We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Portuguese version of Bedrock! (Flinstones)”
Review of Prado Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prado Villas
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We stayed at the PradoVillas in September with our teenage daughter and her boyfriend.

We chose this accommodation as a cheap four-person base in Vilamoura for which, I suppose, it was ideal. The villas themselves are not that attractive but the grounds and pool are pleasant and they are located in a good residential area near The Old Village. They are notoriously difficult to find and in the end we resorted to stopping by one of the A-Z map signs beside the road and using a camera phone to provide a map.

Check in was easy enough although you need to tell them in advance if you are arriving outside office hours. I think they overstated the personal safety speech though. It left us feeling anxious about our safety, not helped by the flimsy security shutters and quietness of the area at night.

The inside of the villas are best described as clean but basic. The kitchen was in desperate need of a refurb and we had to share it with the local ant population.

I thought the lack of TV remote would be a problem until I realised there were only a few Portuguese stations with abysmal reception. Our main frustration though was the lack of aircon. The villas stayed cool during the day thanks to thick walls but at night it was stifling. If we had stayed any longer we would have bought fans from the supermarket.

The walk to the marina took us 25 minutes and was actually quite a pleasant stroll. The beach would take about another 10 minutes. We always got a taxi back at night because the area is so quiet. The taxi fare was always less than 5 euros.

So, yes, the villas are cheap but I would have paid a bit more for aircon (or even just a couple of fans) and satellite TV that actually worked.

The villas won’t suit everyone and you need to be sure that you want a quiet, basic villa, 25 minutes from the marina before you book here. The pictures should help you decide.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Curtis_977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2008

neat, tidy and clean villas. Excellent price for basic furniture and terraces.far from city centre but great outdoor location.At night could be very quiet. no gate, no security, no reception!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fabybona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We had booked this as a base for a cheapish holiday in the Algarve, primarily to get some sun. Weather aside, it delivered exactly what we needed.

Once you had spent the first day learning about all the funny kinks in the villa i.e. the toilet splashing the seat when it flushed, then you began to truly appreciate what amazing value the villa was. We had only paid 18 GBP per night, cheaper than living at home!

The villa itself is located about 30 minutes walk from the Marina in a well kept garden, among another 20ish identical whitewashed buildings. They all look out over the garden, some directly at the clean, if not a little cold (it is, as you'd expect, not heated), swimming pool. The villas all have their own small patio areas with a table and chairs. These were perfect for reading a book etc.

The local shop and adjacent cafe are around 10 minutes walk. The new Hilton is only 5 minutes walk up the road and great if you want to nip over there for cocktail / meal etc. There are 3 golf courses within 2/3 minutes drive, one of them backs onto the villa's grounds.

The decor is dated, but all serves a function. There were also enough utensils etc to cook basic food. There also were several builders around the site updating bits here and there in anticipation of busier times (we reckon only half the villas were full when we left).

Other points to note were the friendly and very helpful reception/owners, as well as the resident cats!

There were areas that could have ben improved:

-The directions are a disgrace...they seem to lead everywhere except the villas. It is a maze around them so feel free to email us and we will pass you a good set. I'll email the villas to get this rectified in the meantime.

-We arrived late at night, and reception was understandably closed (they had left a note etc with all details for us). The garden was very dark and some lighting would have helped us locate the villa easier, and safely!

-The television (it was raining!) in our villa only had 4 Portuguese channels. Most of the time only one was watchable (RTP1).

-The shower and toliets were in need of a once over from a plumber. They did work however, just not quite perfectly.

-Would have been nice to have a heated pool. It was cleaned every morning though.

All I would say is, if you want a perfect room, heated pool etc. go to the Hilton. If you want a great value villa to live in for a week, go here!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LilEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

We stayed at Prado villas for a week in April. The villa we stayed in had two double bedrooms and there was plenty of space for my family of four. The furniture is dated but villas are clean and house keepers visit twice a week. There is a television but it only has three local channels. The villas are set in a beautifully landscaped garden. The pool is a good size and probably best in the summer, as it is not heated. There is also a play area for families with small children.We found the staff at reception very helpful and responsive when dealing with minor problems we encountered during our stay.

It took us almost two hours to find the villas although we had directions from the Expedia web site. I recommend that you rent a car but would suggest calling Prado Villas ahead of your arrival for directions. I would recommend Prado villas as a base for exploring the Algarve.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank millieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

We managed to get a 7 night stay at Prado Villas for £18 a night which represents amazing value. We were given a roomy villa, with 2 twin bedrooms and two bathrooms (one with a shower and the other with a bath). The villa is slightly dated in terms of decor but is spotlessly clean and we found the kitchen to be equipped with everything we could need, and the beds to be comfy.

The Villa is in a quiet, residential area with some lovely houses (very near Hilton hotel) and we felt very safe walking home in the evening from the Marina.

The Villa is about a 25 minute walk from the Marina, however it only cost about 4 Euros in a taxi. We also hired bikes and it took no time at all to get into town.

The reception staff were exceptionally helpful and welcoming.

Overall, we were most impressed with Prado Villas and I hope to stay agin.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rachel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Spent the last week (1 - 8 April 08) at Prado Villas. Directions from airport almost impossible to follow - it took us over 2 hours to find. Accommodation is ok - could use some refurbishing. Wanted a nice, quiet break, however due to a new house being built 50 feet from our villa with building work starting at 7.30 a.m. and finishing at 6.00 pm Monday to Saturday and also various (noisy) building work taking place on the complex - our stay wasn't the relaxing one we'd hoped for. The manager of Prado Villas was very unhelpful, saying 'No one else has complained' which we found highly unlikely. We were so glad we'd hired a car and were able to escape every day.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alutep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Prado Villas is situated about 2 miles from the beach. You have to cross a main road though to get to the beach side. If you have a car there are many beautiful beaches if can reach on the coast.

We really enjoyed our relaxing holiday in this charming place. The villas themselves are white-washed bungalows and surrounded by green lawns and trees. In the middle there is the open air swimming pool (which we didn't use as it was winter and the water a bit cold). The Villas are equipped with self-catering kitchen, an en-suite bathroom, they have a TV (no satellite channels though), a couch, a dining table, and on the terrace there is also plastic table and chairs. The rooms can be heated using an electric heater in the winter found in all rooms. This was very adequate (temperatures in december were around 15 degres). There is a cleaning lady who comes twice a week. We found the staff courteous and helpful. Vilamoura town itself consists mainly of accommodations and facilities for tourists but the adjoining town of Quarteira (about 2 miles away) is more interesting and is a typical Portuguese town in the Algarve where restaurants, cafes, and all modern facilities can be found. There is also a town beach. If you have a car, we recommend visiting Lagos, a town about 1 hour drive to the west from Vilamoura, and the western tip (cape) of the Algarve "Cabo de Sao Vicente".

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
781 reviews
0 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#34 of 36 in Vilamoura
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prado do Golf
Prado do Golf
#26 of 36 in Vilamoura
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prado Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prado Villas

Address: Volta da Manha, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-518, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £22 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prado Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prado Villas is a small, private development of 18 well appointed two bedroom linked villas, ideal for those seeking a self catering holiday in Vilamoura. The villas are set out in extensive grounds, with the communal swimming pool (unheated) and its large terrace area at the heart of the complex and framed by landscaped gardens. With only 18 villas, guests are ensured that their stay will be quiet, relaxed and free from the noise and disruptions of larger resorts. Located at the end of a cul de sac and bordering the 13th Fairway of the Old Course the tranquility of Prado Villas is retained even in the busier summer months. Each villa offers:•2 spacious bedrooms with twin beds with fitted wardrobes and drawers•One en suite shower room and a separate bathroom with a bath/shower, bidet, toilet & sink•A well equipped kitchen including oven, hob, fridge/freezer, kettle, crockery and utensils•A generous open plan lounge/dining room with defined areas including dining table and chairs and relaxed seating•A private sun terrace through sliding doors from the lounge, with table and chairs. Additional features include:•Satellite TV•A safety deposit box (2 euros per day)•Full length mirrors in the bedrooms•Hair drier•Ironing board and iron•Shutters on the windows•Maid service is twice a week, change of towels mid week (pool/beach towels are not provided), change of linen (more than 7 nights). Our friendly reception team will endeavour to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and are able to assist with all requests including:•Booking airport transfers•Booking taxis, car hire and bicycle hire•Booking of green fees across the Algarve with up to a 30% discount•Organisation of excursions•Local information, advice and assistance. Within walking distance or a short drive away:•Falesia Beach and the Marina (Central Vilamoura)•Old Course, Pinhal, Laguna & Millennium Golf Courses•Brown’s Sports & Leisure Centre (promotional rates available)•Health Spa•Family Golf Park (Mini Golf)•Lawn Bowling•Horse riding•Nature Reserve•Water Sports & boat trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prado Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prado Villas Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Resort Vilamoura
Prado Villas Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing