We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent apartment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Village Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here with friends. Arrived late at night but notice on the door advised phone number to call to collect keys. Complex is very well maintained with lovely grounds and public pools. Pools are accessible only by guests staying in The Old Village by use of a key card.
Our apartment although compact was well equipt and adequate, lovely outside terrace and gardens.
Apartments are a pleasant 15minute walk to the Maria, taxis cost 4 euros and are always available.
We found Vilamoura to be a pleasant resort with a number of beaches within walking distance of the apartments, the harbour area is lovely with shops and bars in abundance.
There are a number of cafes and restaurants within the Old Village and the food and drinks at them all were excellent, all offering a take away service. There was also a small supermarket on site.
The staff at the apartments and all the people we came into contact with were lovely and most helpful.
We loved these apartments and Vilamoura and would recommend them to anyone,we shall return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    143
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
169
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner both in our late twenties for a week in October.Such a beautiful place to stay we had a studio ground floor room across from the princess restaurant our room was clean and a decent size we even had a little secluded balcony.All three pools are decent sized and they were pretty warm which was nice . We Would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Have just returned from a weeks stay at 'The Old Village' for a surprise treat for my boyfriends 30th birthday. Fell in love with the place as soon as we arrived. The Village is so beautiful, pretty and so immaculately clean! We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on Alexander Street (we had only booked a 1 bedroom studio, they upgraded us for free!) the apartment was nicely decorated, and had everything we could need, living room (with TV, DVD player, CD player, books, cds, dvds etc) dining area, kitchen (with fridge, freezer, toaster, microwave, kettle, cooker, washing machine, cupboards fully stocked with glasses/cutlery etc) plus our own little private garden with table and chairs, which we loved sitting out in having breakfast every morning!
Supermarket was just a few feet away from our apartment, so handy for stocking up on food and drinks whenever we needed. Restaurants and bars also just a stroll away! We ate in Princess Garden for birthday dinner, it was delicious, we both got the famous 'steak on the stone' would definitely recommend it! Also ate in Caso do Largo quite a few times, tried the swordfish, steak, and pizza, all lovely! Staff all around the village all very friendly also!
The marina is also very handy to the Old Village, just a 15 minute walk away! Marina is beautiful, so many bars and restaurants to choose from!! We loved sitting on 'The Royal Deck' right on the marina trying all the delicious cocktails!
Would definitely recommend The Old Village to couples and families! Such a beautiful, relaxing, quiet place but close enough to walk to the hustle and bustle of the marina!!
Hoping to return again later in the year!! Miss it already!!
If you have any questions feel free to message me!

Room Tip: We stayed in 10A Alexander Street. 2 bedroom apartment with own little garden, just a few feet away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Quaint place to stay, lovely village with cobbled pathways (no vehicles allowed). Restaurants and bars but not noisy at all. Only 20 mins. stroll to marina and there is a "train" which runs there and back if required. Reasonable rental prices. Will certainly return soon.

Room Tip: attempt to "bargain" to stay in the Prestige area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just home from a 10 night stay in The Old Village, Vilamoura. The resort itself is absolutely spotless.
There was a large group of us staying for a wedding and we had 11 apartments rented in total, from studios up to 2 beds and everybody was happy with what they got. We booked thru different letting agencies and via owners direct so cleaning and maid services were different for everyone. Some services were better than others but all the apartments were of a high standard with no complaints from anyone.
The 3 pools were well kept but we stuck to the main pool as it was more kid friendly with a large shallow end. The food and drinks at the pool bar were fine, nothing special but as good as you could expect from any pool bar. The staff here were brilliant. Friendly to the adults and brilliant with the kids.
The marina took us about 20 mins to stroll down to but that was with a buggy and a 4yo in tow so for an adult to walk down it was probably about 14/15mins.
Food around the Old Village was very good. Casa da Largo was very good. Service was a little slow but the food was well worth waiting for. We ate here a good few nights.
The Princess Garden was lovely but booking is needed. We turned up without a booking and the restaurant was full but they said we could eat on a balcony if we wanted. They advised that it might be a little chilly out there but said they would show us the seats and let us decide ourselves. We went for it as it wasn't too bad but by time desserts came out it was a little cold. The staff were brilliant and brought us out blankets to wrap up in. This place was 10/10. We couldn't find fault.
The snack bar was also decent. Breakfasts and lunches were good and well priced. The staff were friendly but the dinners weren't the best. Fine for a quick bite with kids but there are better places to eat if you want a good meal. Drinks here were fairly well priced with a large variety of local and imported drinks.
The Buccaneer Pub was awful. I don't like to write a bad review but this place was just the pits. Staff were ignorant and added 50c to price of your drinks and popped it in the tip jar. We had a drink here once and didn't go back again. Buggies and children were not welcome here either which was strange in a family resort.
The supermarket is well stocked, prices are a little higher than larger shops down the town as you would expect but still cheaper than home.
The only downside is having to pay €1.50 for a sun lounger every morning and evening. Plenty of grass around to lay a towel out if you don't want to pay it.
All in all, we had a great holiday in the Old Village. We will definitely be back and most of our large group said they would like to go back at some stage.

Room Tip: Shop around thru the different letting agencies or go direct thru the owners. Get emails from them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redmouseCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a gorgeous place! We visited May 2014 for our sons wedding and stayed for 10 days with several family members We fell instantly in love with the setting and the gorgeous grounds which are constantly tended to and looked stunning. Our 4 bedroom town house was clean and sizeable, and had good facilities for cooking (should you wish to!) With a roof terrace which had barbie built in ...The wedding was carried out in the centre of the village in 'Church Square'. The setting is gorgeous, flowers in abundance, the staff are super helpful, do everything and anything they can for you, and the food provided was excellent. . Thank you so much Heather and Team! They even arranged a horse and carriage A very romantic touch. There were lovely bars/restaurants on site, a little supermarket <,which as always a little on the expensive side> and three clean pools with friendly staff. Vilamoura itself is a 15 minute stroll away where you will find a gorgeous Marina, lovely beaches, excellent restaurants and bars. I'd Highly recommend this place and i will be returning for a longer holiday! We had the perfect stay and we were gutted to go home. Get booking!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank marilyn200355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

WOW! What a gorgeous place! We visited May 2014 for my best friends wedding and stayed for 4 nights/ 5 days. We were instantly blown away by he gorgeous grounds which are constantly tended to and look simply stunning. Our apartment was clean and sizeable, and had good facilities for cooking (should you wish to!) There were lovely bars/restaurants on site, a little supermarket and three clean pools with friendly staff. Vilamoura itself is a 15 minute stroll away where you will find a gorgeous Marina, excellent restaurants and bars.
The wedding- Set in the centre of the village in 'Church Square'. If you're reading this review whilst being engaged...this could be the one! The setting is gorgeous, flowers in abundance, the staff are super helpful, do everything and anything they can for you, and the food provided was delicious. They catered for 52 people and did an incredible job. Thank you so much Heather and Team! They even arranged a horse and carriage (look on the website for photo's) A very romantic touch.
The only niggle i could possibly mention is the expensive prices in the supermarket (take your own coffee and essentials!) and the lack of local food on site. But on the whole I'd 100% recommend this place and i will be returning for a longer holiday! We had the perfect stay and we were gutted to go home. Get booking!!

Room Tip: Generally it's quiet wherever you stay. Choose a first/second floor for a balcony or a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeighBear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#16 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Property: The Old Village Apartments
Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing