We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We are just back from a wonderful stay in the Old Village, like most reviews this place is a little gem it has everything to suit everyone ! we stayed in the Old Village Presitge apartments which is a much quieter area of the old village complex which suited us, studio apartment which was plenty big for 2/3 people. The complex has a great selection of restaurants to suit all budgets and 4 great bar/cafes. Villamoura Marina is a 15 minute walk and we spent most nights there as there is such a great selection of restaurants and bars and of course people watching, it has the best buzz ! the staff in the old village are so helpful, from the bar/restaurants and particularly Celia in Village4Lettings who we booked with, overall we had a very enjoyable stay and will definately be back again, I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: The main pool is a busier place to stay, so if you would prefer a quiet spot make sure you request i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Had a wonderful week in a studio apartment the gardens and pools are really good and very well mantained.The studio was a good size but really needed updating very basic everything you needed but a little shabby. About 15 min walk to marina but could stay on the site good bars restaraunts and a really good little shop. We will go back but I would want to see the interior of the accomodation before I book.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just got back from a 5 night holiday and would def return! It is a really nice complex, different to anywhere iv stayed before. There are 3 pools, one is more private and you do have to pay for the sunbeds at 1.50euro for AM and PM but it is worth it. The Princess restaurant by the private pool is lovely and great food with very friendly staff. They have a happy hour every day til 6pm and you can get very cheap drinks! There are about 5 other restaurants on the complex and all very nice, also a supermarket.
We had a studio room which i was a bit dubious about but it was perfect and had huge roof terrace with sun loungers and a BBQ on. I would request a balcony or terrace when you book though as i dont think all studios have them. All the staff are very friendly & helpful.
It is only about a 15 minute walk to the marina and beach however a taxi only cost us 3.25euros so its worth it! The marina is exoensive to eat & drink but its really nice & worth it. We will def be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were in 3ABC Alexandra Street and for the 9 of us staying there it was a truly superb location. Opposite the Princess Gardens Restaurant which serves the best steak on a stone ever, it a place to definitely visit for an evening meal. As for the pools we spent 95% of our time at the Dolphin pool which although was the other end of the old village but just a couple of minutes to walk a great pool. Yvonne and Gilbert were the owners and like to the whole holiday and location etc were superb. Very many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

this amazing location just keeps drawing us back time and time again. this was our third time at old village, but first time as a couple. we have stayed in a one bedroomed apartment, 3 bed town house and this time a studio apartment. although all are surrounded by the most beautiful and excellently maintained gardens the accomodation does vary in standard greatly. we were glad that we were only stopping a week this time as the studio, 18a Church Street, had no outside space and so had to eat out every night(can be very expensive) the princess gardens is definately the best restaurant at old village, book early and state that you want the balcony for a real romantic treat. zanzibar is also worth a visit, but menu is limited so once or twice is enough, staff are incredibly attentive though. the princess pool has always been our choice, (less children) but paying for the loungers (1.50 euro per lounger am and pm) can become expensive. i can recommend this complex to any one who is looking for a safe, relaxing and memorable holiday.

Room Tip: specify outdoor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobydavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We loved the Old Village. We were very fortunate as our town house at 9ABC Princess Gardens was a great family house. The apartments are variable and you definitely need to do your homework on where you stay. However, the old village is a great resort. It has a good mix of pools and bars in a beautifully landscaped complex.

The venue definitely has a family feel. We met lots of lovely families. There were some Brits on the beer but these soon adapted to the atmosphere around the complex. Our party was 3 children from 18 months to 8, two parents and two grand-parents. Everybody felt at home. The marina is a short 15 minute walk (downhill) and taxis were relatively cheap for the journey home.

There are some good value restaurants on site but the marina and the nearby restaurant square (200m directly behind Figos and the Mayflower on the marina) offer much better variety, atmosphere and value. Particular favourites were Figo's for lunch (best value on the Marina), A Broa in the restaurant square and Zu Yi Chinese on the marina.

Here are some things that we think would help a family to enjoy Vilamoura;
1. Get to the beach early. The beach is packed by 10am. Pack a cool bag and a beach parasol and set up camp. The beaches are busy but have a good atmosphere. Drinks are really expensive at the beaches. Our kids enjoyed the doughnut vendors.
2. Find the restaurant square (see above). Concensus is that the best restaurants are here.
3. Go to one of the larger supermarkets for a big shop. Pino Doce or LIDL. They offer wine, soft drinks, water, beer etc at very cheap prices. A taxi is only 7 euros. If you go to LIDL on a Wednesday, you can also visit the large market next door with good value clothes and gifts.
4. Taxis are good value. Most phone operators speak English.
5. Marina is a great place to be and comes to life at night. Have a meal, leave dessert and enjoy a late night ice cream and stroll around the marina.

We have already booked for next year.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Town house 6ABC is in dire need of updating and maintenace. When we arrived we had about eight lightbulbs out and three missing altogether. On the first night we had no hot water, and water was tipping through the ceiling when someone had a shower on the top floor. The kitchen is falling to bits, there's no air conditioning, and there's no where near enough sun loungers for the amount staying in the accomodation. Two loungers for eight people??!! Roof terrace furniture is filthy and needs replacing, the sink on the roof wasnt plumbed in correctly either, and the smoke alarm didnt work.

HOWEVER - The staff at OV International could not have been more efficient in helping resolve the light bulb and hot water situation, it was fixed straight away without any hassle. Hats off to Milu and Sophie for their help. The garden area was excellent at the town house, location was absolutely superb, and the views of the marina and villiage are brilliant too!

I would go back to the old village tomorrow and again through OV International, but not to 6ABC Church Street until it was totally refurbished!! Not worth the money!

Go to the Old Village, you'll love it, such a great friendly place, but avoid this apartment if possible!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 37 in Vilamoura
827 reviews
1 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 37 in Vilamoura
798 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
#8 of 37 in Vilamoura
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#19 of 37 in Vilamoura
970 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#14 of 37 in Vilamoura
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £43 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing