We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home...(except the sun-bed stampede)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Village Apartments
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Home from home...(except the sun-bed stampede)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in a two bed townhouse in Sottish Road, an amazingly comfortable place to stay which is quite unique and very very well kept.

The only downside is the sun-bed situation ! !

In order to be assured of one you firstly need to be queuing from around 8.15am, the electronic gates then open at 9am to which there is then a stampede that resembles a ' super market sweep'.

What makes this incredibly unfair and frustrating is that those residents whose premises sit within the confines of the pool area simply have to sit in their gardens and quickly throw their towels on the nearest sun-bed.

In addition you are also required to pay for each sun-bed which is 1.5 euro for half a day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    147
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
171
147
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We found (2 adults and a 5 year old) that the old village was safe, quiet, clean and friendly. The restaurants we tried were all lovely, on site with the princess gardens absolutely outstanding. Key card for access to the pool areas and plenty if grassy areas if you can't get or don't want to pay for a lounger. 15 min stroll to the marina and beach and a reasonably priced wee train that does hourly loops, Our apartment 6a scotland road was quite dated and we had no services, change of towels, toilet rolls, loungers etc all week, which was disappointing as when speaking to others on site, the standards seem to vary so much? I would look into the apartments a lot more if booking to return. Also could've done with a wee fact sheet re wifi, train times, air con instructions, found all these details out but took a few days. Site lovely and location but apartment brought down my rating this time

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Firstly I have to say the staff were excelente but although a very pleasant complex with nice flowers and several restaurants plus 3 pools something was missing it had all mod cons with sat tv and our two bedroom moderately furnished apartment was adequate but the place was soulless,Night time was like opening a tin of dulux and the other punters seemed to be less communicative than the exhibits from madam tussaurds.The beach was a hike of 40 mins with the kids and the marina had the usual Ron an Aldo cloned posers hanging off boats with overpriced bars and over-hyped restaurants and over filled trunks.The beach was pleasant but prone to mini tornadoes and generally high winds granted i probably had too many beans .The most disappointing thing was i could of been anywhere the only that remined me i was in portugal was mateus rose which my parents had as a tacky seventies lamp

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thereverendgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton Carew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Where do I start?
To be clear , the apartments we booked through Lowcost were clean, tastefully and well equipped , a pleasure to use. The letting agent couldn't have been more helpful and the service on site excellent.

My dissatisfaction and hence the average rating lays with the specifics of the place itself. The old village is not an old village, it is a purpose built bog standard concrete tourist accommodation site. It follows the same principles and therefore problems and drawbacks as similar places the world over.

Fair enough it has cobbles where a downmarket one may have Tarmac . It has pretty facades , faux Classic Portuguese peasant village instead of square concrete balconies. Unfortunately though that's where the differences stop. You will find yourself living the other side of the rather thin walls to people you would usually avoid. In our case mr and mrs screaming kids. Why talk when you can yell from 0800 until 2300. That along with the smog of cigarette smoke made our patio area a very unpleasant area to be. Can happen anywhere I concede but it certainly happened here. The accommodation units are squeezed into the land available. They maybe don't look it but they are.

The on site supermarket is significantly more expensive than the spar down the road . Hey ho, plan b , let's go to the marina. Very pretty to look at but not a great deal to do there. Very expensive in most parts to eat and shop. More expensive by a long shot than at home or other similar sunny destinations such as Cyprus or even Barbados ! I noticed a few empty premises , restaurants , closed. They all need to realise that they cannot rely on the draw of a posh marina to justify those high prices. One notable exception being "parkys" for sensible
prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful complex. Kept very well. arrived to a spotless room that looked recently refurbished. Cleaners came by every other day but each time we were in (13month old). Got clean towels & toilet paper from them. Studio apt we had no balcony or terrace. We weren't told that we would have one but I didn't think to look out for one. Well equipped kitchen and good ac. Very helpful front desk for booking airport transfer and a dental appointment. Some nice restaurants on site. Lovely steak on stone from princess garden :-) we wouldn't rate zanzibar. O cafe nice for lunch. 2 nice dinners in casa delargo Pools are lovely, cold! not a lot of space around them though, very busy at end of july. Good shop on site with lovely fresh bread & croissants in the morning :-) you could stay on the complex for a week no bother. We took a couple of trips to the busy beach (20e for beds) and the marina for lunch and a wander. Vilamoura not for me however, overpriced, full of english/irish bars, Indian & chinese restaurants even a pizza hut on the marina. You could have been anywhere it didn't feel one bit Portuguese. Such a pity old village isn't in a nicer part of the algarve, but I would certainly recommend it to someone who likes vilamoura.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great Pools that you need cards to enter so there is no random people from the street only people staying at the complex. Restaurants were ok. But only a 15/20 min walk to the marina. Down and up hill but not too far and If you don't mind the walk great. Also a little train that runs once an hour. Great place and would definitely go back or recommend to friends

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Keirie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Old Villiage vilamoura is a beautiful resort within the grounds of a golf course. Well maintained, staff really friendly and helpful. Our accomodation was lovely we stayed in 3 bedroom apartment all mod cons and air conditioning which was lovely. Pools are good €1.50 per lounger for morning and same for afternoon but worth it in my opinion. Restaurants were very nice. All in all would highly recommend to anyone!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Village Apartments

Property: The Old Village Apartments
Address: 14A Church Square, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Old Village Vilamoura
Old Village Apartments Vilamoura
The Old Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing