

Here are some things that we think would help a family to enjoy Vilamoura;
1. Get to the beach early. The beach is packed by 10am. Pack a cool bag and a beach parasol and set up camp. The beaches are busy but have a good atmosphere. Drinks are really expensive at the beaches. Our kids enjoyed the doughnut vendors.
2. Find the restaurant square (see above). Concensus is that the best restaurants are here.
3. Go to one of the larger supermarkets for a big shop. Pino Doce or LIDL. They offer wine, soft drinks, water, beer etc at very cheap prices. A taxi is only 7 euros. If you go to LIDL on a Wednesday, you can also visit the large market next door with good value clothes and gifts.
4. Taxis are good value. Most phone operators speak English.
5. Marina is a great place to be and comes to life at night. Have a meal, leave dessert and enjoy a late night ice cream and stroll around the marina.

We have already booked for next year.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Town house 6ABC is in dire need of updating and maintenace. When we arrived we had about eight lightbulbs out and three missing altogether. On the first night we had no hot water, and water was tipping through the ceiling when someone had a shower on the top floor. The kitchen is falling to bits, there's no air conditioning, and there's no where near enough sun loungers for the amount staying in the accomodation. Two loungers for eight people??!! Roof terrace furniture is filthy and needs replacing, the sink on the roof wasnt plumbed in correctly either, and the smoke alarm didnt work.

HOWEVER - The staff at OV International could not have been more efficient in helping resolve the light bulb and hot water situation, it was fixed straight away without any hassle. Hats off to Milu and Sophie for their help. The garden area was excellent at the town house, location was absolutely superb, and the views of the marina and villiage are brilliant too!

I would go back to the old village tomorrow and again through OV International, but not to 6ABC Church Street until it was totally refurbished!! Not worth the money!

Go to the Old Village, you'll love it, such a great friendly place, but avoid this apartment if possible!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Old Village is a beautiful well kept complex,very clean with beautiful gardens. The Old Village Prestige apartments are lovely with good security shutters etc and an immaculately clean pool. Just beside the Prestige is a friendly little bar called The Buccaneer run by an English couple, Martyn and Pam. The bar is spotless, open from 6p.m. till midnight with generous Happy Hours and good prices. Martyn makes great Piña Coladas and Mojitos. The Old Village has good cafes and restaurants too e.g. Zanzibar,Princess Gardens, Bar O Cafe etc.We all met atThe Buccaneer for a drink at 6p.m. and decided what we wanted to do later. From there you can also order a Chinese, Indian or pizza to takeaway or eat in. All in all The Old Village has something for every age. I could say much more but that would lead to a very long review.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary194276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed in Apt 4C, Church St in the Old Village during the first week of July 2012. The old village complex is located approx 15 min's walk from the marina in a residential area. The place was charming and very relaxed with a choice of three pools and a number of cafes and pubs. The 3rd floor, 2 bedroom apartment was the best we've stayed in and apart from the usual, it has:
fridge/freezer, air conditioning, cooker and hob, washing machine, microwave, toaster, juicer, coffee machine, multi-channel TV, books, board games, and a private roof top terrace. I could not fault the place and Celia and Belinha from village4ulettings were extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with always. Vilamoura is nice with a good selection of restaurants on the marina and behind it. We brought the kids to the aquapark and they had a great time on the various slides as there was very little queuing time when we went.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarraghTulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews